1 - Tanks.Â Can someone explain tanks to us in detail?Â They attack at 2, defend at 1?Â They soak up hits?Â How?Â We didn’t understand tanks at all and haven’t used them yet due to this fact.Â Please help if you can.
Tanks attack at 2 (3 when supported by artillery) and defend at 1. When attacking (not defending), each tank cancels one hit scored by the defender. However, tanks may not cancel hits scored by pre-emptive artillery strikes while performing an amphibious assault.
2 - Army Movement.Â Example -Â I am playing as Germany, and I have let’s say 30Inf/20Art and I move them in to hostile French Territory which houses 30Inf/20Art themselves.Â We duke it out for that round (Germany attacks, France defends) and the territory becomes contested.Â After the initial attack, both Germany and France go down to, let’s say, 20Inf/10Art each.Â Now it’s France’s turn.Â #1 - Does France have the choice to NOT defend, and instead retreat all their armies and give the territory to Germany?
France has the option to not attack. A power is never the defender on its own turn.
It may reinforce the territory with more units, or withdraw some or all of its units. Any units in the territory may then attack, or they may do nothing.
Now let’s say France decides to fight.Â After France defends, the armies are both split evenly at 10Inf/5Art.Â Territory is still contested.Â Next turn is Germany’s.Â #2 - As Germany, can I move my 10Inf/5Art closer to Paris?Â Or must my army stay in the territory until no more hostile units are in it?
When units move out of a contested territory, they must move into a territory that either was controlled by their power or contained units beloning to their power at the beginning of the turn. Germany may move its units closer to Paris only if those conditions are met.
4 - If I am Germany and just took Rome, the next round am I allowed to muster units in Rome, or do the Allies/CP ONLY muster units in their capital and NOT in captured capitals?
You may only mobilize land and air units in your own capital (or in India if you’re the British Empire). You may only mobilize sea units in sea zones that have a naval base located in a territory that you originally controlled (has only your powerâ€s emblem) and was not under enemy control at the beginning of your turn.
I don’t agree with Shakespeare’s point but I definitely agree that these games are leaving a lot to be desired. Not just from a rules perspective but from a piece perspective. Battle board is tiny. No money and lack of German infantry and chips for both sides. I have played with the new tournament rules however and do love them. If you have the game Shakespeare give them a shot I really like them. I think you will too.
Haven’t ordered mine yet. I would suggest the infantry size discrepancy is either an optical illusion or perhaps a subtle attempt by Avalon to aid player’s abiity to distinguish oposing forces on a crowded board.
OK after playing the game a few times I have to say this is my least favorite AA game to date.
I agree with many others it is near impossible for the Central Powers to win, the first game we played I won but we where still new to the game.
The Russian Revolution oob was just broken, now it has been fixed but I still hate the idea that if the Russian Revolution is triggered the CP lose one of the victories cities need to win the game. As if it’s not hard enough for the Central Powers.
The debate over contested territories and moving out of, is just silly. The first game we played this rule wrong, but the idea that you cannot leave a contested battle into a territory that you already have units in is beyond stupid. The idea I couldn’t leave a contested zone into an allies is bad, but not being able to move into territory with my own army unless I own the territory. Shows a easy way out when writing the rules in my opinion.
Cruisers are next to useless in this game. The extra movement of 1 does not make it worth buying them, with battleships being so cheap.
Obviously many rules where overlooked when first released such as
US neutral rules and what they can or cannot do (many of these things are not in the OOB rules as written)
US transports before they are at war.
I also notice when many of these things where questioned the official response came back with what seemed like a bit of attitude at people pointing out these errors and that truly turned me off. It is not the players fault the rules are unclear or just out right do not say something cannot be done. There is no reason to blame the players for pointing out these faults in the rules.
The rules state that U.S. ships cannot move into contested sea zones.Â
There is no such thing as a contested sea zone. The rule states that the US may not move units into a contested territory. (For clarifications on this, see the FAQ thread.)
In your example, Germany may choose to either include the US ships in its attack, bringing the US into the war, or ignore them.