Scramble question regarding offensive players


  • Can you fly a fighter to a sea zone with anticipation of the defender scrambling his fighters? There are 0 defensive ships in the sea zone. So can you fly a plane there with anticipation? There are no carriers in zone as well.


  • RAW (Read as Written) No.  RAI (Read as Intended)  Yes.


  • @osu888:

    Can you fly a fighter to a sea zone with anticipation of the defender scrambling his fighters? There are 0 defensive ships in the sea zone. So can you fly a plane there with anticipation? There are no carriers in zone as well.

    Yes


  • If the defenders do not scramble, then what?  They fly back to safe territory during non combat?


  • You need to be more clear osu888.

    Are we talking about an amphibious assault?  Or no amphibious assault and no defending sea units?  If there is no amphibious assault or sea units to defend, then no attack as been declared, thus, no scrambling.  Then you can’t have your planes move on the combat phase.

    The rules say that you can only attack zones that have occupied enemy territory/units in them, but is a special rule about scrambling that you can coast planes into friendly zones that may become hostile.


  • @Dark_Destroyer:

    You need to be more clear osu888.

    Are we talking about an amphibious assault?  Or no amphibious assault and no defending sea units?  If there is no amphibious assault or sea units to defend, then no attack as been declared, thus, no scrambling.  Then you can’t have your planes move on the combat phase.

    The rules say that you can only attack zones that have occupied enemy territory/units in them, but is a special rule about scrambling that you can coast planes into friendly zones that may become hostile.

    Yes it’s an amphibious assault on Italy by US.  There are no Italian ships in the sea zone.


  • Since you are attacking from that SZ, Italy can scramble because it’s hostile, which means you can fly planes into that hostile SZ.


  • @osu888:

    If the defenders do not scramble, then what?  They fly back to safe territory during non combat?

    If the defenders don’t scramble then you fly your aircraft back during non-combat.


  • And remember, scrambling prevents shore bombardment.

  • Official Q&A

    @Dark_Destroyer:

    RAW (Read as Written) No.  RAI (Read as Intended)  Yes.

    From the Europe 2nd Edition Rulebook, page 14:

    Moving transports and their cargo into a sea zone from which you plan to make an amphibious assault counts as a combat move, even if there are no defending surface warships there and there is no potential for air units to be scrambled (see “Scramble,” page 16). This is also true of any units that will support the assault. Further,if enemy air units could potentially be scrambled to defend the sea zone, additional units may be moved into the sea zone to combat them in case they are indeed scrambled.


  • RAW = Says nothing about air units, just “additional units”.  RAI = Means air included.

    RAW = Can not move into a territory unless it’s occupied by enemy forces.  This would include sea zones that don’t scramble.  If you don’t scramble and don’t have any enemy forces and don’t amphibiously assault, moving airplanes into that sea zone is not a valid move.  RAI = You can always bring air into sea zones just to cover what if’s.

    Scrambling along with the Bombing raids could have been written better, and is very much an after thought mechanics.

  • Official Q&A

    @Dark_Destroyer:

    RAW = Says nothing about air units, just “additional units”.  RAI = Means air included.

    It says nothing explicitly about sea units, either.  The type of units is unspecified, implying that any type of unit that may legally move there is allowed.

    @Dark_Destroyer:

    RAW = Can not move into a territory unless it’s occupied by enemy forces.  This would include sea zones that don’t scramble.

    An exception for an amphibious assault where scrambling may occur is explicitly made here.

    @Dark_Destroyer:

    If you don’t scramble and don’t have any enemy forces and don’t amphibiously assault, moving airplanes into that sea zone is not a valid move.

    True.

    @Dark_Destroyer:

    RAI = You can always bring air into sea zones just to cover what if’s.

    No.  RAW = You can always bring units (sea and/or air) into sea zones from which you’re doing an amphibious assault, if there is a potential for the defender to scramble.

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

57
Online

15.8k
Users

37.4k
Topics

1.6m
Posts