Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Friendly neutrals, IC, sz125, amphib–-some Q's after starting global???



  • During Global game start this wkend, we’re @ UK2 now & several Q’s came up, can anyone clarify please?

    1) friendly neutrals–-if doing NCM w/land units to take control of friendly neutral, can planes also move into same neutral territory as NCM w/the land units?

    2) Industrial Complex— if enemy major IC is downgraded to minor upon capture, (& I can’t find this page in the Rulebook?) can the pwr capturing it upgrade it to a Major on the next “purchase units” round?

    3) SZ-125—If Russian NO gets 5ipc for no Axis warships in sz125, is this a convoy loss to Germany/Axis  controlled Norway if Russian warship only is in sz125?  The way its worded as a “NO for USSR if no Axis is in the sz” makes it seem like a convoy for northern Russia, not the Norway???

    4) amphib/bombardment—2 Q’s >  Scenarios>>>
            a)—if defenseless transport (TT) in sz & attacker has 3-cruisers(CA) & 2-TT’s, can the attacker dedicate 1CA to take out the TT (to make empty the hostile sz of enemy ships) & then allow the other 2CA’s to bombard prior to an amphib landing?  Or do all warships have to be in the battle to remove the TT thus preventing their bombardment?

    b) same question with defender having 1TT & 1DD ~vs~ attacker having 3CA’s & 2TT’s; do all attacking warships have to battle to clear the sz now that a defending warships is involved (rather than just a defenseless TT) which wouldn’t allow their bombardment, or is the attacker allowed to dedicate just 1-2 cruiser’s for the sz attack, allowing the remaining to bombard prior to amphib?



  • @El:

    During Global game start this wkend, we’re @ UK2 now & several Q’s came up, can anyone clarify please?

    1) friendly neutrals–-if doing NCM w/land units to take control of friendly neutral, can planes also move into same neutral territory as NCM w/the land units?

    2) Industrial Complex— if enemy major IC is downgraded to minor upon capture, (& I can’t find this page in the Rulebook?) can the pwr capturing it upgrade it to a Major on the next “purchase units” round?

    3) SZ-125—If Russian NO gets 5ipc for no Axis warships in sz125, is this a convoy loss to Germany/Axis  controlled Norway if Russian warship only is in sz125?  The way its worded as a “NO for USSR if no Axis is in the sz” makes it seem like a convoy for northern Russia, not the Norway???

    4) amphib/bombardment—2 Q’s >  Scenarios>>>
             a)—if defenseless transport (TT) in sz & attacker has 3-cruisers(CA) & 2-TT’s, can the attacker dedicate 1CA to take out the TT (to make empty the hostile sz of enemy ships) & then allow the other 2CA’s to bombard prior to an amphib landing?  Or do all warships have to be in the battle to remove the TT thus preventing their bombardment?

    b) same question with defender having 1TT & 1DD ~vs~ attacker having 3CA’s & 2TT’s; do all attacking warships have to battle to clear the sz now that a defending warships is involved (rather than just a defenseless TT) which wouldn’t allow their bombardment, or is the attacker allowed to dedicate just 1-2 cruiser’s for the sz attack, allowing the remaining to bombard prior to amphib?

    1. No, Fighters cannot land in NCM in a newly acquired Neutral.
    2. Yes, a country that regains its lost IC can upgrade it to a Major if they have the money for it.
    3. SZ 125 with a Russian sub does convoy raid the German territory of Norway.  If there is a German warship there it blocks the Russian NO… So two functions.
      4a) if you have warships attacking the transport, then all have to attack it.  Of course, you as the attacker can ignore Transports altogether.
      4b) Again, all warships have to fight in sea battle.  Air can fight in sea or land battle.

    Hope that helped.



  • @BJCard:

    @El:

    During Global game start this wkend, we’re @ UK2 now & several Q’s came up, can anyone clarify please?

    1) friendly neutrals–-if doing NCM w/land units to take control of friendly neutral, can planes also move into same neutral territory as NCM w/the land units?

    2) Industrial Complex— if enemy major IC is downgraded to minor upon capture, (& I can’t find this page in the Rulebook?) can the pwr capturing it upgrade it to a Major on the next “purchase units” round?

    3) SZ-125—If Russian NO gets 5ipc for no Axis warships in sz125, is this a convoy loss to Germany/Axis  controlled Norway if Russian warship only is in sz125?  The way its worded as a “NO for USSR if no Axis is in the sz” makes it seem like a convoy for northern Russia, not the Norway???

    4) amphib/bombardment—2 Q’s >  Scenarios>>>
             a)—if defenseless transport (TT) in sz & attacker has 3-cruisers(CA) & 2-TT’s, can the attacker dedicate 1CA to take out the TT (to make empty the hostile sz of enemy ships) & then allow the other 2CA’s to bombard prior to an amphib landing?  Or do all warships have to be in the battle to remove the TT thus preventing their bombardment?

    b) same question with defender having 1TT & 1DD ~vs~ attacker having 3CA’s & 2TT’s; do all attacking warships have to battle to clear the sz now that a defending warships is involved (rather than just a defenseless TT) which wouldn’t allow their bombardment, or is the attacker allowed to dedicate just 1-2 cruiser’s for the sz attack, allowing the remaining to bombard prior to amphib?

    1. No, Fighters cannot land in NCM in a newly acquired Neutral.
    2. Yes, a country that regains its lost IC can upgrade it to a Major if they have the money for it.The Question was–could the capturing pwr upgrade the IC on the capturing pwr’s next turn, not if it was recaptured by the original owner, sorry if that was confusing—but how does this go?
    3. SZ 125 with a Russian sub does convoy raid the German territory of Norway.  If there is a German warship there it blocks the Russian NO… So two functions.
      4a) if you have warships attacking the transport, then all have to attack it.  Of course, you as the attacker can ignore Transports altogether.
      4b) Again, all warships have to fight in sea battle.  Air can fight in sea or land battle.

    Hope that helped.



  • No, a country can only have a major IC in one of its starting territories that is worth >3 IPCs.


  • 2016

    @BJCard:

    No, a country can only have a major IC in one of its starting territories that is worth >3 IPCs.

    3 *


  • '12

    @El:

    1. Industrial Complex–- if enemy major IC is downgraded to minor upon capture, (& I can’t find this page in the Rulebook?) can the pwr capturing it upgrade it to a Major on the next “purchase units” round?

    The answer to this is always going to be no, since you cannot build a major IC on territory that is not originally owned by you.  If you capture an existing major and downgrade it, then the underlying territory could not have been originally owned by you.

    If a power has a major IC downgraded, but they reclaim the territory, then they can spend the 20 IPC to fix the IC by upgrading it back to a major on their next Purchase Units phase.



  • @Eggman:

    @El:

    1. Industrial Complex–- if enemy major IC is downgraded to minor upon capture, (& I can’t find this page in the Rulebook?) can the pwr capturing it upgrade it to a Major on the next “purchase units” round?

    The answer to this is always going to be no, since you cannot build a major IC on territory that is not originally owned by you.  If you capture an existing major and downgrade it, then the underlying territory could not have been originally owned by you.

    If a power has a major IC downgraded, but they reclaim the territory, then they can spend the 20 IPC to fix the IC by upgrading it back to a major on their next Purchase Units phase.

    Ok, very clear now, thanx everyone.



  • @El:

    1. friendly neutrals–-if doing NCM w/land units to take control of friendly neutral, can planes also move into same neutral territory as NCM w/the land units?

    If you are referring to the dutch islands, they are not neutral, they are allied.  The special UK/ANZ relationship with them permits the planes landing.  Otherwise, you can’t land on a neutral that was just taken this turn.

    Also, once a unit moves into a neutral to claim it, its movement ends for the turn.  For example:  even though tanks can blitz and tanks/mechs can move 2 by default, if they spend 1 movement to claim a neutral, combat or non-combat, they can’t move anymore.  Also, let’s say u have 2 russian mechs in caucuses.  And russia is at war with germany.  And, Iraq was already taken but NW persia was not.  Russia can’t simply move 1 mech to take NW persia on non-com, then move the other mech to persia or Iraq.  The neutral stops the movement.



  • I was not referring to DEI, but thanx that clarifies that also.  I was referring to the European friendly nuetrals & Eggman cleared that up for me.  Thanx.


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 34
  • 58
  • 2
  • 6
  • 6
  • 7
  • 15
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games

59
Online

13.1k
Users

33.3k
Topics

1.3m
Posts