Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Yep, pancake gave you the right answers

    This is the procedure for SBR’s in G40 2nd edition:

    1. Combat move all fighters/tacs/strat bombers to the target territory.  You need not make any declarations during the combat movement phase of what you are targeting.  This is significant, because
    2.  Defender decides whether to send up interceptors (fighters only, no limit to # of interceptors - don’t confuse with scrambling limit of 3) against your whole group, not knowing what your strats/tacs are targeting
    3.  Roll out the 1 round air battle
    4.  Attacker selects individual target facilities for tacs and strats, tacs can only bomb bases
    5.  Roll AA for each facility against the tacs/strats that are attacking it.  Roll separately by facility at the group of air that is attacking that facility
    6.  Roll SBR damage dice by facility for surviving tacs and strats, adding 2 for each strat

    This isn’t from a rulebook or anything, it’s just my recap for you off the top of my head.  Hope it clarifies things for you.

    Happy bombing,
    Gamer



  • I have another two questions.

    If you unload units from an allied transport, can you load units in the same turn?

    If US is at war can place units in dutch territories (without getting control of them)?


  • 2016 2015 '10

    @Juglareskatales:

    I have another two questions.

    If you unload units from an allied transport, can you load units in the same turn?

    If US is at war can place units in dutch territories (without getting control of them)?

    No, once an allied transport has unloaded it is done for the turn.

    Yes.  The Dutch go to war with Japan at the same time UK goes to war.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Juglareskatales:

    I have another two questions.

    If you unload units from an allied transport, can you load units in the same turn?

    You can’t unload 2 units from an allied transport and simultaneously reload the same transport with 2 new units, BUT YOU CAN unload 1 unit from an allied transport in noncombat movement and simultaneously load 1 new unit onto that same transport (the other slot?  Not sure about this part).  In other words, I’m not sure that you can unload a non-infantry unit and also load a non-infantry unit at the same time.

    I only know that this is possible because Krieghund has said this before. (You can simultaneously load 1 unit and unload a previously loaded unit, from an ally’s transport)

    If US is at war can place units in dutch territories (without getting control of them)?

    Yes, because those are friendly territories.
    Note that the USA can NEVER take control of Dutch territories when they are under Allied control - that is a special thing for UK/ANZ only.  USA can take control of Dutch territories when wresting it from an Axis power.


  • Official Answers

    After a transport offloads, it may never load again in the same turn.


  • '12

    @Krieghund:

    After a transport offloads, it may never load again in the same turn.

    gamer where did u get that offload and reload the slot deal?  Only way u could do that is if one power off loads the slot and another power loads it.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Well I could have misunderstood, and it would take some effort to find the post, but I have in my notes that you could.

    Example:
    French turn.  There is a UK transport in 110 loaded with a French infantry.  During French non-com, you can load an infantry from London onto that transport, and also unload the infantry that was on the transport, to Normandy/Holland.

    Technically that’s not loading after an unload, so Krieghund, your response an hour ago doesn’t really correct what I said.  You definitely gave me that impression, though it may have been a miscommunication on your end or mine.  I’ll see if I can find the post, this evening.  I was sure enough to pencil it into my rule book.


  • Official Answers

    Yes, that’s right, you could have an allied transport with one of your units already on it at the beginning of your turn, load another of your units, then offload the original unit.  That wouldn’t violate the rule that the transport can’t load after offloading.

    As far as the requirement that one of the units on the transport be an infantry, that’s covered by the fact that you must load before offloading, as the transport’s cargo would have to be legal after the load.  The type of the loaded and offloaded units would be restricted only by that.  That was the point I was making (or trying to) by my post.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Thanks a lot for the clarification - like I said, I wasn’t sure about whether they couldn’t both be non-infantry.  I’ll add that to my penciled in notes  🙂


  • 2016

    Lets say Japan has not attacked UK yet.  On UKs turn they move a destroyer into the same sz as Japan.  On Japans turn they attack UK.  Does the destroyer being present prevent the navy from moving on the combat phase and can transports load in that sz during the combat phase?  Thanks!


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    See page 13-14 of the Europe manual for your options when you begin your turn with enemy surface warships in your zone.  There are 4 bullet points at the top of 14

    Transports can load in that seazone, but only to conduct amphibious assaults.  See blue bar on page 12, first paragraph.


  • 2016

    Got it!  Thanks Gamerman!


  • 2017

    Just to be certain: does a defending submarine have the right to surface if the defender also scrambles an air unit into the same sea zone during an amphibious assault?


  • '12

    @wheatbeer:

    Just to be certain: does a defending submarine have the right to surface if the defender also scrambles an air unit into the same sea zone during an amphibious assault?

    yes


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Agree with Bold

    Ignoring subs is only a combat movement phase thing.  Scramble creates combat in the zone, and the sub is in the zone


  • 2016

    Is it a rule that all units must unload from transports on an amphibious assault?
    Example. Transport picks up two inf enters a sz and unloads only one inf for the amphibious assault.



  • They don’t have to all unload, but any units that don’t unload are stuck on the transport until the next turn.


  • 2016

    Okay I think I have answered my own question. Rule book states that any units loaded during the combat phase must unload for an amphibious assault. Pg 15. I don’t have a second edition rule book can this be confirmed?  Thank you.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    @ChocolatePancake:

    They don’t have to all unload, but any units that don’t unload are stuck on the transport until the next turn.

    Both have to unload into the same territory if loaded in the  Combat Round (for an amphibious assault). In Non Combat, you can choose to leave one on board.



  • Ah, true, if they are loaded during the combat phase then yeah, they both have to unload. Missed that part of his question.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015

    Quote from: Zhukov44 on October 05, 2014, 10:26:39 am

    Well the reason this came up is following Italy’s declaration on Russia and invasion of Russia, Germany did not declare on Russia, but moved forces into formerly Russian territory.  Should Germany get the peacetime NO in that scenario?

    Yes germany double dips here.  They get the no for peace but their sub blocks the Russian no.

    I am experiencing the above scenario in a game that is on hold till later after Turkey Day.  I am playing Germany and Italy.  I was able to DOW Russia on IT turn 2.  I blitzed a tank from Romania through Eastern Poland and into Baltic States (both countries were void of any Russian unit). On German Turn 3 I am not going to DOW Russia.  I am going to put a warship in SZ 124.  I will move units into Baltic States and Eastern Poland.  I will transport a load of two units into Baltic states from SZ 115 and be able to ignore the Russian cruiser and sub there because Germany is not at war with Russia.  So Germany will get the bonus for not being at War with Russia and Russia will not get a bonus because of an Axis Warship in SZ 124.

    In addition on Russia turn three they cannot attack Italian controlled Eastern Poland or Baltic States or the transport in SZ 115 because they cannot DOW Germany until Turn 4.  So does all this ring true?  If so it seems rather odd.  But I would really enjoy being able to give this experience as a present to my Russia opponent.

    Thank you for any replies.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Couple things, Von

    First, I think you mean zone 125.  Everything you wrote is correct until you got to the part about Russia not being able to declare war on Germany.

    As soon as one of the European Axis powers (Germany or Italy) is at war with Russia, Russia is free to declare war on the other one.  Russia does NOT have to wait until turn 4 to declare war on the Germans unless the Italians and Germans both lay off.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015

    Thanks Gamer.

    Yes I meant 125.  It makes sense that Russia should be able to DOW after being attacked.

    Thanks



  • If you fail a tech research, you conserve all your tech tokens as AA 50th Anniversary?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    No, that was changed.  There are no tokens.  That was AA50 and AA50 only.

    Plus, you still can’t get more than 1 at a time (In classic you could get all 6 at once for 30 IPC’s if you rolled 6 6’s).
    And some of them are so weak!
    You may want to houserule it and play with tokens, or reduce the cost, or something.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

69
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts