Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)


  • '12

    Land units cannot retreat from an amphibious assault once landed.  This is a retreat from a naval battle.  The amphibious assault never happened.



  • @moralecheck:

    Land units cannot retreat from an amphibious assault once landed.  This is a retreat from a naval battle.  The amphibious assault never happened.

    OK Great… Thanks.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    There WOULD be a battle in Hawaii even though the hypothetical fighter scrambled and defended against 10 carriers which had no attack value.
    The fighters are required to attack for at least one round, even though the amphibious ground units didn’t make it to the party.

    So in this example, where the attacker clearly didn’t understand the rules or made a big oversight, the fighter scrambles.
    I’m assuming, like Krieghund did, that the fighters over Hawaii only have 1 movement point left.
    Retreating the carriers from the fighter (because it’s a losing proposition) would save the carriers and transports and ground units (at least until USA’s turn!).  They would all have to retreat 1 space to a sea zone along a path that they attacked from.
    The 20 fighters over Hawaii are doomed because there is no landing space, so the attacker should attack until all attacking or all defending units are destroyed.

    Wild Bill is mistaken in saying the land battle wouldn’t happen.  The battle in Hawaii MUST happen (at least for one full round) because the attacker legally made a combat move of 20 fighters to Hawaii.  It’s only the attacking amphibious ground units that will not be attacking Hawaii, but retreating and staying on their transport(s).



  • @Gamerman01:

    There WOULD be a battle in Hawaii even though the hypothetical fighter scrambled and defended against 10 carriers which had no attack value.
    The fighters are required to attack for at least one round, even though the amphibious ground units didn’t make it to the party.

    So in this example, where the attacker clearly didn’t understand the rules or made a big oversight, the fighter scrambles.
    I’m assuming, like Krieghund did, that the fighters over Hawaii only have 1 movement point left.
    Retreating the carriers from the fighter (because it’s a losing proposition) would save the carriers and transports and ground units (at least until USA’s turn!).  They would all have to retreat 1 space to a sea zone along a path that they attacked from.
    The 20 fighters over Hawaii are doomed because there is no landing space, so the attacker should attack until all attacking or all defending units are destroyed.

    Wild Bill is mistaken in saying the land battle wouldn’t happen.  The battle in Hawaii MUST happen (at least for one full round) because the attacker legally made a combat move of 20 fighters to Hawaii.  It’s only the attacking amphibious ground units that will not be attacking Hawaii, but retreating and staying on their transport(s).

    So what you’re saying is, after the lone Fighter on Hawaii has scrambled and defended the sea zone for at least one combat round (forcing the naval units to retreat). The 20 Japanese air units that were assigned to the land battle in Hawaii (but will eventually crash after combat)…. will get a chance to kill the single American fighter once it returns home after scrambling during the same resolve combat phase?


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    No, I’m not saying that.

    The American fighter is out in Z26.  Scrambled fighters and tacs don’t land until all combat is complete.

    I’m saying the 20 Japanese fighters can (must, for one round) attack everything else that is still left behind at Hawaii.  If there are other tacs or fighters, the USA player may want to scramble them as well to protect them from the 20 fighters (depending on the amount of USA force on Hawaii)



  • @Gamerman01:

    No, I’m not saying that.

    The American fighter is out in Z26.  Scrambled fighters and tacs don’t land until all combat is complete.

    I’m saying the 20 Japanese fighters can (must, for one round) attack everything else that is still left behind at Hawaii.  If there are other tacs or fighters, the USA player may want to scramble them as well to protect them from the 20 fighters (depending on the amount of USA force on Hawaii)

    Agreed, the original scenario said that there was only one American Fighter on Hawaii (which scrambled)… but if there was more there, the air units could engage them before they crash.



  • Hi.
    I don’t really understand rule about kamikaze.
    What if USA attacks me (Japan).

    1. do i have to declare kamikaze attack and scrambling simultaneously or one of these goes first?

    2. if i hit an AC does his fighters still participate in fight?
      AC are in that sz because attacking aircraft’s must land on it.
      If yes - do they fight till end or must they be removed first as losses?
      If no - are planes dead or they can stay in there original position before combat moves?
      thanx


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Hi cro.

    1. Pretty much simultaneously, because both declarations must be made before any dice are rolled.  (First thing in combat phase)

    2. Yes.  The fighters are in the air before you get any hits.
      Fighters may fight to the end - you may take a carrier off before the fighters, even if the fighters will then have no place to land.
      Think of it this way.  Fighters must only be guaranteed a possible place to land in the combat movement phase
      Once you’re in combat, you are free to strand fighters at will.
      The only time fighters are EVER trapped on board a carrier in combat, is a GUEST ALLIED fighter on your ATTACKING carrier.  Those are the only fighters that are NOT in the air during combat.



  • Thank you.
    We always moved planes before AC. We thought they have to have landing space all the time.
    This will be nice for different strategy.


  • Official Q&A

    Technically, since scrambling occurs at the end of the Combat Move phase and kamikaze strikes occur at the beginning of the Conduct Combat phase, scrambling occurs just before kamikaze strikes.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Krieghund:

    Technically, since scrambling occurs at the end of the Combat Move phase and kamikaze strikes occur at the beginning of the Conduct Combat phase, scrambling occurs just before kamikaze strikes.

    But practically, they’re simultaneous, right?  Would it even make a difference if different people are controlling Japan and Germany/Italy?  Is there any circumstance where it matters that scrambling occurs at the end of the combat move phase and kamikaze decisions are made at the beginning of the combat phase?


  • Official Q&A

    The only thing that’s important is that all scrambling is done before any dice are rolled for kamikaze (or anything else).  From that perspective, it’s just easier to do scrambling first.


  • TripleA

    can japan load a transport into a newly hostile seazone on their combat move, if japan declared war at the beginning of it’s turn?


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @allweneedislove:

    can japan load a transport into a newly hostile seazone on their combat move, if japan declared war at the beginning of it’s turn?

    YES.  Any nation can load transports in newly hostile seazones if the nation just declared war on that enemy at the beginning of that turn.  This is the only exception to the rule that you can’t load transports in hostile zones.



  • So happy I found this forum/thread. Lots of issues cleared up. But got a few questions needing confirmation.

    -When a country takes another’s capital, the occupying country then gets whatever ipc the country it took collected from the turn before? (Ex. Germany collected 43 ipc at the end of their turn, UK then takes Berlin, Germany then must give the UK their 43 ipc for taking their capital.)

    -When a countries capital is occupied (say France for example) but they still control other territories (Say 2 African territories worth 1 a piece), does France then collect 2 ipc per turn and put into their bank until their capital is liberated. Say Paris is liberated 10 turns later, would France have 20 ipc to spend then on their turn?

    -Say London is captured by Germany, Egypt is captured by Italy. The US then takes Egypt back while London is still occupied, could the US build a Minor IC in Egypt then? (I know if there was one there they could use it but could they build?) and to follow up if they can build one, and then London is liberated, would that factory go to the UK?

    The straight’s and Canal’s are restricted by the country who controls the designated territory (Gibralter controls the straight if Gibralter), but can subs move through canals and straights where the territory is controlled by the enemy. (Ex US controls straight of Gibralter, could Italian subs go through?


  • '12

    @Gamerman01:

    @allweneedislove:

    can japan load a transport into a newly hostile seazone on their combat move, if japan declared war at the beginning of it’s turn?

    YES.  Any nation can load transports in newly hostile seazones if the nation just declared war on that enemy at the beginning of that turn.  This is the only exception to the rule that you can’t load transports in hostile zones.

    Provided the transport started the turn in that sea zone, IIRC.  It cannot move into it and then load.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Kingpin2010:

    -When a country takes another’s capital, the occupying country then gets whatever ipc the country it took collected from the turn before? (Ex. Germany collected 43 ipc at the end of their turn, UK then takes Berlin, Germany then must give the UK their 43 ipc for taking their capital.)

    No, the conquering power takes all the cash on hand.  Ignore the income.

    -When a countries capital is occupied (say France for example) but they still control other territories (Say 2 African territories worth 1 a piece), does France then collect 2 ipc per turn and put into their bank until their capital is liberated. Say Paris is liberated 10 turns later, would France have 20 ipc to spend then on their turn?

    You can’t collect any money when your capital is in enemy hands.  Note that if you were to conquer another capital, you WOULD take their cash on hand (this isn’t income, it’s raiding)

    -Say London is captured by Germany, Egypt is captured by Italy. The US then takes Egypt back while London is still occupied, could the US build a Minor IC in Egypt then? (I know if there was one there they could use it but could they build?) and to follow up if they can build one, and then London is liberated, would that factory go to the UK?

    Yes.  Egypt would become CONTROLLED by the USA because London is in Germany’s control.  So US can treat Egypt like any controlled territory, but if London is liberated, all original UK territories (including Egypt of course) would IMMEDIATELY revert back to UK control.  If USA built any facilities in Egypt, they now belong to the UK.

    The straight’s and Canal’s are restricted by the country who controls the designated territory (Gibralter controls the straight if Gibralter), but can subs move through canals and straights where the territory is controlled by the enemy. (Ex US controls straight of Gibralter, could Italian subs go through?

    The strait of Gibraltar is the only strait or canal that enemy subs can pass through freely.

    With respect, I strongly recommend that you spend an hour reading through the instruction manuals.  The answers to these questions are very clear in the manuals.
    Glad you’re benefitting from the thread.  Ask any time.


  • 2019 2017 '16 '15 '13

    Are damaged battleships allowed to conduct shore bombardments? The Triple A game engine allows it, but I thought they weren’t.
    Thanks for any replies!


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @captain:

    Are damaged battleships allowed to conduct shore bombardments? The Triple A game engine allows it, but I thought they weren’t.
    Thanks for any replies!

    YES
    The only difference between a damaged battleship and a whole battleship, is that it only takes one hit to sink a damaged battleship



  • @Gamerman01:

    @Kingpin2010:

    -When a country takes another’s capital, the occupying country then gets whatever ipc the country it took collected from the turn before? (Ex. Germany collected 43 ipc at the end of their turn, UK then takes Berlin, Germany then must give the UK their 43 ipc for taking their capital.)

    No, the conquering power takes all the cash on hand.  Ignore the income.

    -When a countries capital is occupied (say France for example) but they still control other territories (Say 2 African territories worth 1 a piece), does France then collect 2 ipc per turn and put into their bank until their capital is liberated. Say Paris is liberated 10 turns later, would France have 20 ipc to spend then on their turn?

    You can’t collect any money when your capital is in enemy hands.  Note that if you were to conquer another capital, you WOULD take their cash on hand (this isn’t income, it’s raiding)

    -Say London is captured by Germany, Egypt is captured by Italy. The US then takes Egypt back while London is still occupied, could the US build a Minor IC in Egypt then? (I know if there was one there they could use it but could they build?) and to follow up if they can build one, and then London is liberated, would that factory go to the UK?

    Yes.  Egypt would become CONTROLLED by the USA because London is in Germany’s control.  So US can treat Egypt like any controlled territory, but if London is liberated, all original UK territories (including Egypt of course) would IMMEDIATELY revert back to UK control.  If USA built any facilities in Egypt, they now belong to the UK.

    The straight’s and Canal’s are restricted by the country who controls the designated territory (Gibralter controls the straight if Gibralter), but can subs move through canals and straights where the territory is controlled by the enemy. (Ex US controls straight of Gibralter, could Italian subs go through?

    The strait of Gibraltar is the only strait or canal that enemy subs can pass through freely.

    With respect, I strongly recommend that you spend an hour reading through the instruction manuals.  The answers to these questions are very clear in the manuals.
    Glad you’re benefitting from the thread.  Ask any time.

    Thank you. This was more of a confirmation on rules some in my group had questioned, who haven’t read the rulebook thoroughly, and some who claim to have read it and had a different interpretation.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Gamerman01:

    Think of it this way.  Fighters must only be guaranteed a possible place to land in the combat movement phase
    Once you’re in combat, you are free to strand fighters at will.

    Just thought of something.

    During combat movement you must be able to demonstrate that all of your plans could possibly land safely.
    AFTER combat, you also can’t ditch planes on purpose.
    If you can land them safely in the non-combat movement phase, you have to.


  • 2019 2017 '16 '15 '13

    If US ground forces in Amur attack Japanese held Manchuria/Korea, will that prevent the Mongolians from being activated as Russian forces?


  • 2018 2017 '16 '11 Moderator

    @captain:

    If US ground forces in Amur attack Japanese held Manchuria/Korea, will that prevent the Mongolians from being activated as Russian forces?

    America is not Russian.  Unless there have been drastic changes to the rules, and as far as I know there have not, but I do not frequent Larry Harris’ site much anymore, then no, America will not have an impact on Mongolia’s political situation.

    I believe, and this is mostly conjecture, the idea behind Mongolia was to incorporate the Russo-Japanese agreements that past versions of the game had - at times - as well as give another route for Japan to invade, should china become a quagmire.  America entering the situation should have a non-effect on the situation for Mongolia.  What do they care if the Imperialistic American Pig-dogs invade Manchuria?  :evil:


  • 2019 2017 '16 '15 '13

    Cool. I’m playing  a game and I want to get Japan to attack Amur. I need those Mongolians!


  • '13

    I am playing a league game against Tyzoq using TripleA. He had taken Iwo Jima on USA’s turn 7 with an artillery left occupying. Then on USA’s turn 8, he attempted to move a transport into the sea zone to load the artillery for a noncom move. However, the game will not let him. I can find nothing in the rules stating a kamikaze sea zone will prevent this move if he owns the island. the game will let a transport move into the zone and load during a combat move.

    Will a kamikaze sea zone prevent noncom moves for lone transports like subs do? Or is this a glitch in TripleA?

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=29424.msg1058066#msg1058066


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 15
  • 4
  • 9
  • 5
  • 23
  • 15
  • 16
  • 3
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

141
Online

14.2k
Users

34.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts