Axis and Allies Europe 1940 2nd Edition ( AAE40.2) FAQ/question


  • Thank you 🙂


  • Hey all, summer tour of 2014 is coming to a close finally….after visits in Guam, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Phillipines, Korea, and soon to be Nagasaki, I’m ready to come home!  I just bought the 2nd edition of Pac 40, but looking at the price differences for Euro 40 and 2nd edition Euro 40, 1st edition is 20 dollars cheaper…should I just buy the 2nd edition as well, or can I survive being a cheapskate on it…Hope all is well with you!


  • @Mallery29:

    Hey all, summer tour of 2014 is coming to a close finally….after visits in Guam, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Phillipines, Korea, and soon to be Nagasaki, I’m ready to come home!  I just bought the 2nd edition of Pac 40, but looking at the price differences for Euro 40 and 2nd edition Euro 40, 1st edition is 20 dollars cheaper…should I just buy the 2nd edition as well, or can I survive being a cheapskate on it…Hope all is well with you!

    If you haven’t bought it yet, I recommend just paying for the 2nd edition. I currently have 2nd ed euro and 1st ed pacific and it’s just annoying to look up the small rules differences all the time online. And I think the new pieces make the game a little cooler. It’s up to you, but if you want to make things easy on yourself get 2nd 😛


  • Sorry in advance for what has probably been asked before but I have a quick question regarding submarines:

    Specifically this involves the G1 battle for sz109. Germany has brought two subs against the UK DD and TT. The UK decides to scramble but on the first round of combat Germany scores a hit. Since UK can neither choose the Fighters nor TT as casualties, she must choose the DD. The DD can still return fire of course, but since it is now dead the fighters cannot fire at all, correct?

    Thanks!

  • 2021 '20 '19 '17 '16 '15 '13

    the UK fighters would be able to fire in the first round, after that they wouldn’t be able to because the dd wont’ be around.


  • Thanks for the quick reply!

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    The official FAQ has been updated per September 3, 2014.

    http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs

  • '20 '19 '18 Customizer

    Question came up during play- if a player non-combat moves a destroyer into the same sea zone as an enemy submarine, can the submarine move out of the sea zone on its combat move, or is it “trapped” in the zone and must conduct combat?

  • 2021 '20 '19 '17 '16 '15 '13

    The sub can move during combat move phase to avoid combat.


  • hello I have a question about retreat wich came up yesterday during my game.
    we came to an agreement but I feel bad that we did not find an answer to this in the rules because this move led to an allied win in the end .

    here’s what happened the soviets atacked a german army in belarus from bryansk, leningrad and a tank from moscow. now my plan was to atack the superior germans for 1 round and then retreat to smolensk in to the path of 9 fresh divisions of infantry,
    because the tank from moscow had passed through it on its way to the front at belarus.

    now was I correct in assuming that since the tank used it second move to move from smolensk to belarus , this counted towards the need for troops to have come from a friendly space on the map, so I could retreat my russians in a legal way to smolensk and have the edge in manpower?

    Was I correct  :?  cheers

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    You are right . You could retreat your surviving units (as a stack) to any one of those 3 territories.


  • thanks for the reply and easing my mind  cheers  😄

  • '20 '19 '18 Customizer

    The rulebook says we can’t build complexes on islands.  Is New Zealand an island?  If not, and ANZAC has the option to build an IC there, are there any other “islands” that would be eligible to build an IC?


  • When the Rulebook sucks, just fix it with houserules and be happy

    Even the designer Larry Harris have made houserules to his own game since he was not satisfied with the Directors cut, he even named it LHTR but they are just house rules, no more official than the houserules you make, so go ahead and make your day man

  • Official Q&A

    @DMcLaren:

    Is New Zealand an island?

    Yes.


  • I am taking the plunge and moving from 1942 to Europe 1940. (Eventual goal is to play global) I set up the board last night. I read the rule book 3 times. I think I have a decent understanding of the changes. I do have one question:

    Are fighters still allowed to attack land units such as tanks or infantry? Or is this role strictly reserved for the new tactical bomber unit?

    In the rule book it mentions fighters used as interceptors and escorts. It also mentions they can scramble. It never mentions if they are allowed to participate and hit land units in combat.

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    Hi and I hope you enjoy your new game.
    Fighters can attack land units, as usual. No change there.

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    The official FAQ has been updated per November 24, 2014:

    What is new?

    @FAQ:

    Purchasing Units

    Q. Can I purposely purchase more units than I can mobilize with the intent of deciding which
    units I want to keep based on the outcome of battles I intend to fight?

    A. No. You may only purchase as many units as you will have the ability to mobilize after making repairs
    to any damaged industrial complexes. The rules for returning excess units are intended only for
    inadvertent over-purchasing.

    http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs

  • '20 '19 '18 Customizer

    If Japan moves all its fleet with 6 loaded transports into sea zone 9 on round 3, would that provoke USA to go to war?


  • Japan does not exist in the Europe game.


  • Hello all.
    Recently I started playing a&a Europe 1940 2nd edition, and I Am really excited about this game and look forward to playing global when i get the chance.

    Ive been reading a lot about strategy for diffirent nations on this site and have also learned a lot from young grasshopper strategy series on YT.

    After watching videos, reading strategy and mesmorizing the game rules I think I understand and know most game rules, however one thing is not clear to me. What happnes when the following events occur.

    • Germany attacks the ships in sz 110.

    • Brittain scrambles 3 fighters.

    • brittain throw poor dices and only manage to take out a sub and a fighter from Germany while loosing all their ships.

    • Germany flies the planes back to the mainland, but have to leave a sub and undamaged battleship in sz 110.

    Then in the UK turn the UK decides to send in their remaining destroyer to sz 110 to take out the sub and battleship.

    Can they also send in the 2. Fighters they used to scramble?

    In the rules I read that fighters used to scramble can only fight once a turn, but does that mean once in the defending round? Or once in the entire turn 1 of the game.

    I hope someone can help a noobie player out here.

    Thanks in advance.

    Pas08

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    Hello Pas08 and welcome to the forum.

    Scrambling is a movement of the defender that takes place at the end of the combat movement phase of the attacker’s turn.

    Rulebook says:

    @rulebook:


    They
    can’t participate in any other battles during that turn,
    including a battle in the territory from which they were
    scrambled.

    So during the attacker’s (Germany) turn the British fighters are used for scrambling and thus cannot be used to defend also the territory in this (German) turn.

    They can of course be used during the British turn. So yes, on UK’s turn they can be sent to attack the Germany ships.

    HTH 🙂

  • Official Q&A

    Welcome, Pas08!

    An important concept that will help you understand the rules is the difference between a “turn” and a “round”.  A turn is one power (Germany, UK, etc.) going through the turn sequence.  A round is all of the powers having a turn.  So, if something happens only once per turn, it can happen again as soon as another power begins its turn, while something that lasts for a round must wait until that same power has its turn again.


  • Hello and thank you both Panther and krieghund for answering my question. I kind of suspected that the UK coulld use those plains in their own turn to attack. I am not a native English speaker, altough I think i speak and read english good enough the rulebook is sometimes a bit hard to read as they swap different words with the same meaning 😄

    Also this might be a bit off placed, but Ive read and heard about people playing a&a online? Is there a site or software program which lets you play A&A online and try out different tactics against a computer.

    Thank you so much for your time already.

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @Pas08:

    Also this might be a bit off placed, but Ive read and heard about people playing a&a online? Is there a site or software program which lets you play A&A online and try out different tactics against a computer.

    Yes, indeed, we use a software called ‘TripleA’ here. Just check out these links:

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=36406.0
    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=18278.0
    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=27127.0

    and browse through the “Play Boardgames”-subforum with it’s child boards

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?board=40.0

    to get an idea about it.

    Don’t hesitate to ask your TripleA related questions in the Software-Subforum.
    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?board=53.0

    🙂

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 54
  • 24
  • 6
  • 7
  • 5
  • 27
  • 59
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

33
Online

15.8k
Users

37.4k
Topics

1.6m
Posts