Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)


  • 2019 2017 '16

    Looks like if Germany don’t DOW on USSR but leave one of their subs in SZ125, even though Italy does DOW, then USSR loses the lend lease bonus.

    Rule:
    “5 IPCs if the convoy in sea zone 125 is free of Axis warships, Archangel is controlled by the Soviet Union, and there are no units belonging to other Allied powers present in any territories originally controlled by the Soviet Union. Theme: National prestige and access to Allied Lend-Lease material.”

    Has a clarification been issued on this point? Reading the rule text it seems that a nation not at war with USSR can affect their NOs, which is counter intuitive.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @simon33
    Germany and Italy both are Axis powers. So yes, any Axis warship wil cancel that bonus. It does not matter that Germany is not at war with SU, yet, when Italy is.


  • Official Q&A

    Since it is Lend-Lease, think of it as Germany sinking supply ships belonging to the other Allies, which has nothing to do with being at war with the USSR.


  • 2019 2017 '16

    Question. ANZAC has sea units in SZ20, which is a Kami zone. It wants to do an amphibious assault to Kiangsi from that sea zone. If I’m reading it right, ANZAC’s sea units can’t move on combat movement to escape the Kami even though there’s no reason for them to participate in sea combat. Now let’s say there’s 2CVs and 2 DDs. Both CVs and one DD are attacked by Kamis and one is hit once and damaged, other CV is missed and the DD is hit and sunk. Can any or all remaining units move on non combat movement? Or does it count as participating in combat? Only the DD?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @simon33
    Kamikaze strikes “are resolved before any combat begins”. Kamikaze itself is not a sea battle and not part of the rulebook’s Combat Sequence. So Kamikaze strikes do not prevent ships from moving during noncombat move phase, provided the ships have not moved before or been part of a maybe subsequent sea battle.

    In your scenario the Destroyers and Carriers have neither moved nor participated in combat during that turn, so they may move during noncombat move phase.


  • 2017

    If Italy declares war on Russia and blitzes E. Poland to Baltic. Than next turn, Germany doesn’t declare war on Russia and it’s not turn 4. Germany just places 1 inf in E. Poland to act as a blocker, but moves all of it’s stack to the Italian tank in Baltic. Triplea lets Russia move 1 infantry into E. Poland that is simultaneously occupied with 1 German infantry while not at war in order to retake it. So you have a situation with 1 German infantry and 1 Russian infantry in the same territory. Is Russia permitted to do so, or must it declare war on Germany and roll combat dice?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @Ichabod The “Powers not at War with One Another”-rules on page 15, European rulebook, state:
    "Combat: A power can’t attack a territory controlled by or containing units belonging to a power with
    which it is not at war. "

    So that Russian move is not allowed. Russia must declare war to Germany first and is then allowed to perform this Combat Move.

    TripleA/the Global 1940 map has it in its game notes:
    “(PE) You may not attack a territory containing units owned by a nation that you are not at war with (even if the territory is owned by someone you are at war with).”



  • As China’s capital, Shanghai, is occupied by the Japanese can the USA capture a Chinese territory from Japan, Manchuria, and build an American industrial complex on it? Also where would the income go - China or USA —- and what about new Chinese troops be “built” in Manchuria ?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @Cloudesley From the Pacific 1940.2 rulebook, page 10:

    Unlike the other powers in the game, China is not an
    industrialized nation and has a rural economy and
    decentralized government. As a result, China does not have
    a capital like other powers do. If all Chinese territories are
    captured by Japan, China retains its unspent IPCs in hope
    of liberation and does not give them to Japan. In addition,
    China may spend IPCs only to purchase infantry units
    (with one exception, see below) and does not use industrial
    complexes. New Chinese units can be mobilized on any
    Chinese territory that is controlled by China, including
    those captured in the current turn. If a Japanese industrial
    complex is built on a Chinese territory and that territory is
    later recaptured by the Chinese or liberated by another Allied
    power, the industrial complex is removed from the game.
    China is not subject to convoy disruptions (see “Conduct
    Convoy Disruptions,” page 22).

    That should answer your questions. Note that USA can only liberate Chinese territories for China.
    Please ask if anything remains unclear.
    I have moved your question to the Q+A thread by the way.



  • @Panther Thanks for the prompt reply!


  • 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15

    The typical situation is to have a british destroyer in sea zone 37 at end of round 1. In round two Japan places a bunch of war ships in that sea zone (37), but does not declare war. In round two the british declares war on Japan and now my question/what I dont understand. Is it legal for the destroyer to escape even though it does not have any combat elsewhere or is it forced to fight? Everyone is moving out, but I am not sure why it is legal.

    Also, what if you have a transport in the same sea zone. Are you allowed to load men from malaya on combat and then move this out while declaring war? Even though the transport is not unloading during combat? I dont think so.

    What is the difference between the cases if any?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    @oysteilo good day.
    Yes, the DD can move out of the SZ, avoiding combat.
    If it declares war, Yes, a British TT can load, if it is attacking amphibiously this turn. Otherwise, it must move away to avoid combat, without loading and its turn will be over.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @oysteilo said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Is it legal for the destroyer to escape even though it does not have any combat elsewhere or is it forced to fight? Everyone is moving out, but I am not sure why it is legal.

    It is one of the options given by the “Sea Units starting in Hostile Seazones”-rules, Rulebook Pacific 1940.2, page 13:
    " - Leave the sea zone and conduct no combat."

    @oysteilo said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    Also, what if you have a transport in the same sea zone. Are you allowed to load men from malaya on combat and then move this out while declaring war? Even though the transport is not unloading during combat? I dont think so.

    See the “Declaring War”-box on page 11:

    “Once a state of war is entered into, all territories and sea zones controlled by or containing units belonging to the power or powers on which you declared war instantly become hostile to your units, and the normal restrictions of moving into or through hostile spaces apply, with one exception. During your Combat Move phase in which you entered into a state of war, your transports that are already in sea zones that have just become hostile may be loaded in those sea zones (but not in other hostile sea zones). In effect, transports may be loaded in their initial sea zones for amphibious assaults before war is declared, while the sea zone is still friendly.”

    The exception here is that the transport may load during combat move phase in a seazone that becomes hostile due to the DOW. Usually transports may not load in hostile seazones.
    However, when loading during combat move phase the transport must unload during the same phase for an amphibious assault, as @Wittmann correctly explained.


  • 2019 2018 2017 '16

    Is a Submarine considered as a Warship, if so is it able to ignore an enemy Sub for the reason to let a TT conduct an amphib assault???

    Situation is: Enemy Allied Sub sharing the same seazone with two Axis TT’S, two Subs, a DD and a CR.

    CR,DD,two one Sub one TT moving out in combat Phase. Remaing TT moves out to load units and comes back in to perform an amphib assault.
    Attacker decides to ignore enemy Sub to offload units.
    Is this ok?
    Thanks in advance!


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    @aequitas-et-veritas it is. As long as one Sub is there to escort the TT, the landing can go ahead. The defending Sub can’t stop it.

    If the SZ contains a scrambling Ft or Tac, the TT could be attacked and the Sub surfaces to fight, however.
    Hope you have been well my friend.


  • 2019 2018 2017 '16

    @Wittmann thank you for your prompt answer!


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '12

    Hey Krieg, this is gonna sounds dumb for someone like me to ask, but has the Italy DOW against USSR, takes E. Poland and then Germany moves into E. Poland next turn without DOW and maintaining its objective before the USSR declares war still a good play?


  • Official Q&A

    It’s legal, if that’s what you mean.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @Krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    It’s legal, if that’s what you mean.

    Yes, thanks.


  • 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15

    @Karl7 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @Krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    It’s legal, if that’s what you mean.

    Yes, thanks.

    But not legal in BM


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '12

    @oysteilo said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @Karl7 said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    @Krieghund said in Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2):

    It’s legal, if that’s what you mean.

    Yes, thanks.

    But not legal in BM

    Yeah, why I was confused.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 Customizer '13

    Ya it was a hot topic awhile ago on if it needed to be changed.


  • 2019 2018

    Concerning the Mongolian situation after an allied invasion of other strict neutrals, I find the rules a little unclear. Some questions below:

    1. If Japan attacks a Russian controlled adjacent territory, do the Mongolians still become Russian immediately as usual?
    2. If Russia attacks a Japanese controlled adjacent territory or Korea, does this mean the Mongolians will never turn Russian as usual?
    3. What happens if Japan attacks a Mongolian territory, but not an adjacent Russian territory? It Sounds like the remaining Mongolian territories would all turn pro-allies but would not immediately become Russian. Also, this would have no impact on any other neutrals since no other strict neutrals remain.
    4. What happens if Japan attacks a Mongolian territory while simultaneously attacking an adjacent Russian territory? Would the remaining Mongolians become Russian immediately, or become pro-allied?

    I noticed in TripleA that after the allied neutral crush, Japan can no longer declare war on the strict neutrals, hence it can’t attack Mongolia. I’m assuming this is just a TripleA bug and attacking Mongolia is allowed. It looks like you can get around it using edit mode to change the political relationship.


  • 2019 2018 2017 '16


  • 2019 2018 2017 '16

    If neither of the above takes place, Mongolia continues on as a strict neutral, but

    Will NOT go pro-Axis if the Allies break neutrality elsewhere
    a) Mongolia ONLY goes pro-Axis if Russia directly attacks Mongolia. This would break neutrality around the world (all strict neutrals go pro-the other side).
    i) Any OTHER Ally can attack Mongolia directly and this will break neutrality around the world, but the rest of Mongolia will stay neutral
    b) Mongolia WILL go pro-Allied if the Axis break strict neutrality anywhere, including Mongolia

    So triple a is treating it correctly since Mongolia turns into STRICT Neutral after Allies broke neutrality parties elswhere.

    HTH


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 8
  • 4
  • 39
  • 1
  • 17
  • 54
  • 28
  • 7
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

60
Online

14.6k
Users

35.2k
Topics

1.4m
Posts