Could someone walk me through a successful German amphibious assault on Oslo or Goteborg that takes two rounds of combat the first turn?
This would answer a myriad of questions I have about fortifications, neutral navy disposition after a capital is lost, and neutrals in general.
I’m going to go through these separately because some events could make a big deference.
A successful German amphibious assault on Oslo (Norway). Norway is a strict neutral so the Germans would need to fight their way in (so would the UK). The Norway navy is in sz7 though, so if you amphib you should attack through sz17 IMO. This will allow you a chance to capture or scuttle part of the Norway fleet if you capture the capital Oslo (new w/5.1 rules), and not have to fight through it (see pg30). First thing is that forts defend in different ways (see list pg32). The fort on Oslo only def against attacks from the sea (amphibs). If Germany puts units on a transport and attacks w/amphib, it activates the fort. The fort rolls 2 12d dice looking for 5 or less. The one neutral inf in Oslo would also get +2 (def at 6 or less). This is only for the first round of the battle, after that the fort doesn’t fire and the def inf would roll at its normal value of 4 or less (if still alive). Once the unit(s) is killed and the territory is captured the fort is removed (it can’t be used as a casualty, or take damage). I believe that if the fort is activated (an amphib), that any attacking unit could/would be taken as a causality including units that came from adjacent land territories and air units (but not 100% sure). Question for Variable
One way to by pass the fort is to attack Oslo from Finland. Turn one take Narvic, and turn two attack Oslo with a couple inf and air units (no amphib, no fort), you could even buy a couple paratroopers G1, and take it by air only G2 (again no amphib, no fort). UK isn’t generally in a position to do much about it if you hammered their navy G1 using the second impulse.
I haven’t yet played with the new rules for when you capture a pro or strict neutrals capital. The key word there I believe is capture (make an attack). I believe if the neutral power is pro your side, you still non combat move in to claim all. There would be no dice rolling for ships etc (from what I can tell).
The Germans are probably better off waiting on Goteborg (Sweden) because later in the game it has a good possibility of becoming a pro axis territory, same with Spain (read pg30). FYI if the Germans meet the requirements for Sweden or Spain to go pro axis during the German combat phase (say capture Moscow), they can activate those pro axis countries in the NCM of the same turn. It is best to have this set-up ahead of time if you can. Allies probably won’t see it coming the first time LOL.
If Sweden goes pro axis Germany would Non Combat Move (NCM) into Goteborg to claim it, along with any ground units in Goteborg and its entire navy in the adjacent sz18 (no dice rolling from what I gather). The Swedish units in Stockholm would remain pro axis until the Germans NCM in to claim them (could be same turn). I know the ships listed as coastal are stuck in SZ18 for the entire game (but would def against the allies). The Swedish destroyer would join the German navy, but I don’t think it can move until Germany’s next turn. I don’t believe any newly activated (absorbed) units can move until the next turn, but some ppl play that they can (another question for Variable)
If the Germans jump the gun and attack Sweden when it is a strict neutral the ground units would def, and if the capital is taken then you roll the dice to determine the fate of the Swedish navy (see pg 30). If your hell bent on getting Sweden before it becomes pro axis I again would probably avoid the navy (so you might get part of it), and bypass the fort by attacking from an adjacent land territory from the north.
More questions for Variable in blue:
If Spain goes pro axis, I’m a little unclear on how you would activate/assume control of the fleet off of Seville. Before (5.0 rules) the axis power that took control of Seville would gain control of the Spanish fleet (activate the fleet, and able to move the non coastal ships next turn). Now do you get the fleet for taking control of the territory of Seville (like before), or does activating the capital (NCM into Madrid) now allow you to get the Spanish ships. I hope it is how it was before because it allowed Germany to NCM in to Madrid to claim ground units, but Italy could activate Seville to gain control of the navy if that is what the axis wanted to do.
similar as above:
If any territory of Spain is attacked by either side when it is a strict neutral, the rest of the Spanish territories become pro the other side. So say the US only captures Barcelona, doesn’t take Seville, or Madrid (capital). That would make both Seville and Madrid pro axis territories. In order for the axis to take control of the Spanish fleet off the coast of Seville (sz36) do they need to activate Madrid (capital), or Seville territory adjacent to the fleet?