Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)


  • 2019 2017 2016

    @Ozymandiac:

    @simon33:

    Is there any impediment to landing fighters on a newly mobilised carrier when that carrier is being mobilised into a hostile sea zone?

    From the rule book:
    “You can place fighters and tactical bombers into territories containing an industrial complex controlled by your power from the start of your turn, or on an aircraft carrier owned by your power in a sea zone (even a hostile one) adjacent to a territory with such an industrial complex.”

    I was thinking of landing an existing fighter on a newly mobilised carrier.



  • @simon33:

    I was thinking of landing an existing fighter on a newly mobilised carrier.

    Sorry, I misread.

    Also from the rulebook:

    “A fighter or tactical bomber can land in a sea zone (even a hostile one) that is adjacent to an industrial complex you own if you will be mobilizing an aircraft carrier that you previously purchased in that zone during the Mobilize New Units phase.”

    So there is no impedement, you can land fighters on a carrier you will be mobilizing, even in a hostile sea zone.


  • 2019 2017 2016

    Thanks. That’s great!


  • 2017 2016 '13 '12

    In a battle, air units and submarines participate. The defending naval units are eliminated and the defender has lost all its sea units. That is, the naval part of the battle is one and the air battle continues.

    If the attacker decides to retreat, can the sub follow along? I would normally not think of this because the software would guide us through it, but I’m in a situation where I need to edit a casualty choice and restore the board.

    Thanks for your input!


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    When air units retreat, they stay in the contested zone temporarily.
    Land and naval units retreat together as prescribed by the rule book (naval units cannot retreat to a zone that was hostile at the beginning of the turn, but can retreat to any zone that any of the attacking naval units passed through)

    The answer is yes, the subs can retreat to a zone that naval units came from or passed through, but only subs that were never submerged.  The attacker could submerge the subs on any given round(s) that combat is still going on in order to keep the subs in the combat zone while the air retreats.  Each sub submerges individually, so a combination of retreating and staying could possibly be accomplished.


  • 2017 2016 '13 '12

    @Gamerman01:

    When air units retreat, they stay in the contested zone temporarily.
    Land and naval units retreat together as prescribed by the rule book (naval units cannot retreat to a zone that was hostile at the beginning of the turn, but can retreat to any zone that any of the attacking naval units passed through)

    The answer is yes, the subs can retreat to a zone that naval units came from or passed through, but only subs that were never submerged.  The attacker could submerge the subs on any given round(s) that combat is still going on in order to keep the subs in the combat zone while the air retreats.  Each sub submerges individually, so a combination of retreating and staying could possibly be accomplished.

    Thank you! I’ll watch for how AAA does this, it probably asks if attacking subs want to submerge or retreat first, then ask for all other units.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    I think it will just ask if you want to retreat
    You have to submerge the subs at the beginning of a round of combat - you don’t submerge them when retreating



  • We encountered the following situation. Germany attacks an English transport with a sub + a couple of fighers. The English send a couple of scrambled fighters to aid the transport.

    What if: the English fighters kill the German fighters? Are the German subs forced to retreat? Is the English transport auto-destroyed?


  • 2019 2017 2016

    Transport is destroyed.



  • Great, thanks!

    What if: the Germans retreat after 1 round of combat? Will the transport in that case only be destroyed if the subs rolled a hit during that one round?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    If at the end of a round of combat there are only transports (or AAA) left, you can’t retreat.  So if the attacking fighters destroyed the last defending fighter in a given round, the attacker would have no options because combat is over.  The sub would have to stay there and sink the transport (well, unless you choose to submerge the sub before it scores a hit, because maybe you want the transport to survive - this is a possibility)

    So if after 1 round of combat there is a remaining UK fighter, then the Germans can retreat, and the transport would be sunk if the sub scored a hit.  If after 1 round of combat all UK fighters are destroyed, then there can be no retreat



  • Thanks! But I will rephrase my question because I still have a situation in my mind that’s not resolved. Maybe I’m just thick-headed. Apologies in that case…

    Germany attacks with 1 sub + 2 fighters.
    UK defends with 1 transport + 2 fighters (scrambled).

    Germany rolls 1 with the sub; and 6,6 with the fighters.
    UK rolls 1,6 with the fighters.

    Germany wants to preserve its fighter and retreat. What happens to the transport; has the sub killed it in the 1st combat round? What happens to the sub if Germany retreats its remaining fighter and sub?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @Ozymandiac:

    Thanks! But I will rephrase my question because I still have a situation in my mind that’s not resolved. Maybe I’m just thick-headed. Apologies in that case…

    Germany attacks with 1 sub + 2 fighters.
    UK defends with 1 transport + 2 fighters (scrambled).

    Germany rolls 1 with the sub; and 6,6 with the fighters.
    UK rolls 1,6 with the fighters.

    Germany wants to preserve its fighter and retreat. What happens to the transport; has the sub killed it in the 1st combat round? What happens to the sub if Germany retreats its remaining fighter and sub?

    This is the order how to resolve this situation:
    1. The German sub has it’s surprise strike. As it hits, the hit must be assigned to the Transport. The Transport sinks and is removed from the game.
    2. The German fighters shoot and miss
    3. The UK fighters shoot and score a hit
    4. Germany removes a fighter, as the German sub cannot be hit by the UK fighters.
    5. Germany retreats the remaining fighter (during NCM) and the submarine (to a single adjacent friendly space from which it came from).

    HTH 🙂


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Right - thanks P@nther



  • Thanks a bunch everybody! This clarifies a lot.



  • HI All. I am new to the forum and I have some general questions and hope you guys can help. I am a very experienced Axis and Allies player having played on line for years with the old Hasbro version, 3 years at the WBC,  with my sons and a local group. Recently a friend of mine downloaded triple A for me but I have no idea how to play it on line. I am a bit intimated by computer stuff I visited War club buy could not figure it out. My Questions are:

    -How can I play Global 40 on line or through e mails. Be as specific as possible I am slow at this stuff.

    -We had a Big Axis and Allies game day last May and had 19 attendees, this year we met a great group from CT and have invited them. We are doing it again Jan. 28th in Whitestone Queens. Call it the Battle of NY for now. You can play any version but we are going to have a Tournament for Global 1940 2nd edition. The basic format is you play on a team and your team plays 2 games simultaneously. One as the Axis and one as the Allies. If you come alone we would find you a team. How would I advertise that on this site or anywhere else. We are thinking your team plays 1 game as Axis and 1 game as Allies. Allies get  aground bid of 15 1 unit in a country. You get points for a win and victory territories. Can I post that on this forum. Has anyone done this how did that work?

    -Last question today I have read some posts on bids. What do you guys think is reasonable? This is related to the tournament I mentioned above. My experience is with less experienced players who do not go for Russia strong you may not need a bid but more experienced players might need a bid in the low 20’s for the allies particularly if you limit that bid to 1 ground unit in a territory you have men in already.
                                Any feedback is great.
                                  Thanks
                                      Mustang440


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Hi and welcome to the A&A.org boards!
    This thread is actually dedicated to questions about applying the rules of the game correctly

    I encourage you to copy and paste the text of your post to a different thread - perhaps to “Player Help” or “Software”.  I will leave your post here, since we have a lot of helpful players who are experienced with playing TripleA on forums (and perhaps by e-mail or online) and would probably be happy to help you.

    After you figure that out, you may be interested - check out the “league” forum on this site where matches between players are facilitated and a rankings list is maintained on a daily basis.  I am actually the moderator of that league so would be happy to help you or answer any questions about the league if you are interested.  League games are play-by-forum - players have up to 72 hours for each move generally, so you can make your moves at your convenience.  The league is very flexible and if your opponent agrees, you can modify this timing, along with just about anything else.

    Someone else could probably help you with playing Global 40 online with TripleA even better than I - I am answering you first mainly because I’m one of the main guys who fields rules questions on this thread.


  • 2019 2017 2016

    Here’s a thread for play by forum: http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=27127.0
    (Although the download link is outdated. Can it be updated? Should be: http://triplea-game.org/download IIRC)

    Play by email is almost the same.

    Play online is simple isn’t it?


  • 2019 2017 2016

    If USSR is not at war on the Pacific map, can the USA land planes or unload land units on USSR territory. If so, why?

    I’d have thought the rule that a power can be at war on the Europe map but is considered not at war on the Pacific map unless one side is at war would prevent it. Triple-A allows it of course.



  • If the USSR is not at war in the pacific then no, the rest of the allies cannot land planes on USSR territory in the pacific half of the map.

    Of course, the USSR can declare war on Japan from turn one with no consequences, so there’s really no reason not to be at war since all not being at war does is limit your options.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Pancake is right, if USSR is not at war with Japan, no allied units can enter Russian territories on the Pacific map.  USSR is neutral on the Pacific map if not at war with Japan, and neutral power rules apply


  • 2019 2017 2016

    That is what I thought would be the case. Ussr Dow does have adverse consequences in balanced mod


  • 2016

    During the Combat phase shouldn’t I be able to move a trn into sz 6 from sz 5 pick up an inf and move back to sz 5 even though there is a US sub in sz 6 as long as I bring a dd with it?  Triple A is not allowing me to leave sz 6.  Thanks!


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Yes, and you don’t need a destroyer - that’s only for when the hostile sub is in the destination sz (Z5 in this case)
    You should be able to totally ignore that sub


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @majikforce:

    … Triple A is not allowing me to leave sz 6.  …

    I have recreated a similar scenario and TripleA showed no issue at all … it worked as expected, as it allowed me to move the loaded transport out of the seazone containing the enemy sub and back to the intended destination (original seazone).
    Can you please open a thread and provide a savegame in the Software subforum? This would possibly enable us to investigate …

    Thank you.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 5
  • 6
  • 3
  • 2
  • 3
  • 27
  • 5
  • 33
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

36
Online

13.6k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts