Why in the world would you give a bomber to China?
No idea, I suggested one for Russia, not China.
Armor and bomber bids for China are legal in league play? What the hell, China cannot make those units!
4)…A bid will be used to determine which player will be Axis and which will be Allies.
4c - You must place as much of your bid on the board before the start of Germany’s first turn.ï¿½ ï¿½ Any remainder may be retained for use at the end of your turn.ï¿½ ï¿½ This provision supercedes any previous ruling.
I’m not sure exactly what this means. ï¿½ Can you re-word or clarify please?
Is it just saying that you must place your bid on the board at the start of the game and any extra is banked as IPC’s to the power of your choice?
Are there any restrictions on the bid?
In AA50 league I have asked and the moderators have agreed that they need to spell out the details of the bid rules anew this year, because they’ve carried forward old Revised bid rules from year to year so many years that players don’t know what the rules are anymore.
The rule should answer questions such as, can I place a Japanese bomber on Berlin to start the game?
4c - Any IPC gained by your bid must be spent on units to be placed on the game board prior to the start of the game. ï¿½ You may retain no more than 2 IPC for purchases later in the game. ï¿½ You must inform, in your bid placement phase, which power(s) are to receive the IPC for use. ï¿½ You do not need to retain any IPC for use later, but it is a limited option.
Because of bidding rules a lot of us have grown accustomed to over several years, could you please clarify any placement rules - for example, can the Germans put a sub in an empty sea zone?
In other words, do you have to place boats in zones you already have a starting boat in, or a ground or air unit in a territory you control at the beginning of the game?
Thank you for being responsive to my other input!
Any units you purchase with your bid amount are to be placed in any territory you control at the start of the game. ï¿½ If you purchase a naval vessel, it may only be placed in sea zones where you currently have a naval vessel.
Germany may place ground units in Holland since it is a territory they control at the start of the game.
Japan may place a submarine (or any other naval vessel) in SZ 33 (Caroline Islands) because they already have ships in that sea zone - at the start of the game.
America bids 36 IPC and wins, they may place an aircraft carrier and 2 fighters in SZ 10.
Where does it limit you to what your country may, or may not build? ï¿½
Hey, if you assumed China couldn’t build an armored unit with bidded units, that’s on your head. ï¿½ It was probably a safe assumption since you can’t even put a Chinese armored unit on board in TripleA (a major flaw in my mind) but I see nothing in the league rules that says you may not place such a unit on the board.
Unless I missed a passage in the rulebook saying that under no circumstances may China own these types of units. Â In which case, then no, you may not even bid them into existence.
Page 10 of the Second Edition Pacific 1940 Rule Book:
China may spend IPCs only to purchase infantry units and does not use industrial complexes.
At the beginning of the game, China has a United States fighter unit located on the map. This represents the American volunteer group the Flying Tigers. This fighter is considered part of the Chinese forces for purposes of movement and combat. It cannot leave the territories that China is restricted to, even to attack and return. If it is destroyed, the US player cannot replace this fighter unt for China.
In my opinion, this means you can bid American units into China as volunteers that, for the purposes of movement and combat, are considered part of the Chinese forces.
Since China may not occupy waters, of course, and start with none on the board, you may not bid any naval units for China, so no Aircraft Carriers or Battleships or anything for them (although you may bid said units for France…)