Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @IKE:

    @Gamerman01:

    In other words, any Ally with a capital (not the Dutch, obviously) can possibly collect from West India EXCEPT UK Europe.

    Note also that UK Europe can NEVER build facilities on West India.  If UK forces liberate West India, it is UK controlled, but when UK controlled, only India could build facilities there, and never London

    Would London still collect the IPC’s since they took control of it from Japan and the capital is in enemy hands?

    No, London never collects IPC’s from any UK Pacific territories



  • Hi guys,

    Im going to play global again with the new set of rules in over more then 2 years.

    I can only find separate rules and setups for both games but not for the global game.

    I understand russia gets 6 infantries in 3 territories in the east and 2 AA`s in one, UK -1 in egypt and anzac +2 in egypt and Russia loses its 2 infantry bonus.

    Is there anything else im missing about the setup?

    I also have a question… Whats the increase in IPCs the USA gets once it gets into war and I remember having some one-time payment of IPCs on certain occasions…

    The last rules ive played where the alpha 3,9 rules (I think?) and I wonder if there`s a recent chart of National Objectives.

    Thanks a lot guys!


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Rhey:

    Hi guys,

    Im going to play global again with the new set of rules in over more then 2 years.

    I can only find separate rules and setups for both games but not for the global game.

    That’s the way it is - look toward the back of the Europe book for the Global rules.

    I understand russia gets 6 infantries in 3 territories in the east and 2 AA`s in one, UK -1 in egypt and anzac +2 in egypt and Russia loses its 2 infantry bonus.

    You’re comparing the Europe setup to global.  Again, look in the back of the Europe book for instructions on playing global.  Perhaps you are unaware of those.

    Is there anything else im missing about the setup?

    I also have a question… Whats the increase in IPCs the USA gets once it gets into war and I remember having some one-time payment of IPCs on certain occasions…

    USA just has at-war NO’s (like Russia does).  They’re the same as the last Alpha.  USA has a homeland NO for 10, 5 for Alaska/Hawaii/Aleuts etc, 5 for West Indies, Panama, Mexico etc for a total of 20.  They can also get 5 for Phillipines if Japan has not taken it.
    So normally, you are looking at the USA income going up 20 when joining the war, but there are ways for the Axis to reduce that.

    The last rules ive played where the alpha 3,9 rules (I think?) and I wonder if there`s a recent chart of National Objectives.

    Thanks a lot guys!

    There are very few changes from the last Alpha to 2nd edition.  Yukon territory is eliminated.  A slight tweak was made to the Mongolia rules that adds Korea to the list of territories Russia can’t attack without breaking the pact.  One infantry subtracted from Egypt for UK.  I think that was it.

    You also need links to the latest FAQs.  P@nther has provided those in the past - if you scan through this thread I don’t think you’ll have to go too far back until you see them.  I would answer you more completely, but I’m not sure what you know or don’t know.  So feel free to ask follow up questions.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @P@nther:

    The official FAQ has been updated per November 24, 2014:

    http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs

    Shoot, it was only one page back.  Here you go.



  • cheers mate  8-)



  • Can my Italian Paratroppers be used to invade an empty North African territory as long as there is at least one of my land units attacking from an adjacent territory? In other words, can I use the ability to get troops into Africa as long as there are reachable Allied territories to attack?

    My opponent recently abandoned a French territory in North Africa and left it empty just to prevent me from using an airbourne assault from Rome as a transport to Africa. He said I couldn’t drop paratroopers into an empty enemy territory even if I had a unit attacking from an adjacent territory.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    You can add paratroopers to an empty territory if you are attacking with at least 1 other land unit.  Your opponent is incorrect - he can’t prevent paratroopers by emptying out territories.



  • @Gamerman01:

    You can add paratroopers to an empty territory if you are attacking with at least 1 other land unit.  Your opponent is incorrect - he can’t prevent paratroopers by emptying out territories.

    Thanks Gamerman.



  • 2nd question about paratroopers…

    If they are deployed as part of an amphibious assault, and the landing fails due to sea combat… What happens to the paratroopers?


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Good question.  I would think the same thing as overland ground units that were supposed to join an amphibious assault.  They have to fight on their own, and there is nowhere to retreat unless there were also other overland ground units attacking.

    The paratrooper description doesn’t specifically say so, but I think it is implied that all combat movement (which would include paratroopers) takes place in the combat movement phase, so paratroopers are already committed to the coastal territory.  If the amphibious landing never takes place because the sea battle failed, the paratroopers are still committed, and on their own.  If there are no overland ground units also attacking the coastal territory, the paratroopers can’t retreat, just like with amphibious assault ground units.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Young:

    @Gamerman01:

    You can add paratroopers to an empty territory if you are attacking with at least 1 other land unit.�  Your opponent is incorrect - he can’t prevent paratroopers by emptying out territories.

    Thanks Gamerman.

    Sure, no problem.  The requirement is that the territory be enemy controlled.  There is no requirement that it have a unit in it.



  • @Gamerman01:

    Good question.  I would think the same thing as overland ground units that were supposed to join an amphibious assault.  They have to fight on their own, and there is nowhere to retreat unless there were also other overland ground units attacking.

    The paratrooper description doesn’t specifically say so, but I think it is implied that all combat movement (which would include paratroopers) takes place in the combat movement phase, so paratroopers are already committed to the coastal territory.  If the amphibious landing never takes place because the sea battle failed, the paratroopers are still committed, and on their own.  If there are no overland ground units also attacking the coastal territory, the paratroopers can’t retreat, just like with amphibious assault ground units.

    I agree.


  • 2019 2017

    Can mechs and tanks starting in different territories invade the same empty territory and continue to the next territory? (mechs in east poland and tanks in ukraine going to west ukraine then bryansk)



  • Good question  😄


  • 2020 '16 '15 '14

    @Adam514:

    Can mechs and tanks starting in different territories invade the same empty territory and continue to the next territory? (mechs in east poland and tanks in ukraine going to west ukraine then bryansk)

    No.  Page 29 of the 2nd Edition Rulebook states the following under the description for Mechanized Infantry:

    “A mechanized infantry unit must normally stop when it enters an enemy controlled territory.  However, when paired one-for-one with a tank, it can make a blitz movement along with that tank.  The movement of both units must start and end in the same territories.” (emphasis added)

    Therefore, your suggested move would be illegal since both units did not start in the same territory.

    EDIT: The above is referencing the Europe rules – there is a similar entry on page 26 of the Pacific rules.


  • 2019 2017

    Thanks!



  • Can I move land units from Greece into Turkey without a transport, pretty sure I can’t, but someone wants me to ask.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    @Young:

    Can I move land units from Greece into Turkey without a transport, pretty sure I can’t, but someone wants me to ask.

    Yes you can walk from Greece to Turkey.  Absolutely no transports needed.



  • @Gamerman01:

    @Young:

    Can I move land units from Greece into Turkey without a transport, pretty sure I can’t, but someone wants me to ask.

    Yes you can walk from Greece to Turkey.  Absolutely no transports needed.

    Ok, thanks for that… gonna have to edit my tutorial video.  😞 my bad


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    Any time, YG


  • 2019 2017 '16 '15 '13

    I know this isn’t the place to post this…but does anybody know what LHTR for carrier production rules are?
    Some of us are going to play a team game of World at War and that’s a game option. And I’m not sure if we want that or not.


  • '15 Official Q&A '11 '10 Moderator

    I’m pretty sure it means that you can place fighters on new carriers.  That didn’t use to be allowed.  This would include newly purchased fighters and also existing fighters landing on new carriers.  Back in the original, new carriers were always without planes because they weren’t allowed.  I believe LHTR was to change that and allow planes


  • Official Q&A

    That’s correct.  However, it may also refer to the fact that carriers cost 16 IPCs in LHTR.


  • 2019 2017 '16 '15 '13

    thanks for the answers. We’ll go ahead and use those rules.


  • '14

    Whether its Europe or global, if Germany makes an attack on Russia, sea or land units, Russia automatically enters the war, correct?
    And, when at war, does an axis Sub prevent Russia from collecting the SZ 125 N.O?


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 5
  • 4
  • 17
  • 9
  • 58
  • 3281
  • 5
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

59
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts