• Does anyone worry they are drinking too much?
    We are told we should stick to a certain number of units of alcohol per week. Do you take notice of these guidelines or think it is medical nonsense?
    I have been drinking since I was 17 and am now 43. I think of those 26 years I have probably drunk over the recommended limit for 20 of them.
    I try to restrain myself by having 2 non drinking days  and do not go out drinking any  more. I only drink at work and at home.

• I am not a medical professional. So….

If you aren’t damaging your relationships or employment (you can drink at your job?) or spending all your money on booze, and and if you have the self-awareness to ask if you’re drinking to much, you probably don’t have a problem with alcohol. How much your consumption level is affecting your long term health is another question.

However you might want to see where you fit in with criteria at Psychology Today on drinking.

• Thanks. I feel like I am on the edge of what is safe and am aware I am not getting any younger. Wondered if anyone had any such thoughts.
    I have a small restaurant and have worked in the trade since I was 22, so have always relaxed with one or two and invariably went out to a bar/club after work.
    I do not drink before the evening or late afternoon on days off and rarely wake up thinking I have overindulged.
    As I said wondered if anyone else had these concerns.