1. Naval Bases belong to sea zones and territories, not just territories, correct? Ex., France cannot build sea units in zone 8 and 15, but only in zone 15?
2. For amphibious assaults, artillery firing at landing units are first strikes, however battleships are not? Seems odd…
Yep. It’s all part of making amphibious assaults very bloody for the attacker.
3. Scenario: Germany owns Belgium and France owns Picardy. Neither are contested, and Germany has 2 transports loaded with 4 infantry in sea zone 9, while France has 4 artillery and 1 infantry in Picardy. Can Germany, on its turn, send 10 artillery into Picardy from Belgium, along with the 4 infantry from the sea, and bank on their being at least 1 infantry that survives the artillery bombardment? If so, what happens if they all die? Do the artillery have to retreat? If this tactic is illegal, what if France only had 3 artillery in Picardy, guaranteeing that at least one infantry would make it to shore. Is it legal then?
This move is illegal. At least one German infantry must enter Picardy by land.
You check for the “at least one required infantry being on each territory you control” at the end of your turn. If you don’t have at least one infantry in a territory you control, you have to replace/demote a unit to an infantry.
No, that rule only applies to newly mobilized units.
Can canadian units go into United States before they US is at war, so they can jump into american transports when at war.
Also can fighters take off from transports.
If a territory is controlled by an enemy power (their marker is on the tt and they are receiving IPC’s), and the power that originally controlled the tt attacks, but all units on both sides are destroyed, does control revert to the original power, or the occupying power?
My best guess the occupying power, but it would be nice to get official clarification.
From page 19 of the Rulebook:
In the rare event that no units from any power remain in the territory, the original controller of the territory will assume control. If the territory is a minor aligned power, the power that it is aligned with will assume control. If the territory is a minor neutral power, no power will assume control.
Once territories are contested (which happens as soon as an enemy force moves in), they have no “memory” of any previous controller other than the original one. The original controller is the power whose sole emblem is on the territory (neutral territories, aligned or otherwise, have no original controller).