Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)
@weddingsinger This is how the Axis wins the game (Rulebook, Pacific 1940.2, page 33):
The Axis wins the game by controlling either any 8 victory cities on the Europe map or any 6 victory cities on the Pacific map for a complete round of play (ending with the next turn of the Axis power that captured the final required city), as long as they control an Axis capital (Berlin, Rome, or Tokyo) at the end of that round.
So yes, the side of the board matters.
If you have armour in FIC & mechs in Hunan and Yunnan is Chinese controlled, can you move those units into Yunnan then blitz into Shan State or Burma? My guess is no because they way the accompanying blitz is described in the rulebook only allows for the mech starting in the same territory as the tank. Has this question been asked before? I’ve actually been wondering it for a while.
@simon33 Good morning.
You can’t do that.
Both units need to start in the same territory and travel through an empty territory together, then on to a second one together, be it empty or occupied.
@simon33 So you did guess correctly.
weddingsinger last edited by
Can submarines move into an enemy seazone that contains destroyers on the non-combat phase?
@weddingsinger Yes, as Combat is over .
@weddingsinger Yes, but it must end its movement there.
Rulebook Pacific 1940.2, page 32:
Treat Hostile Sea Zones as Friendly: A submarine can move through a sea zone that contains enemy units, either in combat or
noncombat movement. However, if a submarine enters a sea zone containing an enemy destroyer, it must end its movement
there. If it ends its combat move in a hostile sea zone, combat will occur.
That’s like a double standard. It blocks sub from moving through ( as a combat situation ) but not combat. Crazy
Crazier to let the subs through though. I think it’s an odd rule and counter intuitive, but it’s there. Intuitively, you’d think that you can’t move into a hostile sea zone on non combat even with subs.
Ya but this is for g40 game. I’ll have to bow out of this discussion. It wouldn’t take much to change this mostly the right way. BUT
Need some clarification on Strategic bombing and scrambling. Here is the scenario UK wants to attack German navy in SZ 112 off W Germ and they want to prevent the Germ air (3 FTRs) from scrambling, if the UK sends a strat bomber to bomb the airbase and the rest of the UK airforce and navy attack 112 what is the timing of things?
a. Germany can choose to scramble available air into either the sea zone OR to defend airbase OR split them (2 to defend AB, 1 to SZ)
b. Germany has to wait to see if the bombing raid is successful and if it is, can’t scramble any air to defend the SZ
Bombing occurs after scrambling.
@cond1024 Scrambling (as a defender’s move) occurs at the very end of the (attacker’s) Combat Move Phase, after the attacker has completed his combat moves and announced all attacks.
Strategic Bombing occurs later, at the beginning of the Conduct Combat Phase.
If you're having problems, please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org