• After playing AAR for several years I recently bought AAG40.2 and I am now studying the rules before starting my first game tomorrow. I found two differences between AAG40.2 and Alpha +3:

• Alpha: 1 extra UK INF in Egypt

• OOB: USSR attacking Korea lifting NAP

Two questions:

• Why these differences, looking at the Alpha +3 change log on HGD all relevant changes seem to be made before AAG40.2 went to print, is it an error?

• What rules do you recommend playing my first game? I tend to play Alpha as it looks pro-Allies and the game seems to be Axis-biased as I read through the forum, or is there some reason to play OOB?

Thanks

• @Port:

After playing AAR for several years I recently bought AAG40.2 and I am now studying the rules before starting my first game tomorrow. I found two differences between AAG40.2 and Alpha +3:

• Alpha: 1 extra UK INF in Egypt

• OOB: USSR attacking Korea lifting NAP

Two questions:

• Why these differences, looking at the Alpha +3 change log on HGD all relevant changes seem to be made before AAG40.2 went to print, is it an error?

• What rules do you recommend playing my first game? I tend to play Alpha as it looks pro-Allies and the game seems to be Axis-biased as I read through the forum, or is there some reason to play OOB?

Thanks

It’s not an error.  These changes were made prior to printing.  Likely, LH and KH felt it was unnecessary to amend the Alpha 3 rules for these items.

You should probably play OOB, as if balance is off, it will be game reports that use the OOB rules that will be studied as justification for any future changes.  Also, unless stated otherwise, any official ruling will be OOB, but implementing house rules is completely up to you.  But since neither of those has a huge impact, it’s up to you.  The removal of the infantry in egypt relieves pressure on italy, and leaving korea out of the non aggression pact was silly anyway.