Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)



  • Ah, I see now how tactical’s can effectively be used to escort (even though they will have to take AA fire).

    So the attacker doesn’t have to declare raid targets until after the air battle?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @IKE:

    So the attacker doesn’t have to declare raid targets until after the air battle?

    That is exactly right.


  • 2016 2015 '10

    Say I have a transport with 2 inf on it at the start of a turn.  In Global, can you offload 1 unit as a combat move or do I need to unload both inf at once?

    If so, does it make a difference if the infantry were already on the transport?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Zhukov44:

    Say I have a transport with 2 inf on it at the start of a turn.  In Global, can you offload 1 unit as a combat move or do I need to unload both inf at once?

    Yes, if that unit was already on the transport at the beginning of your turn.

    If so, does it make a difference if the infantry were already on the transport?

    Yes.  If you had picked both of them up in the combat move, then you would have to amphibiously assault with both of them.  If you had one on at the beginning of your turn, and picked up one in the combat movement phase, you could also assault with only 1,  which would be the one you just picked up.  You could leave the one that started the turn on your transport, on your transport while amphibiously assaulting with the one you just picked up.

    Page 16, under “transports”:
    “If a transport loads land units during the Combat Move phase, it must offload those units to attack a hostile territory as part of an amphibious assault during the Conduct Combat phase, or it must retreat during the sea combat step…”

    Page 33: “During an amphibious assault, a transport must either offload all units that were loaded during the Combat Move phase or retreat during sea combat.  It can also offload any number of units owned by the transport’s power that were already on board at the start of the turn.”



  • Say one of those two units is an AA gun and the units were on the transport at the start of the turn. (Since I don’t think the AA could load during combat phase, correct?)

    Can the transport unload 1 infantry during the combat move and then unload the AA gun during non-combat into the territory just taken?


  • '12

    @IKE:

    Say one of those two units is an AA gun and the units were on the transport at the start of the turn. (Since I don’t think the AA could load during combat phase, correct?)

    Can the transport unload 1 infantry during the combat move and then unload the AA gun during non-combat into the territory just taken?

    No only 1 unload event per transport per turn.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @IKE:

    Say one of those two units is an AA gun and the units were on the transport at the start of the turn. (Since I don’t think the AA could load during combat phase, correct?)

    AAA can never load during the combat movement phase, that’s correct.

    Can the transport unload 1 infantry during the combat move and then unload the AA gun during non-combat into the territory just taken?

    Bold told you right - after a transport unloads, it is done.  It can’t move, it can’t load, it can’t unload.



  • In combat order, does SBR happen before or after normal combat?

    What we’re wondering is can fighters be involved in BOTH an intercept & scramble, or do they have to pick one or the other?


  • '12

    @IKE:

    In combat order, does SBR happen before or after normal combat?

    What we’re wondering is can fighters be involved in BOTH an intercept & scramble, or do they have to pick one or the other?

    fighters must choose one or the other, or of course, neither.  scramble and intercept choices occur before any battles are rolled.  SBR’s are the first battles to be rolled during combat.



  • Can UK land fighters in ANZAC or dutch territories if it isn’t at war with Japan?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Yes, they are allies and non-neutral


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    The official FAQ has been updated per November 24, 2014:

    What is new?

    @FAQ:

    Purchasing Units

    Q. Can I purposely purchase more units than I can mobilize with the intent of deciding which
    units I want to keep based on the outcome of battles I intend to fight?

    A. No. You may only purchase as many units as you will have the ability to mobilize after making repairs
    to any damaged industrial complexes. The rules for returning excess units are intended only for
    inadvertent over-purchasing.

    http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Kudos to Herr KaLeun



  • @Von:

    Quote from: Zhukov44 on October 05, 2014, 10:26:39 am

    Well the reason this came up is following Italy’s declaration on Russia and invasion of Russia, Germany did not declare on Russia, but moved forces into formerly Russian territory.  Should Germany get the peacetime NO in that scenario?

    Yes germany double dips here.  They get the no for peace but their sub blocks the Russian no.

    I am experiencing the above scenario in a game that is on hold till later after Turkey Day.  I am playing Germany and Italy.  I was able to DOW Russia on IT turn 2.  I blitzed a tank from Romania through Eastern Poland and into Baltic States (both countries were void of any Russian unit). On German Turn 3 I am not going to DOW Russia.  I am going to put a warship in SZ 124.  I will move units into Baltic States and Eastern Poland.  I will transport a load of two units into Baltic states from SZ 115 and be able to ignore the Russian cruiser and sub there because Germany is not at war with Russia.  So Germany will get the bonus for not being at War with Russia and Russia will not get a bonus because of an Axis Warship in SZ 124.

    In addition on Russia turn three they cannot attack Italian controlled Eastern Poland or Baltic States or the transport in SZ 115 because they cannot DOW Germany until Turn 4.  So does all this ring true?  If so it seems rather odd.  But I would really enjoy being able to give this experience as a present to my Russia opponent.

    Thank you for any replies.

    We are back playing this scenario tonight.  The Russian Player wants to attack only the Italian tank in Baltic and ignore the German units because he is not at war with Germany.  Is this possible?  Why or why not?  Does a German unit moving into Italian controlled Russian territory (the Baltic) constitute a DOW?  Why or why not?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    You can’t do that.
    Because for all land battles, you must be at war with all nations you are attacking, whether they control the territory, or units.  It is only at SEA that you can attack units of powers with which you are at war, and not others.

    I would quote you rulebook but don’t have time.  Family waiting for movie night.

    Oh.  Just saw your second question is a different one.

    Germans can move into Italian territory that was originally Russian without declaring war because it’s not Russian territory anymore.  It’s Italian.

    Note that a German sub in 125 nullifies the NO even if Russia is not at war with Germany at the time, but is at war with Italy only.



  • Hi, quick question, a game is happening now.
    With the rockets scientific advance, do I NEED to conduct a tatical/strategical bombing to use the rockets? or can  it be made even if no raids are happening in the turn?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Rockets are independent of your planes
    Rockets are launched by your airbases.



  • Situation:
    Italians make an amphibious assault from SZ98 with 1 Destroyer, 1Cruiser and 2 Transport full with 3 Inf and 1 Art uploaded against Ägypt. There was an british Airbaise with 2 Fig and 1 Tac. The british decides to scramble. The Italians rolls 1 hit (the british Tac), the british rolls 2 hits (Destroyer and Cruiser).

    Questions:
    1. After this first attack round can the italians decide to withdraw only with the 2 transports?
    2. If yes, are the landunits retreat on the transports too?


  • '12

    @Skippi:

    Situation:
    Italians make an amphibious assault from SZ98 with 1 Destroyer, 1Cruiser and 2 Transport full with 3 Inf and 1 Art uploaded against �gypt. There was an british Airbaise with 2 Fig and 1 Tac. The british decides to scramble. The Italians rolls 1 hit (the british Tac), the british rolls 2 hits (Destroyer and Cruiser).

    Questions:
    1. After this first attack round can the italians decide to withdraw only with the 2 transports?
    2. If yes, are the landunits retreat on the transports too?

    Yes and yes


  • 2017 2016 2015 '13

    If India and West India are under Japanese control and UK takes back West India, do they get the two pu’s?


  • '12

    @captain:

    If India and West India are under Japanese control and UK takes back West India, do they get the two pu’s?

    only UK Pacific can collect For west India.  So if they don’t have the capital then no.  the other allies can collect for West India however.


  • 2017 2016 2015 '13

    Thanks for the quick reply!


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    In other words, any Ally with a capital (not the Dutch, obviously) can possibly collect from West India EXCEPT UK Europe.

    Note also that UK Europe can NEVER build facilities on West India.  If UK forces liberate West India, it is UK controlled, but when UK controlled, only India could build facilities there, and never London


  • '12

    @Gamerman01:

    In other words, any Ally with a capital (not the Dutch, obviously) can possibly collect from West India EXCEPT UK Europe.

    Note also that UK Europe can NEVER build facilities on West India.  If UK forces liberate West India, it is UK controlled, but when UK controlled, only India could build facilities there, and never London

    you rock gamerman.  is there any wonder why you are such a great player - you truly know the rules inside and out backwards and fowards.



  • @Gamerman01:

    In other words, any Ally with a capital (not the Dutch, obviously) can possibly collect from West India EXCEPT UK Europe.

    Note also that UK Europe can NEVER build facilities on West India.  If UK forces liberate West India, it is UK controlled, but when UK controlled, only India could build facilities there, and never London

    Would London still collect the IPC’s since they took control of it from Japan and the capital is in enemy hands?


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 12
  • 19
  • 10
  • 11
  • 6
  • 5
  • 9
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

30
Online

13.6k
Users

33.9k
Topics

1.3m
Posts