The scramble would not prevent loading in the sea zone, but it would prevent offloading unless the scarmbled units are cleared. Scrambling is done at the end of the Combat Move phase (or at the beginning of the Conduct Combat phase in OOB), but the rules specify that scrambled units may defend against an amphibious assault with or without defending sea units.
Does the choice to launch kamikazes operate on the same principle as the choice to scramble planes?
I played a game recently wherein a player refused me the option to launch kamikazes on the basis that he didn’t move any surface warships (just transports) into the sea zone adjacent to the Philippines, which he was amphibiously assaulting.
As I understand it:
- kamikazes are launched in response to attacks on certain sea zones
- an amphibious assault can only proceed if a battle for a sea zone succeeds
- launching a kamikaze initiates a battle for a sea zone
- transports are not valid targets for kamikazes
Sooo… What happens in this situation?
Can I throw a kamikaze away just to thwart the invasion attempt on the Philippines?
Or, because the transport is not a valid target for the kamikaze, does the transport ‘win’ the sea battle, and the amphibious assault proceed as intended?
Thanks in advance, MIR