FAQ Now Available


  • Official Q&A

    The 2nd Edition FAQ is now available here.


  • TripleA '12

    Yes! Thank you Krieg.  🙂


  • TripleA

    That is good.



  • Wish I had come here sooner to learn that! We noticed that UK had 31 IPC on the map and gave it that since the Allies always needed more help than that anywya.



  • I have a question.

    During an amphibious assault must  transports have a warship with it even in a non hostile (Clear) seazone to offload into a hostile land territory. If so, why? Reason for the question, is because I dont believe you do, and a buddy of mine believes you do. And there is nothing in the rule book that saids you can or cant.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    No, they do  not. You are right.
    Your friend might be thinking of an amphibious assault by an unescorted Transport into a SZ occupied by an enemy Sub. That would require a Transport to be escorted,  despite the friendly SZ.



  • Thank you. I have one more question. In the rule book it saids during an amphibious assault if there is only an enemy sub and or transport, you the attaker have the choice to attack or ignore. Does that mean i still can go in  Unescorted or would i have to be escorted. Also if i did go in with a destroyer doesn’t that Voids the option to ignore? Just wondering for myself. Thanks again



  • This is related to my first question. About the amphibious assault/ transport. Does that apply to all AAA games or does the rule change depending on the game?



  • @wolfsden:

    Thank you. I have one more question. In the rule book it saids during an amphibious assault if there is only an enemy sub and or transport, you the attaker have the choice to attack or ignore. Does that mean i still can go in  Unescorted or would i have to be escorted. Also if i did go in with a destroyer doesn’t that Voids the option to ignore? Just wondering for myself. Thanks again

    If there is an enemy sub in that sea zone your transport must be escorted with a warship (not sure if this can be a sub or has to be a surface ship).  You now have the choice whether to attack the sub or ignore it.  You cannot bring only a transport into a sea zone with an enemy sub and offload.



  • I thought so. Thanks


  • Official Q&A

    @wolfsden:

    Also if i did go in with a destroyer doesn’t that Voids the option to ignore?

    No.  The only thing that voids the option to ignore enemy transports and/or subs is if the defender scrambles air units to the sea zone.

    @wolfsden:

    Does that apply to all AAA games or does the rule change depending on the game?

    It applies to all of the current versions (1914, 1941, 1942 2nd edition, 1940 2nd edition), but not to earlier ones.

    @IKE:

    If there is an enemy sub in that sea zone your transport must be escorted with a warship (not sure if this can be a sub or has to be a surface ship).

    It can be a sub.

    @IKE:

    You cannot bring only a transport into a sea zone with an enemy sub and offload. Â

    This applies only to amphibious assaults, not to noncombat movement.



  • @Krieghund:

    @IKE:

    You cannot bring only a transport into a sea zone with an enemy sub and offload. �

    This applies only to amphibious assaults, not to noncombat movement.

    Was not aware of this, thanks!



  • Thank you so much! my buddy And I  🙂 :-Dboth really appreciate it.☺



  • One Germany open they hit the sea zone off east us I destroy US fleet , Germany has one sub left. On USA turn they purchas 2 destroyers and drop them in that Seazone . On Germany’s turn during combat can I move my sub out of that sea zone or will destroyes prevent this


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    Afternoon General Kenobi.
    Yes, the German player can move out of the SZ.
    A Destroyer stops movement into the SZ, not out.



  • The problem is that wherever they go, the US destroyer can follow 🙂
    They’ve done their job though and maybe even get lucky and score a 1 on defense.



  • @Krieghund:

    No.  The only thing that voids the option to ignore enemy transports and/or subs is if the defender scrambles air units to the sea zone.

    Did Axis & Allies 1942 2nd Edition introduce “scramble” rules?
    And hi.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    Hi tekkyy. No it has not.
    Most guys here have all the games, so Krieg was probably just pointing that out to us for 1940.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    The official FAQ has been updated per September 3, 2014.

    http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs


  • TripleA '12

    Thanks P@nther.

    Does anyone know what the differences are?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    Loz: I think it is just one major change and a mistake (in intention) by the creator.
    The rules said you could not attack a Sub or TT in a SZ and move out at the same time.
    That was never intended.
    A Sub could hold up all your units (if you attacked it), following the rules as they were written and understood.

    Now, you can attack either of these two units(which do not make a SZ Hostile), with part of your forces occupying the same SZ and move others away.
    It was an annoying loophole.

    Hope you have been well.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    Movement
    Q. If some of my units begin my turn in a sea zone with enemy submarines and/or transports and I decide to attack them, can I move some or all of my units out of the sea zone in combat movement to avoid having them participate in the combat?
    A. Yes. Even though the sea zone is not hostile (it contains no enemy surface warships), you can still move units from the sea zone in combat movement to escape combat if you’re attacking there. However, you must still respect the rules for moving units in the Combat Move phase to escape combat.
    Combat

    I think this is it.


  • TripleA '12

    Thanks Wittmann, I must admit I did not know you could do that! 🙂


  • 2017 '16

    @P@nther:

    The official FAQ has been updated per September 3, 2014.

    http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs

    Do you know if anyone can correct / edit some initial (unintentional) mistakes in this official article about 1942 second Ed. set-up?
    http://www.axisandallies.org/resources-downloads/setup-chart-axis-allies-1942-second-edition/
    Or is it doomed to stay as it is for the historical record?

    The start-up IPCs are 31 for UK and 41 for Germany.

    There is also inside the Soviet Union set-up a line which was forgotten: “Kazakh S.S.R.: 1 Infantry”

    It should be listed:

    Soviet Union
    Starting income: 24 IPCs

    Russia: 4 Infantry, 1 Artillery, 1 AAA, 2 Tanks, 1 Fighter, Industrial Complex
    Karelia S.S.R.: 4 Infantry, 1 Artillery, 1 Fighter, Industrial Complex
    Archangel: 1 Infantry, 1 Tank
    Novosibirsk: 1 Infantry
    Caucasus: 3 Infantry, 1 Artillery, 1 AAA, 1 Tank, Industrial Complex
    Kazakh S.S.R.: 1 Infantry
    Evenki National Okrug: 2 Infantry
    Yakut S.S.R.: 1 Infantry
    Buryatia S.S.R.: 2 Infantry
    Soviet Far East: 2 Infantry

    Naval Setup:
    Sea Zone 4: 1 Submarine

    I found it because I used a copy of this list. And I realized there was a difference between Triple A set-up and my board game set-up (which was base on that list).


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    AFAIK it was djensen himself who provided the information over there.  🙂


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

43
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts