Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=30776.45
    Yes, which is all summarized in this stickied thread
    Necessary because yes, the Mongolia rules are that complicated
    P@nther is one of the few who knows them all  🙂

    YG, if you weren’t already familiar with this summary I did awhile back (all checked by Krieghund), I think you definitely need to click this link and save it for your many G40 gamers
    I also summarized neutrals rules and Dutch stuff


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    Sorry YG. You understood and I did not .

    I won’t answer any more queries. I got cocky; has been a while since I read the rules cover to cover or even checked things.
    My Apologies.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Nonsense
    That is a very obscure rule and a misinterpretation/misrecollection on that one is very understandable
    With a 99% success rate, you should keep helping out here


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    I cannot agree more!



  • Sorry for agitating everyone, Wittmann… you’re free to answer any question of mine, you do a great job. I uploaded this video recently and I think it’s accurate, but you never know with the Mongolian rule.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aALZphE6wdI


  • 2019 2017 2016

    @P@nther:

    @Young:

    1. If The UK or USA was to attack Mongolia, would this make Mongolia turn Pro Axis along with the rest of the Europe board?

    No to #3):

    Rulebook says:
    @rulebook:

    …The Mongolian territories (Olgiy, Dzavhan, Tsagaan-Olom, Central Mongolia, Ulaanbaatar, and
    Buyant-Uhaa) will never become pro-Axis unless one or more of them is attacked by the Soviet Union.

    So if UK or USA attacked Mongolia, this would result in all strict neutrals becoming Pro-Axis, except Mongolia itself.

    My reading is that the individual attacked territory would become pro-axis if the attack fails but not the rest of Mongolia.

    I guess pretty unlikely.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    You’re right, Simon

    From my Mongolia summary, which is in a stickied G40 thread here:
    i) Any OTHER Ally can attack Mongolia directly and this will break neutrality around the world, but the rest of Mongolia will stay neutral

    Again, folks, please read the Mongolia/Neutrals summary on this stickied thread - it answers all the questions I’ve ever seen on these confusing topics
    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=30776.45

    There is even a post with Dutch territory explanations as well - post #2


  • 2016

    Question: Can you blitz unfriendly neutrals?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    Yes, you can, Mill Creek.


  • 2016 2015 '10

    Need clarification on an attack/retreat question.

    I attacked a territory with 2 inf art, and get 1 hit.  The opponent’s territory had 1 inf, 1 aa gun.

    If my opponent chooses the inf as the casualty, can I then retreat back to where I came from before the next round or is the combat already over?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @Zhukov44:

    Need clarification on an attack/retreat question.

    I attacked a territory with 2 inf art, and get 1 hit.  The opponent’s territory had 1 inf, 1 aa gun.

    If my opponent chooses the inf as the casualty, can I then retreat back to where I came from before the next round or is the combat already over?

    Combat is over, as the AAgun is immediately autodestroyed (- an AAA unit cannot fire in the defending units fire step). So there is no retreat option.

    HTH 🙂


  • 2016 2015 '10

    Thanks.  I ran a search and it seems Krieghund ruled on this like 2 years ago.

    Definitely an important bug for TripleA to fix as it will come up again.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @Zhukov44:

    Definitely an important bug for TripleA to fix as it will come up again.

    You are right, I was not aware that it had not been in the game notes. I have added an issue to the map repository at Github.
    Thank you for bringing it up.


  • 2019 2017 2016

    @Zhukov44:

    Definitely an important bug for TripleA to fix as it will come up again.

    I don’t know why this one is particularly important. The sub combat bugs are probably the most important but not an easy fix.

    I’d rather fix some of the UI limitations to be honest.



  • Hello

    I have a question for clarification:

    Is Japan able to occupy Dutch East Indies without a dow on England?

    Is Japan able to DoW on France in Indu-China without DoW on England too?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Cadwaladr:

    Is Japan able to occupy Dutch East Indies without a dow on England?

    No, Japan must be at war with UK/ANZ to attack Dutch Territories

    Is Japan able to DoW on France in Indu-China without DoW on England too?

    Yes.  Only UK/ANZ politics are coupled and inseparable.



  • @Gamerman01:

    @Cadwaladr:

    Is Japan able to occupy Dutch East Indies without a dow on England?

    No, Japan must be at war with UK/ANZ to attack Dutch Territories

    Is Japan able to DoW on France in Indu-China without DoW on England too?

    Yes.  Only UK/ANZ politics are coupled and inseparable.

    Thank you very much, Gamerman, can you point to where I can refer to this at? This is my understanding of DEI, but there is a softwear game which apparently allows Japan to invade DEI on non-combat without DoE on England and Australia, as though it were a strict neutral. I have not been able to find clarification to DEI as yet…?


  • 2019 2017 2016

    I’m not aware of any such software limitation.

    True neutrals and the Dutch are hostile to the Axis and must be attacked, therefore can’t be moved into on non combat move.

    @Pac:

    Where Units Can Move
    Land Units: A land unit can move into any friendly or friendly
    neutral territory,…

    Sea Units: A sea unit can move through any friendly sea
    zone. It can’t move into or through a hostile sea zone.

    @Pac:

    Japan may attack Dutch territories
    only if a state of war exists between it and the United Kingdom and ANZAC.

    Does that clarify it for you?



  • @simon33:

    I’m not aware of any such software limitation.

    True neutrals and the Dutch are hostile to the Axis and must be attacked, therefore can’t be moved into on non combat move.

    @Pac:

    Where Units Can Move
    Land Units: A land unit can move into any friendly or friendly
    neutral territory,…

    Sea Units: A sea unit can move through any friendly sea
    zone. It can�t move into or through a hostile sea zone.

    @Pac:

    Japan may attack Dutch territories
    only if a state of war exists between it and the United Kingdom and ANZAC.

    Does that clarify it for you?

    Thank you Simon! Am looking these up right now (downloading copy of pacific rules as I dont have a copy myself). I do remember a debate as to whether Pacific rules were superseded by Global rules? In the past few games Japan has been able to occupy DEI without DoW on England, which felt off to me.

    edit: downlowaded the rules pacific… clear as day! TY Very Much!


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Thanks Simon



  • I have a quick question,
    : In Europe 1940 what IPCs do the nations have ready to spend on their first turn? the rule book didn’t seem to cover this



  • Their cash they can spend in the 1st turn is the same as their starting income.

    From p7 of the rulebook: “Each power is color coded as shown in the following chart, which also shows the power’s starting income level and treasury in Industrial Production Credits…”. So the table shows not only each nation’s starting income but also their starting treasury (= cash to spend in 1st turn).



  • A follow up question about Dutch East Indies…. as UK and Australian forces can move into them and claim their IPC values without DoW… does the forces have to be land forces or can Australia land a plan on Borneo, for instance, and claim the territory and IPCs? And would this be something that has to be done on non-combat phase, as is entering other friendly neutrals?



  • It’s non-combat, and must be a land unit (AAA don’t count). They can land planes there, but to claim the territory as their own, they must land an Infantry, Artillery, Mech, or Tank unit.



  • @ChocolatePancake:

    It’s non-combat, and must be a land unit (AAA don’t count). They can land planes there, but to claim the territory as their own, they must land an Infantry, Artillery, Mech, or Tank unit.

    TYVM


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 43
  • 3
  • 5
  • 20
  • 9
  • 4
  • 27
  • 13
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

25
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts