Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Larry Harris 1914 Tournament Rules ( "potential rules" using his language)


  • Customizer

    Exactly: it reverses the optimum strategy for both sides.

    After an initial land grab, the Central powers can afford to be essentially defensive, especially on the western front. The “long game” need to eventually take Paris and Rome can be forgotten.

    The Allies in contrast can no longer afford to wait before driving into enemy territory; they have to grab something of the Austrian and German homelands, something which you only tend to see late on in games with no time limit.

    This all makes for a very different game, which may not be a bad thing; but I believe a more balanced solution for short game victory conditions would involve specific targets for the CPs after any given round, with victory cities being the simplest measure of progress.


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    So in other words… it kind of plays out like WWI.

    How interesting…



  • Haven’t been on this site in a little bit, I was checking to see if 1914 was fixed yet, clearly it is still broken, what a shame



  • I like the rules except for the part that takes all the units out of Africa.  Part of the fun of the game is that it`s a world war, not just a European one.  Sure, the African part tends to end quickly, but it distracts forces from other objectives and that has an effect on the game.


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    Each side should be able to raise an infantry or two at strategic locations in Africa.



  • Question on capturing capitals:

    In the OOB rules, if the capital falls, the IPCs are surrendered immediately but the remaining troops can fight on forever, hoping to their can liberate their homeland.

    The tournament rules introduces economic and political collapse.  Does this supersede the taking a capital rules?

    If the US takes Constantinople by sea, the loss value of homeland territory does not trigger EC or PC.  Does USA get the Ottoman’s IPCs right now, or only after triggering PC?


  • Official Answers

    If you manage to capture a capital without triggering a collapse, the normal rules apply.



  • Used these rules over the weekend I like them. The Centrals went after Russia and they had an almost impossible job of stopping them. While doing this they could easily keep the Allies at bay in the West. I belive Russia could add 3inf and maybe an artillery in Russia. Just my thoughts. Other than that these rules are superior to OOB. I am glad Larry has updated them.



  • I don’t see how Central powers have a chance. In the games I’ve played against myself, and others, the allies are slightly winning even before America gets into the war. I feel like the Ottomans got the shaft with Russia getting 3 more units that could hit them, so before they even go UK and Russia take 2 of their territories and really threaten them right away. This would be fine if Austria could handle Russia alone but it can’t. Russia and Austria are very equal in terms of overall strength, but the problem is that Austria has Italy to worry about. Germany can’t give too much help to Austria against Russia or else Paris won’t even be really threatened and then when U.S. comes into the war they will never take it. I might be doing something totally wrong, so please help me understand how this is balanced….



  • the 2 movement rule is way way better than OOB. diggin it. :mrgreen:



  • Question regarding the 2-space move.  Austria-Hungary controls and has troops in both Venice and Piedmont.  France has troops in Marseilles.  Since you cannot move 2 spaces into an enemy-held area, normally the troops in Venice could not move into French-occupied Marseilles in one move.  However…if the AH force in Piedmont moves into Marseilles first, thus making it a contested space, can the AH force in Venice then move two spaces into Marseilles during that same move phase?


  • Official Answers

    Welcome, tomcat4940!

    No, it doesn’t work that way.  All movement is considered to be simultaneous within the same phase.



  • Played yesterday with the rules……and after some bad dices (terribles) and bad interpretations…bad moves too…and a bad british player…CP’s won hard…

    Some toughts…

    • The 2 movements rules should only be available in the homeland territories not friendly…russia is getting hard time to protect every territories with austria and germany that can move with each others territories…Russia is always getting collapse…but overall its speeding the game…thats a goooooood thing

    • U.S.A should get to war in turn 3 because they cant move at all when being neutral

    • Economic collapse should be at the end of the turn like political…to ensure russia and ottomans can keep going for some turns

    thats it…when those tournament rules will be officials?..looking for another game but we decide that we will wait for a official set of rules



  • Can a land unit move two if their second movement would end in a contested territory?


  • Official Answers

    Yes.



  • I concur with Napoleon’s observations and suggestions above–especially with the idea of limiting 2 space movement in some further manner. Barring allied territories seems extreme, but perhaps, at the very least, no 2-space movements by ground forces in territories that originally belonged to enemy major or minor powers, including moving into these territories–one move in, and no second move.  It makes sense that the pace of advance slows down in enemy territory as it is being pacified and brought slowly under control. This alone would help the allies considerably, and I do feel that they need help given the massive number of units that both Germany and Austria-Hungary start with and can mobilize on the first turn, which is nearly all their available units–must be close to 120 units that they can throw against France, Russia, and Italy on round one alone. This being said, we don’t play with the time limit, just the honor system whereby when it’s obvious that one side has an unbeatable advantage then the other side concedes–so, we’re still thinking in terms of the eventual conquest of capital cities. These new rules help the game a lot, just seem to need more tweaking. Thanks, y’all!


  • Official Answers

    @Cyf_Nwyl:

    I do feel that they need help given the massive number of units that both Germany and Austria-Hungary start with and can mobilize on the first turn, which is nearly all their available units–must be close to 120 units that they can throw against France, Russia, and Italy on round one alone.

    I think you may be playing incorrectly.  A unit can only move one space into an enemy-controlled territory.  In other words, in order to move by land into an enemy-controlled territory, a unit must already be adjacent to it at the beginning of the turn.


  • '14

    What was the railroad gauge like between Germany and Austria-Hungary? I can see some sort of restriction in place for Africa.


  • Customizer

    If we interpret the 2 space move as rail movement (be very careful if you do…) then indeed it should be within Europe and Ottoman home tt only.



  • It should at least be restricted to “non-combat movement” - moving two spaces into combat, even if it’s a previously contested space, seems a bit excessive for World War I.

    Also, as I mentioned in my post on our game using Tournament Rules, the power in question should get to check at the end of the turn, rather than the beginning, to determine if that country is out of the game.  Otherwise there are all sorts of ridiculous moves made with no goal other than to push a country into collapse.



  • A unit may move two land spaces through friendly territory.

    How long must a territory be held to be treated as friendly?

    Example

    AH takes Ukraine. Russia does not counter attack. Can Germany rush through Ukraine on it’s turn and attack Moscow, or must the territory be held until the end of AH’s turn next round before it is friendly?

    'Jed


  • Official Answers

    The territory must be friendly at the beginning of your turn.  However, units may only move one space when entering a hostile territory, so unless Moscow was already contested at the beginning of Germany’s turn, German units may not move two spaces to get to it.



  • Does contested territories also count towards economic victory? In the first paragraph it says captured territories. But in the example, two spaces contested by Germany is counted into the total CP victory points of 21.

    If contested territories count, powers could just throw forces into many battles in the last couple of turns just to get spaces contested, instead of trying hard to really capture territories. Might give some strange endgame moves.


  • Official Answers

    Contested territories count.



  • Thank you. Then we’re set to try the Tournament Rules. Looking forward to it  🙂


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 18
  • 170
  • 1
  • 3
  • 25
  • 3
  • 2
  • 23
I Will Never Grow Up Games

50
Online

13.2k
Users

33.4k
Topics

1.3m
Posts