SBR & Escorts



  • With Alpha +3 rules & global;  When conducting SBR w/excorts–-how exactly does the battle go?    IE; attacking an IC w/ 2-Strat bombers, & attacking airbase w/2-Tac bombers, escorting w/4-fightrs.    The enemy is defending w/ 4-fightrs & a strat bomber.

    The A+3 rules state that Air battle is 1st, all escorts & bombers (strat & tac) fire @ 1 & the defender puts his casualties behind battle strip casualty line.  Then the interceptors (defenders fighters & tac’s assigned to intercept) fire @ 1.  all casualties on both sides after this air battle are removed from play!

    Then says all surviving escorts retreat & I assume all surviving interceptors return to base?

    Then surviving bombers are assigned to targets.  So even though both Strat bombers & Tac bombers fought in the air battle, they can still proceed to bombing raids on the IC & the Airbase?

    Then the IC & the Airbase both get defending shots (1 dice per plane attacking it) & hit on a 1?

    Then surviving strat’s & tac’s can proceed.  It states the Strats bombers roll 1 dice per bomber  (1d6+2) does this mean if it rolls a 3 it would add +2 to that & make the hit a 5?

    Then states tac’s roll a 1d6, per plane, so I assume just the number of the die = the number of hits?

    Then looks like the hits scored are only against the complexes production rating only & not any IPC’s of the defending power?  So all you’re doing is limiting the # of production units that can be placed on the “mobilize unit” phase.  & the only IPC damage comes in the form of the damage having to be repaired/removed by the power having to buy the damage tokens off of the complex during the purchase unit phase of their turn?

    Do I have this all right



  • Yes you have this all correct. The IPC cost for repairing damaged factories really adds up. Especially if it’s Germany bombing London before sealion or the Russian factories with a push there. Japan can also cause a lot of trouple for the pacific uk especially once they have dwindled their income.


  • Official Answers

    Only fighters can intercept.  Bombers, of either type, cannot.


  • '12

    @Krieghund:

    Only fighters can intercept.  Bombers, of either type, cannot.

    Right, but the attacking bombers still get rolls at 1 in the intercept phase, correct?



  • @Eggman:

    @Krieghund:

    Only fighters can intercept.  Bombers, of either type, cannot.

    Right, but the attacking bombers still get rolls at 1 in the intercept phase, correct?

    AFAIK all aircraft engaged in a SBR Intercept get the opportunity to roll @1, both defensive and offensive units.

    Hence flying 3 Ftr to escort 3 Bombers may discourage the defender from intercepting with their 3 Ftr because they are exchanging 10 IPC aircraft and unable to stop the SBR before the factories roll.


  • TripleA '12

    I thought Tac Bombers could intercept too… must re-reead the rulebook.



  • @Lozmoid:

    I thought Tac Bombers could intercept too… must re-reead the rulebook.

    Tac Bombers may scramble to protect a seazone, but they cannot intercept.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 9
  • 42
  • 4
  • 8
  • 3
  • 20
  • 12
  • 54
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

56
Online

13.7k
Users

34.1k
Topics

1.3m
Posts