Classic rules questions


  • Customizer

    Hi Krieg and anyone else,

    These questions are with regards to both Classic 2nd edition (the 1984 version), and Classic 3rd edition (the one they made into a cd-rom in the 1990s).

    According to page 21 of the 1984 rulebook for Classic, it states:

    Non-Combat Movement
    In this part of your turn, you can move any, all, or none of the units that you did not move during action 2 - combat movement.
    (it then goes on to list some clarifications and exceptions)

    So I have 3 questions related to this:

    1. Can a transport move in combat move, then take part in combat, and then after combat is done during noncombat move, pick up 2 infantry from a friendly territory and then offload them to another friendly territory?

    2. Can a transport pick up a unit, then move in combat move, then take part in combat, then after combat is done during noncombat move, pick up 1 more infantry and then offload them both somewhere?

    3. Can a transport pick up a unit, then move in combat move, then offload for an amphibious assault, then ALSO the transport takes part in combat too, and then after combat is done during noncombat move, pick up 1 more infantry and then offload them both somewhere?

    I believe the answer to all 3 is NO.
    However, another player I know believes the answer to all 3 is YES.

    can you please help us out,
    thx,
    veqryn



  • Just to clarify here is an example.

    North Sea battle R1 Germany moves 2 subs, 1 tranny, 5 fighters, 1 bomber in the combat phase. After completing combat the german tranny lives. It then picks up two infinity from Finland and unloads them into Western Europe. This does not require any movement points from the tranny to do so since the North Sea touches both Finland and Western Europe nor has the tranny been used to move land units during Germanys turn.

    In reality all 3 of the above questions are the same.

    The real question is……can a surviving transport that has taken part in Combat pick up units, without moving, on the Noncombat phase if it has not transported units yet as given in the above example.

    I think the answer to that question covers all 3. I do not read/see anywhere it states this move is illegal.


  • Customizer

    4. Can a single transport drop off to two different territories for 2 different amphibious assaults?  Or can it only drop to separate territories during noncombat?

    The rulebook seems to say you can only unload to 2 different territories from the same transport during noncombat move.

    page 16: “or if a transport was in the sea zone surrounding the united kingdom, it could carry 1 infantry to finland/norway and 1 infantry to western europe if the UK controlled these territories”



  • @Veqryn:

    4. Can a single transport drop off to two different territories for 2 different amphibious assaults?  Or can it only drop to separate territories during noncombat?

    The rulebook seems to say you can only unload to 2 different territories from the same transport during noncombat move.

    page 16: “or if a transport was in the sea zone surrounding the united kingdom, it could carry 1 infantry to finland/norway and 1 infantry to western europe if the UK controlled these territories”

    An example of this……

    R1 Germany Combat move picks up two infantry from Southern Europe, moves into the E Med with a transport and battleship unloading 1 infantry into Egypt along with 1 Inf/1 Tnk from Libya and unloads 1 infantry into Syria/Iraq with the German Bomber. After completing the naval battle vs the UK sub in the E Med both land battles are then rolled if the German tranny survives.

    Is this split drop on combat a legal move?


  • Official Answers

    @Veqryn:

    1. Can a transport move in combat move, then take part in combat, and then after combat is done during noncombat move, pick up 2 infantry from a friendly territory and then offload them to another friendly territory?

    It may pick them up, but it may not offload them.

    @Veqryn:

    2. Can a transport pick up a unit, then move in combat move, then take part in combat, then after combat is done during noncombat move, pick up 1 more infantry and then offload them both somewhere?

    It may either pick up a new unit or offload the original, but it may not do both.

    @Veqryn:

    3. Can a transport pick up a unit, then move in combat move, then offload for an amphibious assault, then ALSO the transport takes part in combat too, and then after combat is done during noncombat move, pick up 1 more infantry and then offload them both somewhere?

    No.  Once a transport offloads, it may not do anything else.

    @Veqryn:

    4. Can a single transport drop off to two different territories for 2 different amphibious assaults?  Or can it only drop to separate territories during noncombat?

    Per the FAQ, it may only do so in noncombat movement.


  • Customizer

    where is this FAQ?

    do you have a link?


  • Official Answers


  • Customizer

    thank you Krieghund,

    once again you have answered my rules questions within a day of posting them.  you are awesome!


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 13
  • 10
  • 4
  • 3
  • 6
  • 52
  • 3
  • 4
I Will Never Grow Up Games

50
Online

13.4k
Users

33.8k
Topics

1.3m
Posts