1942.2 rulebook available for download
Find it here:
Or a smaller file version:
Direct link to the PDF:
Direct link to the official FAQ/errata:
This thread got lost in history.
So this posting is to bring it up again.
Maybe this thread should be stickied?
- bump *
Young Grasshopper last edited by
Thanks P@nther, I’ll make sure it becomes a sticky, also… is there any official errata & FAQ links that can be added to your first post?
Thanks P@nther, I’ll make sure it becomes a sticky, also… is there any official errata & FAQ links that can be added to your first post?
Thanks, YG. Indeed there is a link to the official FAQ/errata:
I just added that to the first post.
The following are modifications to the posted 2nd edition rulebook that were made in subsequent print runs. This is not a complete list, as I have included only modifications to the main text and not to layouts and examples. I have also not included any changes that are in the official errata or were only for typos (spelling, capitalization, etc.). Note that many of these modifications were made to standardize the language used in all of the A&A rulebooks. They are not changes to the rules as presented in the posted rulebook and FAQ, but clarifications.
Page 7, Industrial Production Credits: “Each power also begins the game with that many IPCs in its treasury to spend on its first turn. During the game, each power will spend IPCs, on new units for example, and collect more IPCs as income from territories that it controls. Have one player act as a banker and track each power’s current IPC treasury on a piece of paper, or use another means agreed upon by your group.”
Page 10, Phase 1: Purchase Units, Step 1: Order Units: “You may purchase as many units of any type as you can afford and will have the ability to mobilize (see “Phase 5: Mobilize New Units”, pg. 21) after making repairs to any damaged industrial complexes (see below). Select all the units you wish to purchase. You donâ€t have to spend all of your IPCs. The number of pieces in play is not limited by the number of plastic and cardboard pieces available. (If you donâ€t have any more of a unit type you wish to purchase, simply use any identifying item, such as a piece of paper with the unit type written on it.)”
Page 11, Phase 2: Combat Move, paragraph 1: “During the Combat Move phase, all movement must end in a hostile space, with a few exceptions (see below). Movement into a hostile space counts as combat movement whether that space is occupied or not. Additional movement that does not end in a hostile space occurs in the Noncombat Move phase (phase 4).”
Page 11, Phase 2: Combat Move, paragraph 3, bullet point 3: “
SeaUnits moving from a hostilesea zone to escape combat as their combat move, and”
Page 11, Phase 2: Combat Move, paragraph 3, bullet point 4: “
SeaUnits moving into a sea zone containing only enemy submarines and/or transports in order to attack those units.”
Page 11, Phase 2: Combat Move, paragraph 9: “However, if you choose to make such an attack with a unit, that unit must end its movement in that sea zone, and it must attack all such units present. In other words, you must either attack all enemy submarines and transports in the sea zone, or you must ignore all of them. You may not attack some enemy units and ignore others in the same sea zone. It is possible that some of your units may stop to attack while others continue moving through the sea zone.”
Page 12, Sea Units Starting in Hostile Sea Zones, paragraph 3: “Once these
seaunits have moved and/or participated in combat, they cannot move or participate in the Noncombat Move phase of the turn.”
Page 13, Tanks and Blitzing: “A tank that encounters enemy units, including antiaircraft artillery units or an industrial complex, in the first territory it enters must stop there and may not blitz.”
Page 14: 1. Strategic Bombing Raids, paragraph 1: â€œA strategic bombing raid is a direct attack on an industrial complex. During this step, you can bomb enemy industrial complexes with your strategic bombers.
A strategic bombing raid is an economic attack. The attacking bombers will cause a number of points of damage to the target complexes equal to the total rolled on the dice used for the attack.When you damage these complexes, their capabilities are decreased or eliminated, and your enemy must spend IPCs to repair them in order to restore those capabilities. Repairs can be made by the complexesâ€ controlling player during his or her Purchase Units phase (see â€œPurchase Units,â€ page 10).â€
Page 14: 1. Strategic Bombing Raids, paragraph 2: â€œEach industrial complex and base rolls one die against each bomber directly attacking it (regardless of the number of bombers).â€
Page 15, Amphibious Assaults, Step 1. Sea Combat, paragraph 2: "If sea combat occurs, all attacking and defending sea and air units present must participate in the battle.â€
Page 15, Amphibious Assaults, Step 3. Land Combat, paragraph 1: “Land combat can only take place if there was no sea battle or the sea zone has been cleared of all defending enemy units except transports and
submergedsubmarines that submerged during the sea battle. If the attacker still has land units committed to the coastal territory, move all attacking and defending units to the battle strip and conduct combat using the general combat rules (page 16).”
Page 15, Amphibious Assaults, Step 3. Land Combat, paragraph 5: “They can only retreat to a territory from which at least one of them entered the contested territory and must all retreat at the same time and to the same place.”
Page 16, 3. General Combat, paragraph 1: “In this step, you resolve combat in each space that contains your units and either contains enemy units or is enemy-controlled.”
Page 16, Step 1. Place Units Along the Battle Strip: Add as paragraph 2: “Antiaircraft artillery units and transports have no combat value and are not represented on the battle strip. Place these units beside the battle strip, as they are still participants in the battle and may be taken as casualties.”
Page 16, Step 1. Place Units Along the Battle Strip, paragraph 2: “Cargo does not roll for hits, nor can it be chosen as a casualty.”
Page 16, General Combat, paragraph 2: “If you moved any
landunits into unoccupied hostile territories or hostile territories that contain only industrial complexes and/or antiaircraft artillery units, no actual combat is necessary (though antiaircraft artillery units will still fire at attacking air units).”
Page 16, Step 2. Submarine Surprise Strike or Submerge, paragraph 1: “Before all other units fire and resolve casualties (steps 3-5), both attacking and defending submarines can choose to either make a Surprise Strike die roll or submerge. A player may choose to submerge all, some, or none of his or her submarines. However, if the opposing side has a destroyer in the battle, the attacking or defending submarines cannot submerge or make a Surprise Strike and combat proceeds normally with your submarines firing along with your other units in step 3 or 4.”
Page 18, Step 6. Press Attack or Retreat, Condition A, paragraph 1: " Once all units that can either fire at a valid target or retreat on one or both sides have been destroyed, the combat ends."
Page 18, Step 6. Press Attack or Retreat, Condition A, paragraph 2: “If a power has combat units remaining along the battle strip, that power wins the combat. Players who have units remaining along the battle strip return those units to the contested space on the game board.”
Page 18, Step 6. Press Attack or Retreat, Condition B, paragraph 1: “Move all attacking land and sea units in that combat that are along the battle strip to a single adjacent friendly space from or through which at least one of the original attacking land or sea units moved. In the case of sea units, that space must have been friendly at the start of the turn (if no such space exists, retreat is not possible).”
Page 18, Step 7. Conclude Combat, paragraph 1: “
Return all units remaining along the battle strip to the contested space on the game board.”
Page 18, Step 7. Conclude Combat, paragraph 3: “If you have captured the territory, place your control marker on the
newly conqueredterritory and adjust the national production levels.”
Page 19, Capturing and Liberating Capitals, paragraph 4: “Other territories and industrial complexes that were originally controlled by the newly liberated capital’s controller but are currently in the hands of friendly powers also revert control immediately.”
Page 20, Multinational Forces, paragraph 2: “A multinational force cannot attack the same space together, because each power moves and attacks with its own units only on its own turn. Any units in a sea zone in which a battle occurs that belong to an ally of the attacker (other than cargo on an attackerâ€s ship) cannot participate in the battle in any way. Such units cannot be taken as losses in the sea combat and have no effect on defending submarines.
Each attacking power moves and fires its own units on its own turn.”
Page 20, Multinational Forces, paragraph 4: “An attacking land unit can assault a coastal territory from an allyâ€s transport, but only on the turn of the attacking land unitâ€s owner. All of the normal requirements for transports offloading in a sea zone must still be met by the attacking power (see â€œSpecial Combat Movement, Transportsâ€. pg. 13).”
Page 21, Where Units Can Move, Air Units, paragraph 1: “Bombers and fighters can land in any territory that was friendly at the start of the current turn.”
Page 22, Phase 5: Mobilize New Units, paragraph 1: “If you purchased new units, you must now move all of them from the mobilization zone on the game board to eligible spaces you have controlled since the start of your turn, with certain exceptions (below).”
Page 22, Phase 5: Mobilize New Units, Restrictions on Placement, paragraph 5: “In the event that you inadvertently purchased more units than you can actually mobilize due to production limitations, you must return the over-purchased units to the box (your choice on which units), and the cost of the units is reimbursed to you.”
Page 25, Antiaircraft Artillery, No Combat Value: â€œEven though an antiaircraft artillery (AAA) unit can defend, either alone or with other units, it has a combat value of 0. This means that an AAA unit cannot fire in the defending units fire step. It can, however, be taken as a casualty.â€
Page 25, Antiaircraft Artillery, Air Defense: â€œEach AAA unit in the territory may fire up to 3 shots, but each attacking air unit may be fired upon only once. In other words, the total number of air defense dice rolled is either 3 times the number of AAA units, or the number of attacking air units, whichever is the lesser. For example, 5 fighters attacking a territory containing 2 AAA units would have 5 shots fired against them while those same 5 fighters would have only 3 shots fired against them if there were only 1 defending AAA unit. Once the number of air defense dice is determined, the dice are rolled. For each â€œ1â€ rolled, the attacker must choose one air unit as a casualty. These casualties are removed immediately, and will not participate in the remainder of the battle. This AAA fire occurs immediately before normal combat occurs in the territory containing the AAA unit."
Page 26, Air Units, paragraph 2: “To determine movement range, count each space your air units enters â€œafter takeoffâ€.”
Page 27, Fighters, Land on Aircraft Carriers, paragraph 2: “Carrier-based fighters are always considered to be defending in the air, even if only submarines are attacking and the fighters cannot hit them because there is no defending destroyer.”
Page 28, Battleships, Two Hits to Destroy: “If a battleship is hit once, even by a submarine’s Surprise Strike, turn it on its side to mark its damaged status. In the case of an attacking battleship, do not remove it from play unless it takes a second hit in the same combat. In the case of a defending battleship, do not move it behind the casualty strip unless it takes a second hit in the same combat.”
Page 28, Aircraft Carriers, Fighter Defense: “Whenever a carrier is attacked, its fighters (even those belonging to friendly powers) are considered to be defending in the air and fight normally, even if only submarines are attacking and the fighters cannot hit them because there is no defending destroyer.”
Page 30, Submarines, Surprise Strike: “As detailed in step 2 of the General Combat sequence (pg. 16), submarines make their rolls before any other units, unless an enemy destroyer is present in the battle.”
Page 30, Submarines, Submersible: “When a submarine submerges, itâ€s immediately removed from the battle strip and placed back on the map. As a result, it can no longer fire or take hits in that combat. However, a submarine canâ€t submerge if an enemy destroyer is present in the battle.”
Page 31, Transports, No Combat Value: “Transports may not attack in a sea battle without being accompanied by at least one unit with an attack value~~, unless they are conducting an amphibious assault from a friendly sea zone that is free of enemy submarines. This lack of combat capability also allows enemy ships to ignore the presence of transports~~.”
Page 31, Transports, Chosen Last: “For example, fighters attacking transports and submarines will hit the transports because they cannot hit the submarines without an attacking destroyer present.”
Page 31, Amphibious Assaults, paragraph 2: “It can also offload any number of units owned by the attacking power that were already on board at the start of the turn.”