Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Axis and Allies Pacific 1940 2nd Edition ( AAP40.2) FAQ/question


  • 2017 2016 2015 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    Post FAQ’s and questions.


  • 2017 2016 2015 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    NOs for Pacific '40.2 ( from Robbie358)

    Japan-
    10 IPCs for not at war with USA and not attacking French Indo-China
    5 IPCs if Japan controls Guam, Midway, Wake, Gilberts, and Solomons
    5 IPCs per territory if Japan controls Calcutta, Sydney, Honolulu, and/or San Francisco
    5 IPCs if Japan controls Sumatra, Java, Borneo, and Celebes

    USA-
    30 IPCs if at war and control of West USA
    5 IPCs if at war and control of Alaska and Mexico
    5 IPCs if at war and control of Aleutians, Hawaii, Johnston, and Line
    5 IPCs if at war and control of Philippines

    China-
    6 IPCs if the Allies control India, Burma, Yunnan, and Szechwan

    UK-
    5 IPCs if at war and controls Kwangtung and Malaya

    ANZAC-
    5 IPCs if at war, Allies control Malaya, and ANZAC controls all its original territories
    5 IPCs if at war and the Allies (not the Dutch) control Dutch New Guinea, New Britain, New Guinea, and the Solomons


  • Customizer

    Krieghund,
    My 2nd edition Pacific board shows Mexico narrowly adjacent to SZ 11. The border is even more predominate when you flip the board over and view the narrow strip of print on the back.
    Is Mexico intended to border SZ 11?


  • Official Answers

    No.  The maps don’t line up along the outer edges.  See page 35 of the Pacific Rulebook for adjacencies.



  • What is the political rules in pacific, same as global?



  • Couples of questions

    1-If Uk capture a Japanese territory that was Chinese originally (ex kwangsi) Can china mobilize new troop in it?

    2-a)If Japan invade french indo china does it declare war with uk/usa or they just loose the bonus?
    2-b)what if uk attack japan on g1 then japan invade french indochina turn 2 do theyt loose the bonus and are they at war with usa?

    3-If uk attack japan on turn 1 and japan invade dutch territory turn 2 does it declare war on usa?

    Thanks



  • @texasranger97:

    Couples of questions

    1-If Uk capture a Japanese territory that was Chinese originally (ex kwangsi) Can china mobilize new troop in it?

    2-a)If Japan invade french indo china does it declare war with uk/usa or they just loose the bonus?
    2-b)what if uk attack japan on g1 then japan invade french indochina turn 2 do theyt loose the bonus and are they at war with usa?

    3-If uk attack japan on turn 1 and japan invade dutch territory turn 2 does it declare war on usa?

    Thanks

    1 - UK can never control a chinese territory, so yes, it will revert to chinese control and china can mobilize in it.

    2a - Japan must declare war on France to invade FIC, and it causes them to lose the bonus, but they do not have to declare war on UK or USA to do so.

    2b - Japan loses the bonus as soon as they attack FIC, as long as USA is still neutral, regardless of UK’s diplomatic status.

    3 - No.  IF UK/Anzac attacks Japan first, japan can freely attack dutch, english, anzac territories (and as long as they don’t attack FIC or a US territory/unit they’ll continue to get the FIC bonus until US declares war on US3)



  • Thanks

    So declaring war as uk on the first turn is not a good idea since your alone for 3 turn before us can enter the war


  • TripleA '12

    I don’t know if this has come up before, but are the Japanese-controlled Chinese territories (printed on the map) treated as original Japanese territories for the purposes of building ICs? If so, is this mentioned specifically anywhere in the rulebook?

    In other words, can Japan build a Major IC in Manchuria and a Minor IC in Shangtung?

    Thank you.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    They are Chinese, Loz. You can only build Minor ICs.
    Bugger I know!
    Just got yours have you? Enjoy it.


  • TripleA '12

    Thanks Wittmann! Yes, I got my copy the other day and have just set it up for the 1st time and am just looking at it for now. The 1st thing I was wondering was, where can all the powers build Industrial Complexes! It would seem that the only places where they can be built at the BEGINNING of the game, i.e. Round 1 - are as follows:

    Major IC

    Japan - Korea
    United Kingdom - Kwangtung, Malaya
    United States -
    ANZAC -
    China -

    Minor IC

    Japan - Korea (may upgrade) & Manchuria, Shantung, Kiangsu (but may not upgrade due to original Chinese ownership of said territories)
    United Kingdom - Kwangtung, Malaya (may upgrade)
    United States - Alaska, Mexico (but may not upgrade due to territory IPC value limit)
    ANZAC - Queensland (but may not upgrade due to territory IPC value limit)
    China -

    Also, ANZAC may not upgrade the Minor IC in New South Wales due to territory IPC value limit.

    Did I get all that right?

    Thank you!


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    Not at home(watching Fiorentina on Sky at my parents), but sounds right.
    Japan’s best 1st buy is either 3 APs or 2 and an IC.
    Enjoy planning war!


  • TripleA '12

    In addition to the post above, I have a couple of extra questions that I would also appreciate answering by Krieg or one of the rules deputies:

    1 - Pages 4 & 7 of the Pacific 1940 SE Rulebook mention a ‘Research & Development Chart’ as a specific item in the game’s inventory. I received no such chart in my copy of the game. Am I missing something here or is this chart just the one printed in the manual under the Global Rules section?

    2 - Pages 8 & 35 of the Rulebook mention the ‘Yukon Territory’ and ‘British Columbia’. These territories do not exist on the new map, so I take it this was just a misprint?

    3 - I got 2 UK Aircraft Carriers in my copy of the game, was I supposed to get 4?

    Thank you all very much indeed.


  • Official Answers

    1 - It’s a typo.  The chart is included only in Europe 1940.

    2 - Correct.  Also, Western Canada should have a Canadian emblem on the map.

    3 - Two is the correct number.


  • TripleA '12

    Thank you very much for your answers, Krieg.  🙂 Also, was I correct in my initial assessment of the Round 1 placement of ICs (couple of posts above)?


  • Official Answers

    @Lozmoid:

    Thank you very much for your answers, Krieg.  🙂 Also, was I correct in my initial assessment of the Round 1 placement of ICs (couple of posts above)?

    Yes.


  • TripleA '12

    Get in!  :lol:

    Thanks very much!


  • TripleA '12

    I’m not sure about something: under Unit Profiles in the rulebook, it mentions that Minor ICs can be upgraded to Major ones but it doesn’t specfically state (as far as I can tell) exactly when this happens. Now, I assume you pay for the upgrade during the Purchase & Repair Units phase, and then the upgrade becomes effective during the Mobilize New Units phase - is this right?

    I read somewhere that Minor ICs being upgraded this turn can’t produce more than 3 new units until your next turn. This is where I am confused because I had guessed that the upgrade took place immediately (in line with any repairs that may have been made). Therefore, am I right in thinking that the correct process would be to place a Major IC in the Mobilization Zone, and then replace the Minor IC with it at the end of the Mobilze New Units phase?

    Thank you very much.



  • @Lozmoid:

    I’m not sure about something: under Unit Profiles in the rulebook, it mentions that Minor ICs can be upgraded to Major ones but it doesn’t specfically state (as far as I can tell) exactly when this happens. Now, I assume you pay for the upgrade during the Purchase & Repair Units phase, and then the upgrade becomes effective during the Mobilize New Units phase - is this right?

    I read somewhere that Minor ICs being upgraded this turn can’t produce more than 3 new units until your next turn. This is where I am confused because I had guessed that the upgrade took place immediately (in line with any repairs that may have been made). Therefore, am I right in thinking that the correct process would be to place a Major IC in the Mobilization Zone, and then replace the Minor IC with it at the end of the Mobilze New Units phase?

    Thank you very much.

    Like all combat moves, or noncombat moves, mobilization takes place simultaneously.  You can’t upgrade “first”, then drop 10 units there.  The upgrade takes place during the mobilization phase but is not active for use until the next turn, so you’re still limited to place only three units while the factory is effectively upgrading itself at the same time.


  • TripleA '12

    Okay thanks, kcdzim. That’s what I thought.


  • TripleA '12

    Okay guys, a few more Pacific 1940 S.E. questions please:

    1 - Pages 8 & 9 of the rulebook seem to have conflicting or even contradictory rules regarding when Japan may attack Dutch territories. Under ‘The Political Situation’ guidelines for Japan on page 8 it says: “Japan may attack Dutch territories only if a state of war exists between it and the UK and ANZAC.” However, on page 9 under the guidelines for the UK and ANZAC it says: “Additionally, the UK & ANZAC consider attacks against any Dutch territories to be acts of war against them directly.” Well, which is it to be? Some clarification is much needed here.

    2a - On page 2 of the rulebook it states: “On Turn 3… the United States will declare war on Japan.” The operative words here being will declare war. However, on page 9 it states: “… if the US is still not at war with Japan by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, it may declare war on Japan at the beginning of that phase.” The operative words here being may declare war. So, which is it? Is the US declaration of war on Japan automatic & compulsory, or is the US player truly free to not declare war? And if the latter is true, then what happens to the US economy from the Collect Income phase of its third turn onwards? i.e. Does the US still stay at 17 IPCs until it declares war (on a subsequent Combat Move phase)?

    2b - Also, if Japan obeys all of the rules regarding its restrictions/obligations toward the Allies & the US during peacetime, and then the US elects to declare war against Japan on its 3rd turn, would that not be an unprovoked declaration of war? What would the implications of this be?

    3 - ‘Declaring War’ on page 11 is a little unclear. If a power declares war on an opposing power, then is it true that that opposing power does not also have to declare war back on its next turn? This seems obvious but the wording in the rulebook is a little vague to me.

    4 - Is it true that French Indo China will initially stay French unless it is captured and controlled by Japan? And then subsequently, let’s suppose it is liberated by the UK - Does the UK then take control (adjust IPC chart) of it instead? Also, is F.I.C. treated in the same way as Dutch territories in that the UK & ANZAC may move land units into it during their Noncombat Move phase, in order to take guardianship of it and thereby control it (again, adjust IPC chart)?

    To confirm, these questions are purely for the Pacific 1940 S.E. game and have no bearing at all on Global.

    Thank you all very much.



  • @Lozmoid:

    Okay guys, a few more Pacific 1940 S.E. questions please:

    1 - Pages 8 & 9 of the rulebook seem to have conflicting or even contradictory rules regarding when Japan may attack Dutch territories. Under ‘The Political Situation’ guidelines for Japan on page 8 it says: “Japan may attack Dutch territories only if a state of war exists between it and the UK and ANZAC.” However, on page 9 under the guidelines for the UK and ANZAC it says: “Additionally, the UK & ANZAC consider attacks against any Dutch territories to be acts of war against them directly.” Well, which is it to be? Some clarification is much needed here.

    2a - On page 2 of the rulebook it states: “On Turn 3… the United States will declare war on Japan.” The operative words here being will declare war. However, on page 9 it states: “… if the US is still not at war with Japan by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, it may declare war on Japan at the beginning of that phase.” The operative words here being may declare war. So, which is it? Is the US declaration of war on Japan automatic & compulsory, or is the US player truly free to not declare war? And if the latter is true, then what happens to the US economy from the Collect Income phase of its third turn onwards? i.e. Does the US still stay at 17 IPCs until it declares war (on a subsequent Combat Move phase)?

    2b - Also, if Japan obeys all of the rules regarding its restrictions/obligations toward the Allies & the US during peacetime, and then the US elects to declare war against Japan on its 3rd turn, would that not be an unprovoked declaration of war? What would the implications of this be?

    3 - ‘Declaring War’ on page 11 is a little unclear. If a power declares war on an opposing power, then is it true that that opposing power does not also have to declare war back on its next turn? This seems obvious but the wording in the rulebook is a little vague to me.

    4 - Is it true that French Indo China will initially stay French unless it is captured and controlled by Japan? And then subsequently, let’s suppose it is liberated by the UK - Does the UK then take control (adjust IPC chart) of it instead? Also, is F.I.C. treated in the same way as Dutch territories in that the UK & ANZAC may move land units into it during their Noncombat Move phase, in order to take guardianship of it and thereby control it (again, adjust IPC chart)?

    To confirm, these questions are purely for the Pacific 1940 S.E. game and have no bearing at all on Global.

    Thank you all very much.

    1.  Japan must declare war on UK/ANZAC to attack a dutch territory, OR, Japan may declare war on UK/ANZAC if the commonwealth has already declared war on Japan.  Not really contradictory but maybe could have used an edit for language - it’s worded that way so that it should be clear that a state of war must exist between them but doesn’t get into the particulars of who attacked whom first.

    2a. They WILL declare war because there’s no reason not to, but they don’t HAVE to, so it’s a may, but it’s a moot may.  If they don’t declare war, they don’t increase their economy.

    2b.  Makes no difference.  Once the US is in the war, it doesn’t matter who provoked it.  There are no implications nor special rules based on provocation & the US.  The only nations where provocation has a rule implication are UK/ANZAC and the Dutch territories.

    3.  Once a state of war exists, the defender does not need to counter with another declaration of war to the belligerent.

    4.  Yes, it will stay french unless captured and controlled by the japanese, until it is liberated by an ally, whereupon control is transferred to that ally (France is treated as an occupied capitol during the entire Pac game).

    No, it is not treated like a dutch territory.  the only way for an ally to gain control is if they liberate it from Japan.


  • TripleA '12

    That’s fantastic, kcdzim - thank you again. And you are indeed, most certainly, the man.  🙂



  • I’ve noticed that Japan has no IC in Japan, according to SE setup, is that correct?
    (Japan: 6 infantry, 2 artillery, 1 tank, 3 AAA, 2 fighters, 2 tactical bombers)


  • Official Answers

    Check the second line.


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 3
  • 6
  • 5
  • 17
  • 2
  • 9
  • 9
I Will Never Grow Up Games

80
Online

13.0k
Users

33.1k
Topics

1.3m
Posts