Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    The presence of an enemy submarine does not make the seazone hostile. So the “Sea units starting in hostile seazones-rules” do not apply.

    But from the FAQ we read:

    Q. If some of my units begin my turn in a sea zone with enemy submarines and/or transports and I decide to attack them, can I move some or all of my units out of the sea zone in combat movement to avoid having them participate in the combat?

    A. Yes. Even though the sea zone is not hostile (it contains no enemy surface warships), you can still move units from the sea zone in combat movement to escape combat if you’re attacking there. However, you must still respect the rules for moving units in the Combat Move phase to escape combat.

    This means that in the situation in question, units leaving the sea zone in combat movement to avoid participation in the attack can actually end their movement in friendly zones, so transports that are leaving don’t have to participate in an amphibious assault.

    In case you decide to engage the submarine you can do it, but every unit in that seazone that did not perform an alternative combat move will be part of the battle then.

    A transport can also load to perform an amphibious assault. It needs an escort in case it unloads in a seazone that contains an enemy submarine.


  • Official Answers

    @weddingsinger said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    The main issue is ships must move on the combat move phase rather than wait for non combat and if the zone becomes a combat zone, you couldn’t pass through it while making moves on the combat turn.

    The latter part of this statement (in italics) isn’t true. Even though combat will be occurring, the zone is still friendly, so there is no hindrance to moving through it in combat movement.


  • Official Answers

    @Panther said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    A transport can also load to perform an amphibious assault.

    To be clear, this is the only case in which a transport could load in this situation, as loading in combat movement is allowed only for an amphibious assault. If the transport is simply moving away to avoid combat, it may not load.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    But what if there’s a cruiser with transport ?
    The transport should be able to load in combat and go to another territory Subs should not block any surface ships. If Cruiser stays then its Combat with sub but transport left before the cruiser stayed or was determined it was staying to attack


  • 2019 2017 2016

    @weddingsinger said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Pardon, but if there is an enemy submarine, I thought we can’t load the transport because its tagged as a combat zone?

    I thought you’d have to leave the sea zone with the transport, then load.

    Nup. You can load the transport on combat movement. If there’s no combat, you can also load it on non combat movement.

    It’s a friendly sea zone because it contains no enemy surface warships. You can load units in any friendly sea zone. I can look that up if you need it.


  • 2019 2017 2016

    Oh right. I see others have already answered.

    @Panther said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    This means that in the situation in question, units leaving the sea zone in combat movement to avoid participation in the attack can actually end their movement in friendly zones, so transports that are leaving don’t have to participate in an amphibious assault.

    Am I getting confused? If there’s only a sub opposing you, the rules about starting in a hostile sea zone don’t apply. So the transport could only leave if it was conducting an amphibious assault somewhere. Assume you’re following black letter law.

    Pretty sure we discussed that not long ago.

    @SS-GEN said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    But what if there’s a cruiser with transport ?
    The transport should be able to load in combat and go to another territory Subs should not block any surface ships. If Cruiser stays then its Combat with sub but transport left before the cruiser stayed or was determined it was staying to attack

    A friendly cruiser? That changes nothing. The transport can’t move on combat movement unless it’s conducting an amphibious assault or leaving a hostile sea zone, as with all transports and the latter rule doesn’t apply.


  • Official Answers

    @simon33 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Am I getting confused?

    Maybe.

    If there’s only a sub opposing you, the rules about starting in a hostile sea zone don’t apply.

    Correct.

    So the transport could only leave if it was conducting an amphibious assault somewhere. Assume you’re following black letter law.

    Nope. The FAQ entry @Panther quoted above allows units in this situation to move away from the sea zone in combat movement even if they are moving to a friendly zone, just as if the original zone were hostile. The key is that the rules for moving in combat movement to escape combat apply. These are outlined at the top of page 13 in the Europe Rulebook, and state that units doing so may end their move in a friendly sea zone.

    The implication for transports is that they may move away without participating in an amphibious assault. However, they may not load, since a transport may load in combat movement only when participating in an amphibious assault.


  • 2019 2017 2016

    Ok. Thanks for that. That’s an improvement.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    Sorry didn’t mean to cause more confusion.
    So if it’s a Cruiser instead of a transport, the Cruiser can leave same sea zone as sub in combat move then ?


  • Official Answers

    Yes, as long as other units are attacking the sub. Of course, if you’re not attacking the sub, there’s no reason for the cruiser to leave in combat movement, other than to attack somewhere else.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    @Krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Yes, as long as other units are attacking the sub. Of course, if you’re not attacking the sub, there’s no reason for the cruiser to leave in combat movement, other than to attack somewhere else.

    Right but then the transport should get same move. That’s like a double standard is my point.
    Should be the same for all ships leaving sz to another combat whether transport loaded or not.


  • Official Answers

    It is the same for all sea units leaving to attack somewhere else, as they behave normally. It’s only different for transports leaving to not attack somewhere else. It’s the price you pay for attacking the sub.


  • 2018 2017 2016

    Therefor prep your self and load your TT’s when a sub is arround.😉


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    @Krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    It is the same for all sea units leaving to attack somewhere else, as they behave normally. It’s only different for transports leaving to not attack somewhere else. It’s the price you pay for attacking the sub.

    So this tells me a transport can load and leave in combat to attack somewhere else

    So basically it’s a form of a combat when Transports load in same sea zone as sub but can’t leave. Don’t agree with that. But of course this is for thaaaattttt g40 game.


  • Official Answers

    @SS-GEN said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    So this tells me a transport can load and leave in combat to attack somewhere else

    Yes, if the sea zone is friendly, as it would be if only enemy subs and/or transports are there.

    So basically it’s a form of a combat when Transports load in same sea zone as sub but can’t leave. Don’t agree with that. But of course this is for thaaaattttt g40 game.

    I don’t understand what you’re saying here. Why can’t they leave? The sea zone is friendly, so they can do whatever they want. The only restrictions are that if the sub is being attacked, they must either leave or participate in that attack , and if they leave they can’t load unless they’re making an amphibious assault.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    @Krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @SS-GEN said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    So this tells me a transport can load and leave in combat to attack somewhere else

    Yes, if the sea zone is friendly, as it would be if only enemy subs and/or transports are there.

    So basically it’s a form of a combat when Transports load in same sea zone as sub but can’t leave. Don’t agree with that. But of course this is for thaaaattttt g40 game.

    I don’t understand what you’re saying here. Why can’t they leave? The sea zone is friendly, so they can do whatever they want. The only restrictions are that if the sub is being attacked, they must either leave or participate in that attack , and if they leave they can’t load unless they’re making an amphibious assault.

    The sub is not being attacked. What I read was if I’m correct if the transport wants to load and leave it can’t because of the sub. Then I’m not reading right. Ok. Then



  • I have a question regarding amphibious assaults that came up in my last game:

    I was playing Germany and I was going to conduct an amphibious assault against London. I had 3 transports off the coast of Norway that loaded 2 infantry and moved into the channel with a battleship, a cruiser, and an aircraft carrier supporting. In the channel was 1 destroyer. Since in the rules it states when conducting an amphibious assault you must make the sea zone you conduct it from friendly through a naval combat, and that when conducting an amphibious assault you may load troops from any territory along your transport’s movement path, am I able to load 3 tanks and 1 additional infantry from Normandy onto my transports and have them participate in the amphibious assault after my ships have destroyed the destroyer?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    @Joziu you need to bring all loaded Transports with your ships together into the sz with defending destroyer. Then UK can scramble fighters to that naval battle too. Conduct naval combat. If you win naval battle and have Transports still alive then you can do amphibious assault. Somebody will explain in better detail soon


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @Joziu Welcome to the forum. 🙂

    All amphibious assault related movement must be done during the Combat Move Phase. That means that all transports that will unload for the amphibious assault after the sea battle have to load and move during the Combat Move Phase phase. So that occurs before the sea battle starts. Those loaded transports will be part of the sea battle then and may unload into the hostile territory after the sea battle has ended successfully.

    In your scenario you would not be able to load the units from Normandy as during Combat Move Phase SZ 110 is hostile due to the enemy destroyer - and you are not allowed to load transports in hostile seazones (an exception to that rule doesn’t match here).



  • Hello,
    I’m a fairly new player, and got right into the Global edition after playing a few times on 1942.

    I just wanted to get some clarification on something.

    Can unescorted transports that are loaded naval invade an enemy zone during the combat move?
    Regardless of if there are ships in the sea zone or not, or troops stationed in the land zone or not?

    Thanks to all.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    @Aven Good day.
    A Transport can only unload (attack amphibiously) into an enemy territory in Combat Movement . The territory does not need to be Occupied. If it is, then combat takes place.
    Non Combat is only for unloading into a Friendly territory.
    I hope this answers your question. Ask again, if I habe not answered, however.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @Aven said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Can unescorted transports that are loaded naval invade an enemy zone during the combat move?
    Regardless of if there are ships in the sea zone or not, or troops stationed in the land zone or not?

    A transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing one or more ignored enemy submarines unless at least one warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.

    In case there are enemy surface warships present in the seazone, the seazone is hostile and must be cleared before unloading the transport for an amphibious assault.

    Welcome to the forum 🙂



  • @Wittmann @Panther Thank your for your assistance.

    So that means a convoy would be able to naval invade with/without combat ship assistance given that there are no enemy ships in the sea zone?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    @Aven a Transport can amphibiously invade a territory, if the Sea Zone is empty, yes.
    It can go, unescorted, should you wish.
    That is , as long as there is not an Air Base adjacent to the Sea Zone and a Fighter or Tactical Ft could scramble and Attack the Transport, of course.



  • @Wittmann Thank you for that clarification. 🙂


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

50
Online

13.6k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts