Axis and Allies 1914 FAQ/Question and Answer Thread



  • Thats crazy…… :mrgreen:


  • Customizer

    The idea is that they’re firing at the units coming ashore, who are in no position to return fire, certainly not from artillery.



  • Yea, I like the rule. But they fire twice?
    That seems odd.


  • 2017 '16 '15 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    In our game they fire twice, due to having the convergence of two forts in that sea zone.



  • I’m a bit confused by this excerpt:

    “If you move all of your units out of a contested territory and leave only units from the other side there, the other side will
    immediately claim the territory (see “Taking Control of a Territory”, page 20). If the territory was originally controlled by a
    power on the other side, that power will take control (even if it has no units present).”

    Do you have to leave an occupational force in captured enemy territory?



  • I think that means if you leave a contested territory. If they attacked you, lost all their units, the territory stays theirs until your turn.
    You can’t leave, or it reverts back to their control.

    Imagine if Russia is trying to flush the Turks out of Romania (Russian controlled)
    They attack 10 Inf with 4 inf and 4 Artillery, but the defending turks score 8 hits.

    Because the territory can’t become turkish on the Russian turn, when the Turkish turn comes around, this rule informs you that at least one unit of yours must stay in Romania, though it is empty of enemy forces, to establish control. Your entire force can’t charge onward to the Ukraine because only during YOUR turn can you take control of a territory.



  • So the territory remains contested until Ottomans turn?



  • Another question, can Austria-Hungary or Turkey declare unrestricted submarine warfare and if so does that force a US entry as well? The rule book specifies Germany. Are Austro-Hungarian

    and Ottoman subs considered so subpar that they can’t declare USW?


  • Official Q&A

    @Hitlers:

    I’m a bit confused by this excerpt:

    “If you move all of your units out of a contested territory and leave only units from the other side there, the other side will immediately claim the territory (see Taking Control of a Territory, page 20). If the territory was originally controlled by a power on the other side, that power will take control (even if it has no units present).”

    Do you have to leave an occupational force in captured enemy territory?

    No.  The rule says “and leave only units from the other side there”.  If the territory has been captured, there will be no units from the other side in it.

    @oztea:

    I think that means if you leave a contested territory.

    Correct.

    @oztea:

    If they attacked you, lost all their units, the territory stays theirs until your turn.
    You can’t leave, or it reverts back to their control.

    No.  If all of the units from one side are removed from the territory for any reason, it is no longer contested and will become controlled immediately.

    I am not going back and answering any questions in this thread from before the Rulebook was posted.



  • It remains contested even if the enemy killed themselves attacking you. But only in the case where they are trying to push you out of a territory they control.
    If they fail to do so, it doesn’t become yours until your turn.

    This rule will only matter in counterattacks that get eliminated.
    If you simply pull out of a contested territory it does become theirs though.


  • 2017 '16 '15 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    Poor Kreig… 😮

    It’s like having a baby and now you can’t do anything anymore…


  • Official Q&A

    @Hitlers:

    Another question, can Austria-Hungary or Turkey declare unrestricted submarine warfare and if so does that force a US entry as well?

    No.


  • Official Q&A

    @oztea:

    It remains contested even if the enemy killed themselves attacking you. But only in the case where they are trying to push you out of a territory they control.
    If they fail to do so, it doesn’t become yours until your turn.

    Wrong.



  • Ok….now we are getting somewhere.

    Can you repair at a friendly port?
    Are US land units allowed on allied soil, before the US is at war officially, if so what is the rationale behind that?



  • If the Ottoman Empire controls Constatinople, but has no naval units in sea zone 20, can a British battleship move freely from sea zone 19 to sea zone 20, where it rolls for mines due to the Ottoman naval base, and then continue on to sea zone 21?



  • The Russian Revolution optional rule is being used. Early in the game Russia had taken control of a neutral Holland upon a German attack and a few turns later was able, with British help, to drive the Germans out of Holland. Russian troops remain in Holland, which is controlled by Russia.

    The next turn, the Russian Revolution occurs. Since Holland is Russian controlled, Russian troops remain in Holland, per the Russian Revolution Rules (“All Russian units outside of original Russian territories or Russian-controlled territories are immediately removed from the board, and Russia will no longer have a turn”).

    Does this mean that Germany and the other Central Powers may no longer attack Holland?

    May Allied powers still move freely through Holland?



  • @Flashman:

    The idea is that they’re firing at the units coming ashore, who are in no position to return fire, certainly not from artillery.

    This should be used in A&A 1940 Europe & Pacific also



  • I suggested that to Larry a million times

    People had boners for blockhouses when the game came out bit I said artillery sould sub in as coastal guns and roll preemptively. Larry said it was an ok idea, i guess he came around.


  • Customizer

    You don’t even need Russian units present; even if all the Russio-Dutch are eliminated, as far as I can tell Russia remains the nominated Allied controlling power of Holland for the rest of the game. Again, the rules could be interpreted differently…

    @wove100:

    The Russian Revolution optional rule is being used. Early in the game Russia had taken control of a neutral Holland upon a German attack and a few turns later was able, with British help, to drive the Germans out of Holland. Russian troops remain in Holland, which is controlled by Russia.

    The next turn, the Russian Revolution occurs. Since Holland is Russian controlled, Russian troops remain in Holland, per the Russian Revolution Rules (“All Russian units outside of original Russian territories or Russian-controlled territories are immediately removed from the board, and Russia will no longer have a turn”).

    Does this mean that Germany and the other Central Powers may no longer attack Holland?

    May Allied powers still move freely through Holland?


  • Customizer

    Can you confirm:

    I cannot repair BBs at friendly NBs, but I may do so at a captured enemy NB I control.

    Once a particular power has been nominated to control a non-aligned neutral, or an enemy aligned neutral, it remains the nominated nation in that tt for that side for the rest of the game, even if the tt is lost and subsequently recaptured by one of my allies.

    Britain and France are defending in a contested tt. They have 1 infantry each remaining, and take one last hit. If they cannot agree as to who removes the last casualty, the attacking player decides.

    Question: can I purchase naval units if the enemy controls all my original home NBs? That is, I buy them in anticipation of recapturing a NB on this turn.

    If yes, then I presume that any units so purchased are lost if I fail to recapture the base.



  • @wove100:

    The Russian Revolution optional rule is being used. Early in the game Russia had taken control of a neutral Holland upon a German attack and a few turns later was able, with British help, to drive the Germans out of Holland. Russian troops remain in Holland, which is controlled by Russia.

    The next turn, the Russian Revolution occurs. Since Holland is Russian controlled, Russian troops remain in Holland, per the Russian Revolution Rules (“All Russian units outside of original Russian territories or Russian-controlled territories are immediately removed from the board, and Russia will no longer have a turn”).

    Does this mean that Germany and the other Central Powers may no longer attack Holland?

    May Allied powers still move freely through Holland?

    All Russian units outside of original Russian territories or Russian-controlled territories are immediately removed from the board, and Russia will no longer have a turn

    Why is this statement so confusing (guess it needs clarification though), after the Revolution happens the intent pertains to removing all Russian units outside of orig Russian territories. This would include both types of territories possible where Russia might have units outside of original Russian tt.

    1. Territories that Russia is contesting with the enemy out side of orig Russian tt.

    2. Territories that Russia has control of out side of original Russian territories. This would include Holland (if awarded the Russians), or any other territory that the Russians might have gained control of outside of orig Russian tt. It would also include both Serbia and Romania because they are not original Russian territories, they are minor powers aligned w/Russia.

    The rule also goes on to say the CP is allowed to move in and out of original Russian territories that are controlled, or contested by the CP. The CP would have to leave an inf unit in a contested Russian territory though. The CP would continue to collect income from orig Russian tt they control, but I don’t think they have to leave an inf in those tt.

    I’m sure Krieghund will further clarify this.



  • @wove100:

    If the Ottoman Empire controls Constatinople, but has no naval units in sea zone 20, can a British battleship move freely from sea zone 19 to sea zone 20, where it rolls for mines due to the Ottoman naval base, and then continue on to sea zone 21?

    I am interested to know if control of Constantinople restricts movement of enemy ships through sz20 (the straight). At the start do the Turks (or CP) ships have protection from a double allied hit from the Black Sea and the Med. This could be a game changer, and will defiantly be a major source for house rules if not, and should have been an optional rule at the very least IMO. Control of the straight was a major objective for both sides.


  • Customizer

    Bill, you still don’t get how Professor Chapman’s Patent Russian Force Fields work.

    If Holland is attacked the Allies nominate Russia as the controlling power of Holland. It does not matter if all the Russian units in Holland are eliminated, if the Allies hold Holland it remains under Russian control, and as the rules are written it is therefore immune to CP attack after the revolution.

    There is no mention in the rules of Constantinople and SZ 20. They are just a normal capital land tt and a single sea zone.

    The Suez canal operates as expected, with Egypt blocking movement of enemy ships.



  • Ok, quick question.  I’m getting the game soon but I did browse throught the rules online here so…

    What is the purpose for investing in tanks at all???  It seems pound for pound infantry and artillery with fighters are the better buy.  Movement is the same also- only 1 space (no blitz???), so why even buy tanks in this game at 6IPCs???  Am I missing something???

    :? :? :?


  • Customizer

    The big issue with tanks is their ability to cancel an enemy hit.

    Its still debatable if this is enough to make them a worthwhile purchase.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 7
  • 9
  • 12
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 3
  • 27
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

63
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts