Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

  • '19 '17 '16

    Absolutely.

    Indeed, the UK units if present would be able to use the airbase.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @Omegaman38:

    Say you build an air base (say US) on a territory that US control on US turn and you already have 2 US planes on that territory (or u fly them in on that US turn. Then on UK’s turn you fly another British plane in.
    If there is British navy in that seazone and it is attacked by Italy straight after UK’s move are the fighters allowed to scramble?

    Yes, all fighters from the same side, Axis or Allies, can scramble to defend any ships in the alliance or coastal territories that are being attacked by amphibious assault

    Are the US fighters and the U.K. Fighters allowed to scramble or can none scramble until US next turn?

    In other words is the air base operational as soon as it us placed on the board?

    Yes, bases are operational immediately.  It’s not like new IC’s that have to wait a turn to produce.


  • We encountered a situation I wasn’t really sure of how it should be handled.

    The USA started with 2 fleets:
    -SZ19 (Okinawa), consisting of loaded carriers + a loaded transports
    -SZ26 (Hawaii), consisting of destroyers + loaded transports.

    I wanted to unload my Okinawa transport in Manchuria from SZ19. This meant Japan could declare Kamikaze on any surface warships present in SZ19.

    The Hawaiian transport was supposed to unload into Korea from SZ6. This meant the Japanese player could scramble from Japan, so I sent several fighters to SZ6 just in case. Note that Japan could not Kamikaze, because there weren’t any surface warships present.

    So the question is: was there any way I could have moved my carriers to SZ6 without exposing them to Kamikazes?

    If I let them stay in SZ19, they would have been susceptible to Kamikaze strikes during the amphibious assault on Manchuria. If I moved them to SZ6 during combat movement to escape combat, they could also be Kamikaze’d because of the amphibious assault on Korea.

    Could I have moved them from SZ19 to SZ18 (1 step) during combat movement to escape combat; and move them again during non-combat from SZ18 to SZ6?

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    You can never move a boat two different times in one turn, no
    There is no way you could have your carriers end in Zone 6 without giving Japan a chance to kamikaze them, given that you are conducting amphibious assaults from Z19 and Z6 both.  They will be subject to kamikazes in either zone 19 or zone 6, yes


  • Thanks for the quick reply!

    We handled it the way you said. That is, there was no way I could’ve done what I wanted.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Any time

  • 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15

    @Gamerman01:

    You can never move a boat two different times in one turn, no
    There is no way you could have your carriers end in Zone 6 without giving Japan a chance to kamikaze them, given that you are conducting amphibious assaults from Z19 and Z6 both.  They will be subject to kamikazes in either zone 19 or zone 6, yes

    Good to know, I guess I learn new things here. In this situation he wants to move carriers 1 sz during combat to avoid kamikaze tokens. My understanding is that he can move his carriers one more sz during NC as they have only used one out of two movement. Not that triple a is handling everything right, but triple a has no objections to this.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Yeah, never rely on Triple A for applying rules correctly
    Once you move a boat in the combat movement phase (whether to avoid combat or not) it is done for the turn.  Only aircraft can move in both phases
    I think Triple A lets you move tanks in both phases, but that is illegal.  You have to complete the blitzing movement, even when the 2nd territory is a friendly, in the combat movement phase

  • '19 '17 '16

    Question. Before the US is brought into the war, can they sail around the Cape of Good Hope and land on Brazil? Where is the limit where they can sail to from the Pacific?

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @simon33:

    Question. Before the US is brought into the war, can they sail around the Cape of Good Hope and land on Brazil? Where is the limit where they can sail to from the Pacific?

    @rulebook:

    In addition to the normal restrictions (see
    “Powers Not at War with One Another,” page 14), while it’s not at war with Japan, the United States may not move any units
    into or through China or end the movement of its sea units in sea zones that are adjacent to Japan-controlled territories. While
    not at war with Germany or Italy, the United States may end the movement of its sea units on the Europe map only in sea
    zones that are adjacent to U.S. territories, with one exception: U.S. warships (not transports) may also conduct long-range
    patrols into sea zone 102.

    So it is the border of the pacific map that limits the movement in your given case.
    HTH 🙂

  • Official Q&A

    … and even if the ships could get there, the US would still not be able to land troops in Brazil:

    @Europe:

    Neutral Powers: When a power is not at war with anyone, it is neutral. Powers that begin the game neutral, such as the United States and the Soviet Union, aren’t initially part of the Allies or the Axis. The Axis powers are on the opposite side of these neutral powers, but they are not yet considered enemies. While a power remains neutral, it operates under even tighter restrictions. A neutral power can’t move land or air units into or through neutral territories. It can’t move units into or through territories or onto ships belonging to another power or use another power’s naval bases, nor can another power move land or air units into or through its territories or onto its ships or use its naval bases.

  • '19 '17 '16

    Right. How did I not think of that?


  • Just to clarify if I take a terriotry I may noncombat land units and AAA guns into the territory the same turn I took the territory, correct?

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    Correct, as long as they did not move in combat.


  • Thanks for the response wittmann.

    I have one more question regarding submerging subs. If a fleet with no destroyers attacks my fleet which contains subs I may choose to defend with them or submerge them, correct? If this is true then the subs would be able to surprise attack if I read the rules correctly. Thanks in advance for any response

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Yes, your subs could surprise attack every round in defense, needing to roll 1’s


  • Quick Question if I may …. does a power have to control both Gibraltar and Morocco in order to pass through the straights? Do they have to control either side as in Suez? I just need a refresher on this.

    EDIT: found my answer thank you… ((only have to control Gibraltar))

    Follow up question though about Neutrals… if the Axis were to invade pro-allied neutral like Greece or Yogoslavia, would then strict neutrals join the Allies?


  • @Cadwaladr:

    Follow up question though about Neutrals… if the Axis were to invade pro-allied neutral like Greece or Yogoslavia, would then strict neutrals join the Allies?

    No. The strict neutrals stay strict neutral until one side attacks a strict neutral, at that point they all become pro-‘the other side’.


  • @Mistergreen:

    @Cadwaladr:

    Follow up question though about Neutrals… if the Axis were to invade pro-allied neutral like Greece or Yogoslavia, would then strict neutrals join the Allies?

    No. The strict neutrals stay strict neutral until one side attacks a strict neutral, at that point they all become pro-‘the other side’.

    Got’cha! ty!


  • A few questions my fellow gamers want “proof” on.

    Mechanized infantry and tanks cannot move into a pro-Allies and then into another territory in the noncombatant move phase, correct? Example. A mechanized infanrty in West India moves into Eastern Persia, but it may not move into Persia then, correct?

    You may not offload from a friendly transport then load onto it again that turn, correct? Example. Two British units ofload from a US transport in SZ 110 and attack Normandy. The British may not move two more units onto that same transport in the noncombatant move,  correct?

    You may bring air units into a sea zone in anticipation of the enemy scrambling even if there are no enemy ships in that sea sone, correct?  Example. The Americans bring a fleet to SZ 95 to attack Italy. There are no Italian ships there,  but there are planes that can scramble from Southern Italy. The US may bring air craft into SZ 95 in case they scramble,  correct?

    Thanks!

    de Gaulle

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    You are correct on all three accounts, Charles De Gaulle.

  • '19 '17 '16

    @Charles:

    A few questions my fellow gamers want “proof” on.

    See below:

    @Charles:

    Mechanized infantry and tanks cannot move into a pro-Allies and then into another territory in the noncombatant move phase, correct? Example. A mechanized infanrty in West India moves into Eastern Persia, but it may not move into Persia then, correct?

    @Rules:

    Friendly neutrals may not be attacked, and air units
    may not fly over them. They can be moved into (but not
    through
    ) as a noncombat move by land units of a power
    that is at war (see “Noncombat Move,” page 22). This
    moves the territory out of its neutral status, however. The
    first friendly power to do so places its national control
    marker on the former friendly neutral territory, and its
    national production level is adjusted upward by the value
    of the territory. With the territory’s loss of neutrality in
    this way, its standing army is immediately activated.
    The units placed belong to the power that now controls
    the formerly neutral territory, and may be used freely
    beginning on that power’s next turn.

    @Charles:

    You may not offload from a friendly transport then load onto it again that turn, correct? Example. Two British units ofload from a US transport in SZ 110 and attack Normandy. The British may not move two more units onto that same transport in the noncombatant move,  correct?

    @Europe:

    Whenever a transport offloads, it can’t move again that
    turn.
    If a transport retreats, it can’t offload that turn. A
    transport can’t offload in two territories during a single
    turn, nor can it offload cargo onto another transport. A
    transport can’t load or offload while in a hostile sea zone.
    Remember that hostile sea zones contain enemy units, but
    that for purposes of determining the status of a sea zone,
    submarines and transports are ignored.

    @Europe:

    Transports can move to friendly coastal territories
    and load or offload cargo, unless they loaded, moved,
    offloaded, or were involved in combat during the Combat
    Move or Conduct Combat phase.

    @Europe:

    It can offload in only one territory, and
    once it offloads, it can’t move, load, or offload again that
    turn.

    @Charles:

    You may bring air units into a sea zone in anticipation of the enemy scrambling even if there are no enemy ships in that sea sone, correct?  Example. The Americans bring a fleet to SZ 95 to attack Italy. There are no Italian ships there,  but there are planes that can scramble from Southern Italy. The US may bring air craft into SZ 95 in case they scramble,  correct?

    @Europe:

    Moving transports and their cargo into a sea zone from
    which you plan to make an amphibious assault counts as
    a combat move, even if there are no defending surface
    warships there and there is no potential for air units to be
    scrambled (see “Scramble,” page 16). This is also true of
    any units that will support the assault. Further, if enemy
    air units could potentially be scrambled to defend the sea
    zone, additional units may be moved into the sea zone to
    combat them in case they are indeed scrambled.

    Should satisfy them.

  • '19 '17 '16

    Now my own question. What is the reason you should be able to NCM a sub into a sea zone containing an enemy destroyer? I hate this rule. It likely has cost me a game - I wasn’t aware of it before.

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @simon33:

    Now my own question. What is the reason you should be able to NCM a sub into a sea zone containing an enemy destroyer? I hate this rule. It likely has cost me a game - I wasn’t aware of it before.

    As you said, it’s the rules:

    @rulebook:

    Sea Units: A sea unit can move through any friendly sea
    zone. It can’t move into or through a hostile sea zone.
    Unlike other sea units, submarines can move through and
    even into hostile sea zones in the Noncombat Move phase.
    However, a submarine must end its movement when it enters
    a sea zone containing one or more enemy destroyers.

    So a destroyer does not cancel the sub’s ability to move into that seazone, but only forces it to stop there.

    HTH 🙂

  • '19 '17 '16

    Yeah, it’s a rule but it seems a counter intuitive one. DDs are supposed to nullify the special abilities of subs. I can’t see a reason for this exception to what one would expect.

Suggested Topics

  • 5
  • 48
  • 3
  • 7
  • 54
  • 18
  • 3
  • 3
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

43
Online

16.2k
Users

37.9k
Topics

1.6m
Posts