Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    @Charles-de-Gaulle I am afraid not. See the example above.

  • 2021

    @Imperious-Leader Can the US upgrade their minor as Major and use them when they declare war on the Axis, thus build 10 units(instead of 3) in any of their factories at the End of their turn of round 3 or do they have to wait until round 4 to build the 10 units in any of said factories?

  • '19 '17 '16

    @Nolimit said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @Imperious-Leader Can the US upgrade their minor as Major and use them when they declare war on the Axis, thus build 10 units(instead of 3) in any of their factories at the End of their turn of round 3 or do they have to wait until round 4 to build the 10 units in any of said factories?

    If you upgrade the IC, you can’t use the upgraded capability that turn - you need to wait until next turn.

  • 2021

    @simon33 Tanks, I’m assuming that means the minor factories being upgraded for Free at the End of round 3 also but still have to wait until round 4 to use them as Major factories?

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15

    the factories are upgraded when axis (japan) declare war (on India and or anzac)

    However, you may upgrade prior to that while at peace. Why would you do that?

  • 2021

    @oysteilo Japan didn’t declare War on the Western Powers, all I’m asking is if my Free upgraded factories kick in at the End of round 3 for use or have to wait until round 4 to build 10 units…

  • 2021 2020

    @Nolimit said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @oysteilo Japan didn’t declare War on the Western Powers, all I’m asking is if my Free upgraded factories kick in at the End of round 3 for use or have to wait until round 4 to build 10 units…

    You have to wait till the Industrial Complex has already been upgraded at the beginning of your Turn.

    From Axis & Allies Pacific 1940 2nd Edition Rulebook - Page 22 (BOLD added by me)

    The number of combat (land, air, or sea) units that can be produced by each industrial complex each turn is limited to 10 for major industrial complexes and 3 for minor ones. (If you are upgrading a minor industrial complex to a major one, you may still only mobilize up to 3 combat units from that industrial complex this turn.)

  • '17 '16 '15 Organizer '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    Upgrades are just free, like anything else you build or upgrade YOU NEED TO WAIT TILL THE END OF THE TURN FOR THEM TO APPEAR OR TAKE EFFECT. SO YOU WAIT TILL NEXT TURN TO BUILD 10 UNITS.

  • '19 '17 '16

    Also the 3rd turn DOW by USA happens after place units so you certainly can’t use the major ICs which haven’t been upgraded yet in the place units phase.


  • I have a few rules clarification questions for Europe, Pacific, and Global 2E:

    1.) Under what circumstances can you place a control marker on an allied power’s territory and collect IPC income for it? If USA or UK invades Morocco after Germany has taken France, can either USA or UK place their control marker on Morocco and collect income for it? Does Germany or Italy have to already have previous conquered Morocco in this example?

    2.) If Anzac liberates a pacific island owned by the UK pacific economy from Japan, who’s control marker goes on the territory, and who collects income for it when: A. Calcutta has not fallen or B. Calcutta has fallen?

    3.) I know a power can use airbases and navy yards of an allied power, but can a power purchase and place navy or airbases on a territory owned by an allied power?

    4a.) If a naval force with transports moves into a sea zone with only enemy transports, can battleships or destroyers still conduct shore bombardment? Can you designate one navel unit for a sea combat against the enemy transports and have other naval units participate in shore bombardment?

    4b.) Same as question 4, but with only enemy submarines in the sea zone in question.

    5.) If a power does not control both sides of straits of Gibraltar at start of a turn, but conquers both Morocco and Gibraltar during combat, can naval ships that have unused movement pass through the straights of Gibraltar during non combat movement? Does the same applied to the Suez Canal?

  • 2020

    @greyleaf3 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    I have a few rules clarification questions for Europe, Pacific, and Global 2E:

    1.) Under what circumstances can you place a control marker on an allied power’s territory and collect IPC income for it? If USA or UK invades Morocco after Germany has taken France, can either USA or UK place their control marker on Morocco and collect income for it? Does Germany or Italy have to already have previous conquered Morocco in this example?

    2.) If Anzac liberates a pacific island owned by the UK pacific economy from Japan, who’s control marker goes on the territory, and who collects income for it when: A. Calcutta has not fallen or B. Calcutta has fallen?

    3.) I know a power can use airbases and navy yards of an allied power, but can a power purchase and place navy or airbases on a territory owned by an allied power?

    4a.) If a naval force with transports moves into a sea zone with only enemy transports, can battleships or destroyers still conduct shore bombardment? Can you designate one navel unit for a sea combat against the enemy transports and have other naval units participate in shore bombardment?

    4b.) Same as question 4, but with only enemy submarines in the sea zone in question.

    5.) If a power does not control both sides of straits of Gibraltar at start of a turn, but conquers both Morocco and Gibraltar during combat, can naval ships that have unused movement pass through the straights of Gibraltar during non combat movement? Does the same applied to the Suez Canal?

    1. Can only place a control marker and collect income of the territory if allied capital is enemy-controlled and you are capturing it from enemy. The territory returns to ally after you liberate its capital.

    2. If India is allied-controlled, uk pacific gets it. If India is axis-controlled, the capturing allied Power gets it.

    3. No

    4. You can either attack the subs/transports or bombard. Not both. Destroyers can never bombard.

    5. Your faction must control any strait at the beginning of your turn for ships to use it. Exception: any submarine(s) can traverse Gibraltar strait at any time.


  • @colt45554 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Your faction must control any strait at the beginning of your turn for ships to use it. Exception: any submarine(s) can traverse Gibraltar strait at any time.

    Thanks so much for the speed an comprehensive reply!
    I meant to say “Cruiser” and not destroyer in the question regarding amphibious assault,
    One follow up question: If I have air units present for an amphibious assault where the sea zone has enemy transports, can I conduct short bombardment, and still designate one air unit to attack enemy transports in that same sea zone?

  • 2021 2020 '17 '15

    @greyleaf3 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @colt45554 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Your faction must control any strait at the beginning of your turn for ships to use it. Exception: any submarine(s) can traverse Gibraltar strait at any time.

    Thanks so much for the speed an comprehensive reply!
    I meant to say “Cruiser” and not destroyer in the question regarding amphibious assault,
    One follow up question: If I have air units present for an amphibious assault where the sea zone has enemy transports, can I conduct short bombardment, and still designate one air unit to attack enemy transports in that same sea zone?

    No, if there is a combat in a zone, then all of your units that are in that zone and able to participate must participate in the combat.


  • @snigg
    Thanks again.

    One more Question: In AAG40.2, AAE40.2, and AAP40.2, can you only scramble from island territories? Can Italy scramble fighters from northern or southern italy to defend ships in the adjacent sea zone? can UK scramble fighters to defend ships in its adjacent sea zones?

  • 2021 2020

    @greyleaf3 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @snigg
    Thanks again.

    One more Question: In AAG40.2, AAE40.2, and AAP40.2, can you only scramble from island territories? Can Italy scramble fighters from northern or southern italy to defend ships in the adjacent sea zone? can UK scramble fighters to defend ships in its adjacent sea zones?

    Any airbase can scramble up to 3 fighters into an adjacent sea zone. So yes for London and Rome and yes for Northern Italy if an airbase has been built there.

  • 2020

    i remember when I first read the rules I thought it meant any territory with an operable air base or an island. Imagine my surprise in my first online game when I stacked SZ96 UK1, thinking I could scramble from Malta. Oysteilo crunched me!

    Must always have an operable air base to scramble

  • 2020

    An important clarification from your question: you mention “defending ships” for the scramble. You can scramble a SZ even if your faction does not have defending ships.

    Also if it wasn’t clear, any territory with air base can be scrambled from, not just islands with air bases.

  • '19 '17 '16

    @colt45554 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    i remember when I first read the rules I thought it meant any territory with an operable air base or an island. Imagine my surprise in my first online game when I stacked SZ96 UK1, thinking I could scramble from Malta. Oysteilo crunched me!

    Must always have an operable air base to scramble

    First edition had some funny rules about scrambling from islands. Maybe you are getting confused with that?

  • 2020

    @simon33 I’ve never played or seen first edition. G402E was first A&A I ever played, then bought. Couldn’t play it much tho because friends’ moderate interest in it faded. So I wasn’t mixing up versions’ rules but I was playing the game incorrectly till I got here. These forums helped clear all that up!


  • @colt45554 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @simon33 I’ve never played or seen first edition. G402E was first A&A I ever played, then bought. Couldn’t play it much tho because friends’ moderate interest in it faded. So I wasn’t mixing up versions’ rules but I was playing the game incorrectly till I got here. These forums helped clear all that up!

    Yeah so when @simon33 said that “first edition had some weird rules surrounding scrambling from islands”, I think he means Pacific and Europe 1st edition? Because A&A classic (Milton Bradley 1984/87) doesn’t have any rules regarding aircraft scrambling.

    @colt45554: Yeah Europe and Pacific or Global19402E are not good products for introducing new players or casual players. Even veteran board game lovers will be discouraged by the sheer scope and complexity of it. I find myself longing for a slight shorter, slightly less complex game. I though A&A Revised (2004) was the right mix of depth and complexity without being overwhelming.

  • '19 '17 '16

    @greyleaf3 There is always what Triple-A calls v5, preferably with the setup update known as 42.3. Weakens Germany a bit. Probably not too complex to introduce people to and shorter game play. Really, an update of revised to include cruisers and a few other things so not so huge a leap to Global as compared to from 1941.

  • Sponsor

    Can a Romanian factory place a transport in sea zone 100 while the Turkish strait is closed?

  • 2021 2020 '17 '15

    @young-grasshopper sure…they just can’t leave the zone until the strait is opened.

  • Sponsor

    @snigg that’s what I thought, thanks

  • 2021

    @young-grasshopper Just build a Battleship why don’t cha- Throoow your Ipcs away!!!😏

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

49
Online

15.3k
Users

36.5k
Topics

1.5m
Posts