Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)

  • '12

    @Cow:

    Jen or Garg. One or the other.

    It makes sense because it keeps people from intentionally not landing fighters to see what opponents do then going… “oh i forgot to land these… I will put them here.”

    that would be Jenn then since Garg has nothing to do with the league, let alone being a moderator.  sure am happy to hear his opinion on the matter though.

  • '16 '15 '10

    Dutch New Guinea is friendly neutral and hasn’t been occupied by either Aussie or Japan.  If USA moves into the territory in ncm, do they take ownership?  Just trying to determine if USA can help Aussie get its NO here.

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    Absolutely Zhukov, as long as both the US and Anzac are at war with Japan.

  • '12

    i was thinking usa couldn’t claim dutch territories?  they can land there but not change ownership was my understanding - at least that’s how tripleA treats suriname when usa walks in from brazil - this may be a tripleA error of course there are MANY.

  • '16 '15 '10

    Right, TripleA is not letting me do it.  If it’s a bug, it should go high up on the bug list.

    Seems like it ought to allow USA to claim it unless there is special language in the rulebook indicating that only the Dutch can claim it.

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    Zhukov, apologies, I believe I am wrong. Thanks for pointing out that Dutch territories are not Friendly Neutrals, Boldfresh.
    America can only control them after they have been captured by Japan.

    So, no the US cannot capture them for Anzac’s NO.
    Again, I am sorry.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    The Dutch have an arrangement with UK/ANZ only

    ONLY UK/ANZ can take control of Dutch territories in non-combat movement.  The rest of the Allies can only control originally Dutch territories if an Axis power took control at some point first.


  • Can you fly over strict neutrals during the CM phase.  Ex: bombers from WG attack the cruiser in sz91.  If this has already been answered I would appreciate a link.  Thank you

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    You can’t fly over any neutrals that have never been attacked before.
    Once a neutral is attacked by either side (or claimed, of course, in which case it is no longer neutral) then any powers at war may fly over, and friendly aircraft can land in the neutral.

  • TripleA

    So this guy is trying to unload 2 units on Korea.

    I got a sub on sz 6 and I want to defend against his 1 sub 1 transport unloading 2 guys.

    Can I do it?  I told him I can. He do not want to believe me.


  • I guess he is right. He can choose to ignore your sub.

  • '12

    @Cow:

    So this guy is trying to unload 2 units on Korea.

    I got a sub on sz 6 and I want to defend against his 1 sub 1 transport unloading 2 guys.

    Can I do it?  I told him I can. He do not want to believe me.

    Not unless you can scramble.

  • TripleA

    So you do not really need to buy a destroyer to do sea lion, as long as Italy can bomb the airbase. That is kind of weird a u boat would ignore an offloading transport.

  • '12

    @Cow:

    So you do not really need to buy a destroyer to do sea lion, as long as Italy can bomb the airbase. That is kind of weird a u boat would ignore an offloading transport.

    If the transports are escorted by a warship then the u boats can be ignored.

  • Sponsor

    Came in late on Cow’s argument about losing planes not landed after his turn was over, just wanted to share an article I wrote on the subject, Cheers.

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=30041.0

  • '12

    @Young:

    Came in late on Cow’s argument about losing planes not landed after his turn was over, just wanted to share an article I wrote on the subject, Cheers.

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=30041.0

    Well written thanks!


  • If UK_Pacific lost India and West India, Could UK_Euro collect 2 IPC when taking West India back?

  • Moderator 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12

    No, MagicQ. Is part of the Pacific economy and (stupidly) not interchangeable.
    Would need Anzac or US to take it, so as to claim the IPCs for themselves.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Or Russia!  Like I have recently  🙂


  • If Russia declares war on Japan, does this affect the relations between Japan and the UK, or ANZAC.  I am confused as the soviets are neutral to begin and not apart of the allies.  The example of our game is as follows.  Russia declares war on japan by moving into china.  Japan attacks UK.  This wasn’t provoked as the allies had already provoked Japan?  The impact being when the US could enter the war.  We were divided on the outcome of this situation, but concluded that Japan did make a unprovoked declaration of war and indeed brought the US to bare.  Thank you for your help.

  • '12

    @catfishblues:

    If Russia declares war on Japan, does this affect the relations between Japan and the UK, or ANZAC.  I am confused as the soviets are neutral to begin and not apart of the allies.  The example of our game is as follows.  Russia declares war on japan by moving into china.  Japan attacks UK.  This wasn’t provoked as the allies had already provoked Japan?  The impact being when the US could enter the war.  We were divided on the outcome of this situation, but concluded that Japan did make a unprovoked declaration of war and indeed brought the US to bare.  Thank you for your help.

    Yes it was unprovoked.  Russia Dow does not constitute provoking japan.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    It is an unprovoked DOW on ANZ/UK/Dutch by Japan that allows USA to DOW Japan
    Russia has nothing to do with USA being able to enter the war - ever.

  • 2022 2021 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13

    I just don’t understand this rule. if theres a sub in the water near land where someone wants to unload they have to take the sub out first rite.

    now if they have a fleet with no destroyer to take out the sub does this rule still apply?

    because I have tried this rule over and over again and its baffling to me.

  • 2022 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @dawgoneit:

    I just don’t understand this rule. if theres a sub in the water near land where someone wants to unload they have to take the sub out first rite.

    now if they have a fleet with no destroyer to take out the sub does this rule still apply?

    because I have tried this rule over and over again and its baffling to me.

    No problem, Dawgone, I can help you with that.

    There is no requirement to engage the sub.  You can still ignore it.  The rule merely prevents amphibious assaults of transports only, over enemy submarines.  The warship you send in (as you noted, does not need to be a destroyer) can still ignore the sub, even though it would be moved in during the combat movement phase, in order to make the amphibious assault by the transports legal.  There need not be any combat in this sea zone that you are conducting an amphibious assault from.

    Again, the rule is basically just that you can’t ignore subs when you only have transports that are looking to conduct an amphibious assault over enemy submarines.  They must be escorted by any other warship (even a carrier)

  • '12

    @dawgoneit:

    I just don’t understand this rule. if theres a sub in the water near land where someone wants to unload they have to take the sub out first rite.

    now if they have a fleet with no destroyer to take out the sub does this rule still apply?

    because I have tried this rule over and over again and its baffling to me.

    If there is a scramble and a sub defends the zone then it must be killed for a landing to occur.

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 1
  • 10
  • 3
  • 2
  • 10
  • 3
  • 1
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

39
Online

16.0k
Users

37.6k
Topics

1.6m
Posts