This topic has been moved to Player Help.
Basic rules-questions -> HELP!
Hi. I’m from Germany, so please don’t mind my english-skills!!! :lol:
I’ve got some rules-questions after playing the first rounds of the A&A board-game:
1. I try to attack two SUBMARINES or TRANSPORTS in one sea-zone by a fighter. Do I have to roll two attack dice, without any counterattacks?
2. My SUBMARINE attacks two ships (SUB and TRANSPORT) in one sea-zone by the FIRST SHOT ATTACK: can I target my attack on the SUB, or chooses my opponent which one to lose?
3. My SUB attacks a CARRIER with no fighter on it does the CARRIER defend?
4. Is THIS a combat-move???: I move one or more TRANSPORTS to the sea-zone between JAPAN and MANCHURIA, the I use the BRIDGING ability to attack MANCHURIA by ground troops (two tanks or four infantry).
5. I try to land in EASTERN CANADA (not occupied, but color-coded) with a TRANSPORT (infantry onboard-no escort), in the sea-zone around EASTERN CANADA there is a hostile TRANSPORT, but no other ships around. Do I have to encounter the enemy T in a naval-battle? How?
1. For each unit you have attacking, you roll one die. (except with technologically advanced bombers) Since you only had 1 fighter attacking, you would have only rolled one die. yes, there would have been a counter attack from the transport, but not from the sub since it cannot fire at planes, so the defender would have rolled one die as well.
2. Your opponent chooses which one to loose. However, if your attack had been against a ship and a plane, the defender must choose the ship to take the shot.(since subs canot attack planes)
4. yes. however, it is one tank or two infantry per transport.
5. Yes you have to engage them in combat. But, since a transport cannot attack, you are not permitted to make that move. However, if the transport was ‘escorted’ by a ship capable of attacking, the transport can be used to take enemy hits (cannon fodder).
Thanx for the response….´
But I’ve got another one:
As shown in point one - when I attack those two SUBs, is it legal to continue with the fighter-attacks (like in ground-combat) in the same round? -> can I roll another die?
Yes, of course you may continue, however, your opponent may elect to have his subs submerge, so that they cannot be hit by fighters.
What? Is this a special rule? I couldn’t find this in the manual! Is diving a move, or can I submerge at any time? Or is this the “sub withdrawal” rule?
I believe it is in the 3rd edition rules, it may be the sub withdrawal rule. The sub may submerge after the first round of combat-if it is hit, it may not return fire. If it is not hit, it may submerge.
Yes, of course you may continue
maybe you didn’t fully read his question, he asked if he was allowed to use the same fighters he used for naval combat, in land combat, durring the same turn. That isn’t allowed.
maybe you didn’t fully read his question, he asked if he was allowed to use the same fighters he used for naval combat, in land combat, durring the same turn. That isn’t allowed
Oh, I thought he meant continue against the subs. And yes, you are correct.