Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

  • 2019 2017 2016

    Looks like if Germany don’t DOW on USSR but leave one of their subs in SZ125, even though Italy does DOW, then USSR loses the lend lease bonus.

    “5 IPCs if the convoy in sea zone 125 is free of Axis warships, Archangel is controlled by the Soviet Union, and there are no units belonging to other Allied powers present in any territories originally controlled by the Soviet Union. Theme: National prestige and access to Allied Lend-Lease material.”

    Has a clarification been issued on this point? Reading the rule text it seems that a nation not at war with USSR can affect their NOs, which is counter intuitive.

  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    Germany and Italy both are Axis powers. So yes, any Axis warship wil cancel that bonus. It does not matter that Germany is not at war with SU, yet, when Italy is.

  • Official Answers

    Since it is Lend-Lease, think of it as Germany sinking supply ships belonging to the other Allies, which has nothing to do with being at war with the USSR.

  • 2019 2017 2016

    Question. ANZAC has sea units in SZ20, which is a Kami zone. It wants to do an amphibious assault to Kiangsi from that sea zone. If I’m reading it right, ANZAC’s sea units can’t move on combat movement to escape the Kami even though there’s no reason for them to participate in sea combat. Now let’s say there’s 2CVs and 2 DDs. Both CVs and one DD are attacked by Kamis and one is hit once and damaged, other CV is missed and the DD is hit and sunk. Can any or all remaining units move on non combat movement? Or does it count as participating in combat? Only the DD?

  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    Kamikaze strikes “are resolved before any combat begins”. Kamikaze itself is not a sea battle and not part of the rulebook’s Combat Sequence. So Kamikaze strikes do not prevent ships from moving during noncombat move phase, provided the ships have not moved before or been part of a maybe subsequent sea battle.

    In your scenario the Destroyers and Carriers have neither moved nor participated in combat during that turn, so they may move during noncombat move phase.

Log in to reply

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys