Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @aequitas:

    The Allied Player attacked Portugal and Spain on his turn as the US and flew planes over Spain to Yugoslavia.

    Doing so implies a sort of order in combat movements, such as:

    First combat movement: Attack Spain so Spain is no longer neutral.
    afterwards:
    Second combat movement: Fly over Spain to attack Yugoslavia.

    As written above “All combat movement is considered to take place at the same time.” (Rulebook Europe, page 13).
    So the implied order is not possible.

    At the start of the combat movement phase and before all combat moves Spain is neutral. Now all combat moves occur simultaneously.

    And Spain losing its neutrality is a consequence of a combat move.

  • 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

    Thank you Panther for clarifying it.

  • 2022 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '12

    if a defender scrams a ftr into a sz in which defender has a sub making the sea zone hostile to amphibious attack, can the attacker ignore the sub in round 2 of combat round if the attacker kills the fighter in round one?

    Point being, without the defending fighter, the sub could be ignored.  If the fighter is killed, can the sub then be ignored, or once encountered it must be fought until it is destroyed or submerges?


  • @Karl7:

    if a defender scrams a ftr into a sz in which defender has a sub making the sea zone hostile to amphibious attack, can the attacker ignore the sub in round 2 of combat round if the attacker kills the fighter in round one?

    Point being, without the defending fighter, the sub could be ignored.  If the fighter is killed, can the sub then be ignored, or once encountered it must be fought until it is destroyed or submerges?

    it must be fought  😛


  • @P@nther:

    @aequitas:

    The Allied Player attacked Portugal and Spain on his turn as the US and flew planes over Spain to Yugoslavia.

    Doing so implies a sort of order in combat movements, such as:

    First combat movement: Attack Spain so Spain is no longer neutral.
    afterwards:
    Second combat movement: Fly over Spain to attack Yugoslavia.

    As written above “All combat movement is considered to take place at the same time.” (Rulebook Europe, page 13).
    So the implied order is not possible.

    **At the start of the combat movement phase and before all combat moves Spain is neutral. Now all combat moves occur simultaneously.

    And Spain losing its neutrality is a consequence of a combat move.**

    that is it, in short terms

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @Karl7:

    if a defender scrams a ftr into a sz in which defender has a sub making the sea zone hostile to amphibious attack, can the attacker ignore the sub in round 2 of combat round if the attacker kills the fighter in round one?

    No, ignoring subs is only a combat movement issue.  Once combat begins, there is no ignoring subs/transports.

    Point being, without the defending fighter, the sub could be ignored.  If the fighter is killed, can the sub then be ignored, or once encountered it must be fought until it is destroyed or submerges?

    The latter, and see again my answer above


  • So if an Italian tank is in Italian controlled Egypt, Trans-Jordan is British controlled and has no units in it, and Iraq has not been activated, on Italy’s turn may their tank from Egypt to Trans-Jordan and into Iraq to activate it?

  • 2022 2021 '20 '17 '15

    @Tirano:

    So if an Italian tank is in Italian controlled Egypt, Trans-Jordan is British controlled and has no units in it, and Iraq has not been activated, on Italy’s turn may their tank from Egypt to Trans-Jordan and into Iraq to activate it?

    No.  Moving into Trans-Jordan has to happen during combat movement phase, and moving into Iraq would happen on non-combat movement phase.  The tank can’t move in both phases.


  • @Snigg:

    @Tirano:

    So if an Italian tank is in Italian controlled Egypt, Trans-Jordan is British controlled and has no units in it, and Iraq has not been activated, on Italy’s turn may their tank from Egypt to Trans-Jordan and into Iraq to activate it?

    No.  Moving into Trans-Jordan has to happen during combat movement phase, and moving into Iraq would happen on non-combat movement phase.  The tank can’t move in both phases.

    So you could capture Trans Jordan with another Italian unit during combat move and then move the tank to Iraq in non combat. That way the tank is still where you want it to be at the end of turn, you control both territories, and Iraq infantry will be activated.

  • 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17

    Is the Chinese Flying Tiger Fighter allowed to fly to a sea zone within range to attack Japanese ships? For instance, could the fighter based in Yunnan fly to SZ 36 to sink a lone Japanese transport? China rules on page 10 seem to indicate that it cannot.

  • 2022 2021 '20 '17 '15

    No.  Flying Tigers can not leave Chinese lands, except Hong Kong and Burma.


  • I detest that rule with a passion.  :x

    I call for revolution.

  • '19 '18

    In a sea battle where the defender has transport(s) among other combat units, if after a given combat round the attacker were to score exactly enough hits to clear the defending combat units and still have surviving attacking units, is the attacker obligated to remain in the sea zone and also kill the transport(s)?  Or does the attacker have the option to retreat and leave the transport(s) alive?

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    Morning Tizkit.
    Yes. It must, if all hits have been allocated to ships.
    No, he does not have that option. The attacker cannot retreat , if all defending units have been eliminated.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @wittmann:

    The attacker cannot retreat , if all defending units have been eliminated.

    He meant all defending units with a combat value. (all non-transports)

    Similarly, you cannot retreat from AA guns only - they are destroyed and the attacker must take over the territory with everything that’s there.


  • May Japan attack Persia (pro allies neutral) whithout declaring war on England?

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @V.:

    May Japan attack Persia (pro allies neutral) whithout declaring war on England?

    Yes, there is no such connection between attacking an unfriendly neutral and declaring war on a power in the rules.

  • '20 '19 '18

    Soviet sub and cruiser attack German cruiser and transport in SZ 113. Germans scramble two fighters. Soviets score two hits in the first round of combat, eliminating enemy cruiser and one fighter. Germans miss. This raises a couple of questions:

    1. The remaining German combat unit (a fighter) can’t hit the Soviet sub, so is the German transport now considered “defenseless” and immediately eliminated, or do the Soviets have to kill the fighter first?
    2. If the transport is immediately eliminated, can the Soviets retreat prior to a second round of combat with the remaining fighter?
  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @The:

    Soviet sub and cruiser attack German cruiser and transport in SZ 113. Germans scramble two fighters. Soviets score two hits in the first round of combat, eliminating enemy cruiser and one fighter. Germans miss. This raises a couple of questions:

    1. The remaining German combat unit (a fighter) can’t hit the Soviet sub, so is the German transport now considered “defenseless” and immediately eliminated, or do the Soviets have to kill the fighter first?
    2. If the transport is immediately eliminated, can the Soviets retreat prior to a second round of combat with the remaining fighter?

    So in a second round of combat a German fighter and transport are attacked by a Russian submarine and cruiser.
    Autodestruction of a defenseless transport takes only place if “in a sea battle… the defender has only transports remaining and the attacker still has units capable of attacking”.

    As long as there is a German fighter, the German transport won’t be autodestroyed.
    However hits of the German fighter can only be assigned to the Russian cruiser.
    Hits of the Russian submarine can only be assigned to the German transport.

    The Russians may retreat as long as there is a defending unit “that can … fire at a valid target”.
    As the German fighter may fire at the Russian cruiser, this condition is given.

  • '20 '19 '18

    @P@nther:

    @The:

    Soviet sub and cruiser attack German cruiser and transport in SZ 113. Germans scramble two fighters. Soviets score two hits in the first round of combat, eliminating enemy cruiser and one fighter. Germans miss. This raises a couple of questions:

    1. The remaining German combat unit (a fighter) can’t hit the Soviet sub, so is the German transport now considered “defenseless” and immediately eliminated, or do the Soviets have to kill the fighter first?
    2. If the transport is immediately eliminated, can the Soviets retreat prior to a second round of combat with the remaining fighter?

    So in a second round of combat a German fighter and transport are attacked by a Russian submarine and cruiser.
    Autodestruction of a defenseless transport takes only place if “in a sea battle… the defender has only transports remaining and the attacker still has units capable of attacking”.

    As long as there is a German fighter, the German transport won’t be autodestroyed.
    However hits of the German fighter can only be assigned to the Russian cruiser.
    Hits of the Russian submarine can only be assigned to the German transport.

    The Russians may retreat as long as there is a defending unit “that can … fire at a valid target”.
    As the German fighter may fire at the Russian cruiser, this condition is given.

    If I’m reading this right, the German transport would be considered defenseless, were it not for the presence of the Russian cruiser? In other words, had the Soviets attacked with sub only and scored a hit in the first round, killing the German cruiser…the scrambled fighters couldn’t hit the sub (and vice versa), so the transport would be eliminated, AND…with only fighters remaining in the SZ, the Russian sub could not retreat?

    Glad I’m sitting down, as I feel a bit lightheaded.  😄

  • '19 '17 '16

    Correct.


  • @The:

    If I’m reading this right, the German transport would be considered defenseless, were it not for the presence of the Russian cruiser? In other words, had the Soviets attacked with sub only and scored a hit in the first round, killing the German cruiser…the scrambled fighters couldn’t hit the sub (and vice versa), so the transport would be eliminated, AND…with only fighters remaining in the SZ, the Russian sub could not retreat?

    Glad I’m sitting down, as I feel a bit lightheaded.  😄

    The key to remember is you need unassigned hits to destroy the transport.  In your scenario you didn’t have any hits left to sink the cruiser, so you’d have to either retreat or stay for another round of combat.


  • What are the current national objectives for 1940 global?

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @valtteri771:

    What are the current national objectives for 1940 global?

    Those stated in the rulebook. Too much to quote it here so please see:
    https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28703.0

  • '16 '15 '10

    Having a bit of a rules dispute over how the TripleA program interprets the change from neutrality to allied b/w powers.

    The scenario is Japan declares on UK on J2.  Russia and Japan are already at war.  On USA2, USA declares on Japan/Germany/Italy.

    Should USA be able to land planes in Russia or other Allied territories on this turn (USA2) or have we been playing the game wrong up until now?

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

62
Online

16.1k
Users

37.7k
Topics

1.6m
Posts