• Hello all, I’m trying to design a game, likely to be highly complex. I was hoping someone might help explain several features of the process.

1. Mapmaking-How do you draw maps? I have, in the past used blank maps from the internet, and then used paintbrush to edit them into the shapes I like.  However, these never have the level of resolution I feel necessary, and working with that resolution slows my computer heavily. Second, the colors feel wrong, and my game has a majority neutral territories starting out, and I feel like a map with huge amounts of white is an automatic turnoff. How do you all deal with neutral coloration?

2. Rules - How do you get the diagrams, and pictures found in A&A. Obviously a one-off printing won’t have that kind of quality, but how can it be emulated? How do you ensure you have covered everything?

3. Units - I’ll probably just use units from other games, but how do you design them. I’m good at designing rules and maps, but I’m no artist.

4. Playtesting - If you’re lucky to get in, say, 1 game in three months of A&A, how do you test a game? It’s not that I don’t have time, just no one to play against.

• Try making the game in Triplea first.  Not only can you play the AI (ok, the AI sticks and is designed for Revised, but it works for rough testing), but you can play the game online.

There is a whole mapmaking/gamemaking tool that anyone can use for free.  I can’t claim to have much experience with making new games (Just playing them on Triplea), but there are dozens of games for Triplea.

• While this sounds great, the game is intended to have a design reminiscent of Diplomacy, so many players are required. I guess I’ll just have to pay people to play

• @Croesus: