• '13

Although I have only played two games of G40 so far I have been playing strategy games for 40 years and A&A since it first came out. Someone posted that unless you’ve played this game 10-12 times you don’t know what you are doing and I believe it.

Anyway, in both games, Moscow has fallen hard in G5-6. In the first game (about 6 weeks ago), Russia pushed everything up to the front to try and stall Germany as much as possible. In the second game, did the opposite and retreated leaving a 1 inf screen to keep German tanks from blitzing. Our third game is coming up and all in our group dread playing Russia almost as much as playing France :-(  I have searched the forum looking for advice and found tips here and there but no concise summary to help out those of us new to the game.

After that first game, I did a test play-through to see what would happen if the Allies (mostly UK) brought whatever fighters and bombers they could to Moscow before G5 to bolster its defense. (Russia retreated all possible troops to Moscow to maximize defense but left a 1 infantry screen to stop blitzing) I tried a few different options for the Russian buys but it was mostly or all infantry. For the German player, I moved everything east of Germany into Russia for the attack on Moscow. Germany’s buys were all tanks G1-G3 and bombers G4. Germany’s IPC count includes France, Normandy, and Bulgaria.

In the end, my recollection is that the simulator calculated a slightly better than 50% chance of German defeat (I think it was 57%). From a probability standpoint, the Allies can help Russia survive the G5 assault but just barely. The problem is that, as long as Germany is buying tanks, the Allies basically must follow a ‘script’ for 4 turns in order to maximize the defense of Moscow and that takes all the fun out of the game. And this scenario didn’t include the possibility that Japan could have tanks in Moscow by turn 6.

What am I missing?