Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    Magic Q: the one thing you cannot do, is load Transports in the Combat Move and not amphibiously land. Otherwise, I think you got it.


  • Official Answers

    @Gamerman01:

    You will need Krieghund to confirm, but I don’t think that’s the intention, no.

    Confirmed.

    @Gamerman01:

    But Krieghund only said that the part about escaping a HOSTILE sea zone was the unintended part.  You still have subs allowed to noncom into destroyers and whenever you load transports in the combat movement phase, they MUST amphibiously assault (or attempt amphibious assault)
    And the only way to move transports away from a sub-infested zone when you are attacking the subs is to COMBAT MOVE them away from the zone to escape combat (we now know - the rulebook said for years that you couldn’t, but that’s the part you helped us find this unintended error)

    Top of page 16 in rule book, 2nd para under transports

    Yes.  If your units begin the turn in a sea zone containing only enemy subs and/or transports (thus friendly), you may either attack them or not.  If you attack them, your units must either stay and participate in the attack (thus giving up the ability to move in noncombat movement) or move away in combat movement, following the rules regarding moving away from a hostile sea zone to avoid combat.  If you don’t attack them, you are free to move your units normally, in either combat or noncombat movement.



  • Questions on Germany and Russia mechanics while NOT at war:

    1. German fleet is in sz112, Russia moved her CR & SS to 113.  Can Germany move to 113 and load TT? (Assume yes since not at war)
    2. Can Germany then attack Leningrad with those transports?
    3. Could Germany instead load in sz112 for Sea Lion and attack Russia elsewhere on land?

    Just trying to understand if I load TT’s in sz113 in combat phase if I’m allowed to also attack Russia that turn or if I would have to wait until the following turn to do so.  I think there’s a rule where Japan can load TT’s in what would be a hostile sea zone, and then declare war after loading in the combat phase.  Can Germany do the same?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @IKE:

    Questions on Germany and Russia mechanics while NOT at war:

    1. German fleet is in sz112, Russia moved her CR & SS to 113.  Can Germany move to 113 and load TT? (Assume yes since not at war)

    Yes, as long as Germany didn’t just DW on Russia

    2. Can Germany then attack Leningrad with those transports?

    No, that would require a DOW on Russia at the beginning of the combat movement phase.  Then they can’t move through 113 in a combat move because 113 is hostile.

    3. Could Germany instead load in sz112 for Sea Lion and attack Russia elsewhere on land?

    Sea Lion??  See answers below.

    Just trying to understand if I load TT’s in sz113 in combat phase if I’m allowed to also attack Russia that turn or if I would have to wait until the following turn to do so.  I think there’s a rule where Japan can load TT’s in what would be a hostile sea zone, and then declare war after loading in the combat phase.  Can Germany do the same?

    No difference between Germany and Japan.  I think this is your confusion:
    You can load transports in combat move in a zone that JUST became hostile because of your DOW, and yes you can attack that power immediately.  However, in your example, you started in 112 and the surface warship is in 113.  You can’t move into another zone of the power you just declared war on and ignore those units.  The exception is only for the zone you started in, if it is occupied by the power you just declared war on.

    So, if your German fleet is in 113 and the Russian fleet is in 113, you can declare war on Russia, load up the transports, and go attack Russia or UK or anyone.
    However, your German fleet is not in 113, so if you declare war on Russia, any combat move to 113 would require combat with the Russian fleet in 113.  You can attack Russia to the North (go up around Scandinavia) because the Russian fleet is not between you and Russia, going that route.



  • @Gamerman01:

    The exception is only for the zone you started in, if it is occupied by the power you just declared war on.

    Thank you Gamerman, this is the rule that clears up my confusion.

    I have to load in sz113 since all my units are in Germany, thus I must stay neutral with Russia.  That is clear now.


  • '12

    who can remind me, i’m blanking on this at the moment.  what if usa attacks japan and there is a sub in z6.  there is no destroyer attacking, only an escorting acc.  usa intends to ignore the sub and land on japan proper.  japan uses a kamikazi attack on the acc.  does the use of the kami allow the sub to fight, ie no longer be ignored, since combat is occurring?



  • @Boldfresh:

    who can remind me, i’m blanking on this at the moment.  what if usa attacks japan and there is a sub in z6.  there is no destroyer attacking, only an escorting acc.  usa intends to ignore the sub and land on japan proper.  japan uses a kamikazi attack on the acc.  does the use of the kami allow the sub to fight, ie no longer be ignored, since combat is occurring?

    I believe so, just like the kami would prevent bombardments because it forces combat in that sea zone.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Pretty good answer, Ike, and I also seem to recall that kamikazes force combat, but couldn’t remember what Krieghund said for sure.

    Looking in the rulebook, it explicitly states that kamikazes are done before combat, and prevent bombardment, but I didn’t see anything about it creating combat in the zone.

    I don’t think anyone less than Krieghund can answer this question 100%, unless it’s someone who remembers or quotes what Krieghund said earlier  😉


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    I am going to throw my hat in the ring and say that the Sub cannot be activated as I cannot find any evidence of a Kamikaze making a SZ Hostile.
    Like you, Gamerman, I would love to hear Krieghund’s ruling, however.


  • Official Answers

    A kamikaze strike does not constitute a battle, so the sub can still be ignored.



  • @Krieghund:

    A kamikaze strike does not constitute a battle, so the sub can still be ignored.

    I’m left wondering if a kami does not constitute a battle then why would it prevent bombardments?

    Thank you


  • Official Answers

    While a kamikaze attack by itself doesn’t embroil the entire sea zone in a battle, it does disrupt the target fleet enough that it can’t provide bombardment support.


  • 2017

    If the Soviets are at war with Italy, but not at war with Germany can they collect the Lend Lease NO if there is a German sub in SZ125?

    (may need a ruling for a game)


  • '12

    @wheatbeer:

    If the Soviets are at war with Italy, but not at war with Germany can they collect the Lend Lease NO if there is a German sub in SZ125?

    (may need a ruling for a game)

    German sub negates the no even if Russia not at war with germany.


  • 2016 2015 '10

    Well the reason this came up is following Italy’s declaration on Russia and invasion of Russia, Germany did not declare on Russia, but moved forces into formerly Russian territory.  Should Germany get the peacetime NO in that scenario?


  • '12

    @Zhukov44:

    Well the reason this came up is following Italy’s declaration on Russia and invasion of Russia, Germany did not declare on Russia, but moved forces into formerly Russian territory.  Should Germany get the peacetime NO in that scenario?

    Yes germany double dips here.  They get the no for peace but their sub blocks the Russian no.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Bold is correct

    Same situation occurred in my current game with Me1945.


  • 2018 2016 2015

    I’m playing a game here now and my American naval is attacked by the Japanese. He attacks with 8 carriers and 18 fighters. 16 of those can reach land, 2 have flown the maximum distance. Is he allowed to let 8 carriers sink before any of the aircraft die, or must 1 AC remain until at least 2 fighters die?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @Balladeer:

    I’m playing a game here now and my American naval is attacked by the Japanese. He attacks with 8 carriers and 18 fighters. 16 of those can reach land, 2 have flown the maximum distance. Is he allowed to let 8 carriers sink before any of the aircraft die, or must 1 AC remain until at least 2 fighters die?

    He can lose carriers first and does not have to lose any fighters.

    The save the fighters requirement is ONLY for combat movement purposes-legality.  Once the battle starts, you have NO obligation to keep landing places for fighters.


  • 2018 2016 2015

    Allright, thanks!


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    My pleasure



  • Can planes go to a contested sea zone during the non-combat movement phase to land on carriers that are going to be build there during the production phase?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @Soulblighter:

    Can planes go to a contested sea zone during the non-combat movement phase to land on carriers that are going to be build there during the production phase?

    Yes!

    @Rulebook:

    Where Units Can Move

    Only fighters and tactical bombers can land in a sea zone
    with a friendly carrier present. A landing spot must be
    available on the carrier. Additionally:

    • A fighter or tactical bomber can land in a sea zone
      (even a hostile one) that is adjacent to an industrial
      complex you own if you will be mobilizing an aircraft
      carrier that you previously purchased in that zone
      during the Mobilize New Units phase.

    HTH 🙂



  • I have some questions on 1940 rules:

    1. If two bombers are bombing two different buildings, Are both buildings screen together or separately?

    For example a strategic bomber is bombing an Industrial Complex and a tactical bomber is bombing an Air Base. Did the defender roll 2 dice (and you choose your casualties) or did he roll 1 dice defending IC and another dice defending Air Base, for each bomber?

    2. Are National Objectives and convoy disruptions obligatory?

    For example Germany wants to conquer London. Germany has subs in 109SZ but he didn’t wants to disrupt convoy because he wants to collect more IPCs in London conquest. Also, London has all original territories but he doesn’t want to collect the 5 IPCs of NO because they are going to be owned by Germany.

    Can UK force Germany to disrupt convoy, and Germany force UK to collect NO?



  • 1. You roll them separate. The attacker declares which bombers are bombing what, and then each set of bombers is rolled individually.
    2. Yes, they are both mandatory.

    As a side note, if Germany doesn’t want to convoy raid the UK, then Germany should move the sub somewhere else. That would prevent that issue from occurring.
    As another side note, I have seen a Germany player once intentionally leave the SZ 125 empty of warships the turn before taking Moscow, just to get that extra $5.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 5
  • 4
  • 6
  • 8
  • 12
  • 6
  • 9
  • 8
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

62
Online

13.6k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts