Picked this up today; have a couple questions.

• First off, I’m completely new to A&A. I’ve been wanting to get into it for a long time, and I was very shocked to run into at Wal-Mart today. My girlfriend and I immediately bought it. We’ve begun a game (took us a while to get things going) and will have to continue it later this week. In the mean time, I have a couple of questions for all of you vets. I hope you don’t mind answering to an absolute newbie :)

1. Is this a good version to learn with? I’ve read that it’s a very simplified version, and it sure seems to be. Still, it seems like quite an undertaking.

2. Is the game fair enough for both sides being controlled by absolute newbies? I’ve read that the Axis have the advantage, which makes sense given the whole 1941 scenario. I’m playing as the Axis and am already getting beaten, but that’s not necessarily the point ;) We’d like to be able to give this game a decent lifespan without it getting boring.

3. In the instance that it does get a bit dull and/or we seem to outgrow it, what would be the next version to purchase? To me, the next logical step seems to be 1942 Second Edition. Looks to have a larger amount of pieces, much bigger board and greater unit diversity. Plus, it’s not TOO expensive. I wouldn’t mind shelling out 55 dollars for it assuming it’s a substantial upgrade from 1941.

4. A more direct gameplay question: can infantry take out tanks/aircraft? I hope so, because that’s how we’ve started it. Made for some very hilarious first encounters. If it isn’t possible, we’d also love to know that as well.

All in all, I see this becoming an excellent hobby. I just hope that 2 players is enough to enjoy it properly. Thanks for your time, guys. I know you know your stuff and I look forward to your replies.

• 1. Yes. Rules have been simplified.