Krieghund Ruling Needed



  • This has already been discussed and asked in the FAQ. However your one word answer did not really address the question we needed answered.

    The rulebook seems to contradict itself. I’m trying to wrap my head around this, but it does not seem like both of these statements can be true at the same time. Either the rules need to be clarified better or one of them is wrong.

    PG16

    However, a transport
    is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious
    assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy
    submarines unless at least 1 warship belonging to the
    attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end
    of the Combat Move phase.

    Seems to indicate that any warship, including a carrier with 0 attack, can escort a transport for the purposes of an amphibious assault when an enemy sub is present.

    PG32

    This means that a transport can�t fire
    in the attacking units� or the defending units� fire steps.
    Transports may not attack without being accompanied
    by at least 1 unit with an attack value, unless they are
    conducting an amphibious assault from a friendly sea
    zone that is free of enemy submarines.

    Seems to indicate that carriers are not an acceptable escort for transports for the purposes of an amphibious assault when an enemy sub is present.

    Unless the rules are talking generalities first and then it drills into the specifics, these passages SEEM to be mutually exclusive. So please say if the following situation is a legal amhpibious assault within the context of the rules.

    Enemy sub in sz42 - attacker brings in a loaded transport accompanied by ONLY carrier(s) of the same nation in order to conduct an amphibious assault on Java



  • Presumably the point here is that the sub would just declare that it isn’t submerging and  would defend the sea space. As the carrier has no attack value, the sub would eventually hit it (therefore there’s no warship defending the transport) or it would have to retreat (and again there’s no warship defending the transport)



  • A sub cannot force combat by itself though. The attacker could choose to attack the sub or ignore it as he wanted to. Now an attacker could choose to ignore the sub(s) only for scramblers to cause a sea battle in which the subs could take part unless the defender chooses to submerge them (assuming there’s no attacking destroyers present)


  • Official Answers

    Transports may not attack without being accompanied by at least 1 unit with an attack value, unless they are conducting an amphibious assault from a friendly sea zone that is free of enemy submarines.

    This should read “Transports may not attack in a sea battle without being accompanied by at least 1 unit with an attack value.”


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 16
  • 2
  • 1
  • 10
  • 13
  • 5
  • 10
  • 7
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

46
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts