Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

  • 2022

    @krieghund Hello so am told you are the final answer when it comes to rule interpretations! By the way thank you so much for your work on this incredible game. It has brought me countless hours of entertainment. I have a question for you. Let’s say there is a destroyer built in sea zone around Japan by an American IC in Korea and there is a large Japanese fleet there (in same sea zone) including transports. I know the Japanese transports cannot load from Japan in combat movement due to the presence of the destroyer. Assuming the Japan fleet stays put including the transports and wins the sea battle, can Japanese land units then load onto the transports ( but not offload) from Japan during noncombat?

  • Official Q&A

    @jkeller said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @krieghund Hello so am told you are the final answer when it comes to rule interpretations! By the way thank you so much for your work on this incredible game. It has brought me countless hours of entertainment.

    That’s good to know!

    @jkeller said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    I have a question for you. Let’s say there is a destroyer built in sea zone around Japan by an American IC in Korea and there is a large Japanese fleet there (in same sea zone) including transports. I know the Japanese transports cannot load from Japan in combat movement due to the presence of the destroyer. Assuming the Japan fleet stays put including the transports and wins the sea battle, can Japanese land units then load onto the transports ( but not offload) from Japan during noncombat?

    No, they cannot. They were involved in combat, so they are not eligible to act during noncombat movement. From page 22 of the Pacific Rulebook (Phase 4: Noncombat Move):

    Transports can move to friendly coastal territories and load or offload cargo, unless they loaded, moved, offloaded, or were involved in combat during the Combat Move or Conduct Combat phase.

  • 2022

    @krieghund Thank you so much for the quick response!

  • 2022

    i still dont have a good grasp of these sea rules in this version. Can transport load in combat move with a sub in the sea zone? can it offload in a seazone with a lone sub?

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Yes, subs can be ignored during combat movement and noncombat movement nor do they block loading or unloading of transports. (page 13, bottom paragraph)

    The exception is amphibious assaults - by transport(s) only - over sub(s) that are in the destination sea zone (unescorted transports can go over subs in other seazones on the way) are not allowed. You just need one escorting warship (which could just be a sub) to overcome this, and you can still ignore the defending subs. (page 16 under transports)


  • Are land units with 2 move allowed to Non-Combat move onto friendly neutral through a friendly neutral that was captured this turn.

    Ex, let’s imagine that west india had a mech infantry in addition to the regular infantry, would you be able to move the indian infantry to east persia then move the mech to persia? What if it was only a single mech? Could you take east persia+Persia on a single NCM?

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @ussgordoncaptain

    By the rulebook (Europe 1940 2ed, page 10):
    “Friendly neutrals … … They can be moved into (but
    not through)
    as a noncombat move by land units of a
    power that is at war (see “Noncombat Move,” page 22).
    This moves the territory out of its neutral status at the
    end of the Noncombat Move phase”.

    So the answer is “No”.

    You’d need to move the mech infantry and the regular infantry at the same time.
    The mech infantry can’t “move through”.


  • Can German troops Enter Italian controlled eastern poland while germany is not at war with russia (and therefore collect the 5 IPC national objective)

    thanks Panther

  • '19 '17 '16

    @panther said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @ussgordoncaptain

    By the rulebook (Europe 1940 2ed, page 10):
    “Friendly neutrals … … They can be moved into (but
    not through)
    as a noncombat move by land units of a
    power that is at war (see “Noncombat Move,” page 22).
    This moves the territory out of its neutral status at the
    end of the Noncombat Move phase”.

    So the answer is “No”.

    You’d need to move the mech infantry and the regular infantry at the same time.
    The mech infantry can’t “move through”.

    Can I just ask a follow on question here. I know all combat movement happens simultaneously, but does the same apply for NCM? So what stops one unit from claiming the friendly neutral while another unit moves 2 through the territory after the first unit claimed it?

    Would appear to be a loophole but I don’t see why it doesn’t apply.

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @simon33 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @panther said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @ussgordoncaptain

    By the rulebook (Europe 1940 2ed, page 10):
    “Friendly neutrals … … They can be moved into (but
    not through)
    as a noncombat move by land units of a
    power that is at war (see “Noncombat Move,” page 22).
    This moves the territory out of its neutral status at the
    end of the Noncombat Move phase”.

    So the answer is “No”.

    You’d need to move the mech infantry and the regular infantry at the same time.
    The mech infantry can’t “move through”.

    Can I just ask a follow on question here. I know all combat movement happens simultaneously, but does the same apply for NCM? So what stops one unit from claiming the friendly neutral while another unit moves 2 through the territory after the first unit claimed it?

    Would appear to be a loophole but I don’t see why it doesn’t apply.

    The neutral territory is neutral until the end of Noncombat Move Phase (see quote above).
    So let’s assume an Infantry and a Mech enter the “first” neutral territory ‘together’. The Mech would not be able to “continue” its move as it may not go through the first territory, that still is neutral (until the end of NCM).

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @ussgordoncaptain said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Can German troops Enter Italian controlled eastern poland while germany is not at war with russia (and therefore collect the 5 IPC national objective)

    thanks Panther

    Yes, as Eastern Poland - being Italian at that time - is friendly to Germany.

  • 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15

    Japan/USA/British/ANZAC question

    End of round2: No war
    End of Japan 3: No war
    End of USA 3: USA declares war on japan
    End of British/Anzac 3: No war with japan

    Japan 4. Will a british/Anzac destroyer block a japan attack on USA or can Japan ignore it and not declear war on British/ANZAC?

    HMMMM, I think yes, they may

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Japan can ignore it because Japan is still not at war with UK/ANZAC

  • 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15

    @gamerman01 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Japan can ignore it because Japan is still not at war with UK/ANZAC

    good to get it confirmed! (and good to see you back in business)

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Thank you! Feeling good.
    I hope you’re not terrorizing your opponent TOO much with that.

  • 2022 2021 '20

    @oysteilo said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    End of British/Anzac 3: No war with japan

    Why would any Allied Player NOT declare war on Japan during Round 3? There is no detriment to declaring war at this point and there are many positives. Don’t get it??? 🤷

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Right. Unless… The allied player wanted the attack on USA so that round 4 they can do the ANZAC DOW after blocking Japan transports, but that’s far-fetched. Especially with NO’s and everything.

    Map?

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    I mean, I can’t think of any other reason off-hand


  • @gamerman01 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Yes, subs can be ignored during combat movement and noncombat movement nor do they block loading or unloading of transports. (page 13, bottom paragraph)

    The exception is amphibious assaults - by transport(s) only - over sub(s) that are in the destination sea zone (unescorted transports can go over subs in other seazones on the way) are not allowed. You just need one escorting warship (which could just be a sub) to overcome this, and you can still ignore the defending subs. (page 16 under transports)

    What if you initate combat in the SZ in question, eg move a DD in to attack the sub? Can the transport still ignore the sub and load during CM? I assume not, since the SZ is not friendly anymore?

  • 2022 2021 '20

    @myygames As long as you are loading you can ignore the sub.

  • '19 '17 '16

    Attacking units don’t make the SZ hostile.


  • Thanks, guys! I had that wrong in my mind, solves some issues for me!

  • '19 '17 '16

    Just noticed that my rules don’t have the bit about the Friendly Neutrals only moving out of Neutral status at the end of the NCM. Interesting, must have been added later.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Got a player asking if China can enter Burma before UK and Japan are at war. You would think they can’t, but I can’t find any rule that prohibits China from entering Burma before Japan/UK war status (looked in the FAQ that I have, too)

    It looks like all the rules regarding China/UK/Japan and at war issues are that Allies entering or flying over China is considered an act of war by Japan, but not vice-versa.

    Am I missing something? It seems wrong that China and UK can share a territory when UK is not at war with Japan. Thanks

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @gamerman01

    No, you don’t miss anything.

    China and UK are allied from the beginning of the game. The Burma (and Kwangtung)-exception allows Chinese movement into (only) these (allied) UK territories. That is the rule that is part of the “China Rules” and this is totally independent from any status of war/political situation between UK and Japan or whomever, as you pointed out correctly.

    So this actually isn’t a rules question but rather a question of “game design”, that maybe @Krieghund has an answer to.

Suggested Topics

  • 1
  • 7
  • 3
  • 5
  • 6
  • 58
  • 2
  • 120
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

44
Online

16.3k
Users

38.0k
Topics

1.6m
Posts