Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Answering for global only,
    You have to declare war on a power to attack any of its things or take its territory.
    When Russia is at war, any Axis sub in 125 disrupts the Russian NO, yes, even if Russia is not at war with the power who owns the sub.

  • '16

    What happens to the IPC’s if you lose your capital but on your turn you take a capital?  Example:  UK takes Berlin but on Germany’s turn they take Moscow.

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    @majikforce:

    What happens to the IPC’s if you lose your capital but on your turn you take a capital?  Example:  UK takes Berlin but on Germany’s turn they take Moscow.

    Germany will get Russia’s cash.

    @rulebook:

    Capturing and Liberating Capitals
    If a power captures a territory containing an enemy
    capital (Washington, London, Moscow, etc.), follow the
    same rules as for capturing a territory. Add the captured
    territory’s income value to your national production level.
    In addition, you collect all unspent IPCs from the treasury
    of the original controller of the captured capital. For
    example, if Germany conquers Russia, and the Soviet
    Union has unspent IPCs, those IPCs are immediately
    transferred to Germany’s player. You collect these IPCs
    even if your own capital is in enemy hands.

  • '16

    1. Can a lone transport load ground units if an enemy sub is present in the sz during the non combat phase?

    I know they can’t during the combat phase without another naval unit present. Right?  Would a sub count?

    1. A German tank enters an empty french owned Normandy during the combat phase.  It cannot blitz because the facilities prevent this correct?

    3)I know tanks can blitz through unoccupied hostile territory to another territory but that all takes place during the combat phase.  A tank or mech can never move during the combat phase and the non combat phase correct?  Thank you.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @majikforce:

    1. Can a lone transport load ground units if an enemy sub is present in the sz during the non combat phase?

    Yes.  Could do it in the combat phase too.

    I know they can’t during the combat phase without another naval unit present. Right?  Would a sub count?

    No, this is not for LOADING but for UNLOADING that a sub stops unescorted transports.  The sub has to be in the sea zone that the amphibious assault would be launched from.  A sub counts as escort, as does a carrier.

    1. A German tank enters an empty french owned Normandy during the combat phase.  It cannot blitz because the facilities prevent this correct?

    Correct, facilities and AAA guns prevent blitzing.

    3)I know tanks can blitz through unoccupied hostile territory to another territory but that all takes place during the combat phase.  A tank or mech can never move during the combat phase and the non combat phase correct?  Thank you.

    Correct.  A tank may complete a blitzing move into a friendly territory on the 2nd move, all during the combat phase.  Actually, that’s when it MUST move to the friendly territory, if it is to do so


  • In the A&A P40 FAQ from wizards.com one of the errata says:
    " (…) Following any such unprovoked declaration of war by Japan, the United States will receive an immediate one-time bonus payment of 30
    IPCs, representing the total mobilization and transfer of military assets within the continental United States."

    Does this apply to AAG40 aswell?

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    No, FADM. That is only on Pacific. The standard at war NOs count in Global.
    That special 30 was introduced, as it was found Japan could sneak the US and capture its capital. Is for balance in Pacific only.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Was not only because of a rush at San Francisco, but because J1 was the no-brainer DOW turn without it.  And the game being imbalanced toward Japan in general.  It was introduced to fix all of those factors, in my understanding.

  • '19 '18

    How does the French DOW on Japan work?  Can France declare war on Japan at anytime?  Does that have a bearing on any of the other Pacific combatants or Japan’s prewar NO?


  • so the payment is done immediate after DOW from Japan. Then on the Collect Income phase USA gets it’s normal NO.  Am i getting it right?

    @wittmann:

    No, FADM. That is only on Pacific. The standard at war NOs count in Global.
    That special 30 was introduced, as it was found Japan could sneak the US and capture its capital. Is for balance in Pacific only.


  • No, he’s saying that in the G40 game, there’s no payment for the USA when Japan declares war. The USA just gets to start collecting its NO bonuses during USA’s collect income phase.

    cond1024, if I recall correctly, France can declare war on Japan whenever it wants to, but it has no bearing on anything else.


  • sorry I meant it AAP 2nd. as per the prior question.

    @ChocolatePancake:

    No, he’s saying that in the G40 game, there’s no payment for the USA when Japan declares war. The USA just gets to start collecting its NO bonuses during USA’s collect income phase.

    cond1024, if I recall correctly, France can declare war on Japan whenever it wants to, but it has no bearing on anything else.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @fuegomusic:

    so the payment is done immediate after DOW from Japan. Then on the Collect Income phase USA gets it’s normal NO.   Am i getting it right?

    Yes.  The immediate payment is in addition to USA NO

    (Note to all - this is a P40 question in the G40 thread)

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @cond1024:

    How does the French DOW on Japan work?  Can France declare war on Japan at anytime?  Does that have a bearing on any of the other Pacific combatants or Japan’s prewar NO?

    French DOW has no effect except that France is at war with Japan (and therefore Japan cannot ignore the French destroyer)

    Beware NOT declaring war with France - players have depended on the French destroyer to block an assault on India in the early going while neglecting to declare war with France.  You don’t want that to happen to you.

    Japan can also declare war on France with no other effects.  Note that it takes an ATTACK on FIC to end the 10 IPC NO, the declaration alone doesn’t do it.  It is possible for Japan to sink the French destroyer and still collect this NO for trade with USA.

  • '14

    If southern Italy is captured (the Capital) can Germany then move into Northern Italy and collect the 4 ipc’s? That is until Italy’s capital is liberated.

  • '18 '16 '15

    @wartorn:

    If southern Italy is captured (the Capital) can Germany then move into Northern Italy and collect the 4 ipc’s? That is until Italy’s capital is liberated.

    If the allies take Northern Italy and Southern Italy and Germany liberates Northern Italy after that, it becomes German (like any other country: if a territory is retaken and the original capital is taken by the enemy the territory becomes of the party that took it).

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @wartorn:

    If southern Italy is captured (the Capital) can Germany then move into Northern Italy and collect the 4 ipc’s? That is until Italy’s capital is liberated.

    Yes, and so could Japan  🙂

    Also, Germany can use the facilities on North Italy, which would include the minor IC

  • Official Q&A

    To be clear, an Axis power could only take control of Northern Italy under these circumstances by recapturing it from an Allied power.  It could not take control directly from Italy.


  • I had this question come up in the last game I played. China has enough IPCs saved to purchase troops, doesn’t control any territory, but has some troops in Burma that they expect to be able to take a territory with where they could place troops. Is it legal for China to purchase units during the purchase units phase, even though they don’t have a legal place to put them when purchasing, but they expect to have a legal spot to place them by the end of their turn?

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @ChocolatePancake:

    I had this question come up in the last game I played. China has enough IPCs saved to purchase troops, doesn’t control any territory, but has some troops in Burma that they expect to be able to take a territory with where they could place troops. Is it legal for China to purchase units during the purchase units phase, even though they don’t have a legal place to put them when purchasing, but they expect to have a legal spot to place them by the end of their turn?

    Yes, it’s legal.  There is no requirement that they own Chinese territory at the beginning of the turn, when purchasing units.  If they fail to take the requisite territory, then the money would be refunded.

  • Official Q&A

    Actually, it isn’t legal, per the FAQ update of 11/24/14:

    Q. Can I purposely purchase more units than I can mobilize with the intent of deciding which units I want to keep based on the outcome of battles I intend to fight?
    A. No. You may only purchase as many units as you will have the ability to mobilize after making repairs to any damaged industrial complexes. The rules for returning excess units are intended only for inadvertent over-purchasing.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Great point, but I have a question about that.

    They are purchasing units that CAN be mobilized, so it doesn’t seem that this FAQ applies, because the question says “Can I purposely purchase more units than I can mobilize”

    Also, there is no intent of deciding which units can be kept, depending on outcome of battles.  It’s just infantry.

    Also, obviously industrial complexes are not involved.

  • Official Q&A

    China has no capacity to mobilize units during the purchase phase (Industrial Complexes and damage to them are irrelevant, as China doesn’t use them to mobilize), because it doesn’t control any of its original territories.  Obviously in this case either all of the units will be mobilized or all of them will be returned for a refund, but that eventuality will be based on the outcome of battles.


  • Thanks Krieg, that explanation makes sense.

  • '14

    @Krieghund:

    To be clear, an Axis power could only take control of Northern Italy under these circumstances by recapturing it from an Allied power.  It could not take control directly from Italy.

    Thanks for the clarification Krieghund

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

48
Online

16.0k
Users

37.6k
Topics

1.6m
Posts