HBG's Global War 1939 FAQ



  • After invoke the vichy rule is vichy a axis member ?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    Yes  but can’t move. Only defend and axis pieces can move into Vichy controlled territory’s.



  • Hi,

    i got question about com china and their IPC income. Com china is only allowed to place 1 inf.
    If udssr declares war on Japan. Com. china is allowed to attack/move into japanese orignial landzones. These ipc generated by com china are move to udssr ? or the complete lost ?
    same question if com. china move into empty nat.china landzones.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    @Ju87Stuka:

    Hi,

    i got question about com china and their IPC income. Com china is only allowed to place 1 inf.
    If udssr declares war on Japan. Com. china is allowed to attack/move into japanese orignial landzones. These ipc generated by com china are move to udssr ? or the complete lost ?

    Com China can attack Japan at any time. Russia and Com. China can only attack together if Russia is at war with Japan. If Com. China captures a territory Russia doesn’t receive the money. Nobody collects it. Com. China can only capture a empty Nat. China territory and that icp is not collected for anybody.
    same question if com. china move into empty nat.china landzones.



  • Don’t know if anyone here still alive to answer me but here goes.

    Trying to understand the 7.2 rules but they seem to have been written by someone with a poor grasp of what a rulebook is suppose to be. A lot of is left implied. which is maddening because there’s a bunch of good ideas in there.

    • If Italy is still neutral on turn 1, can they still move units? buy stuff? get income? Not war obviously.
    • Minor axis are confusing me. They get their own income. Fine simple. They have to buy infantry with their seperate money they get. Okay. Not sure how they’ll ever manage to build more than 1 infantry every so often except Romania who makes 2, but hey! whatever. Germany also gets the printed value of the territory for himself. All good. Simple. Minor can build a max of 3 units in their own territory. k? Do they need an industrial complex? If no, then whats the point of the rule afterwards that says Germany can build a minor in their territory but not use it? But hey, Germany can build a major and use it. [insert 10 minutes of me typing incoherent rage towards the author and erasing here]

    -Pro neutrals that have more than one territory like Finland or Brazil. Does the pro side need to go into each territory or can they simply take one to get them all.

    • I’m guessing this is the same as global 1940 but the rules say nothing. UK moving into china is a declaration of war towards Japan. Meaning they can only do it from turn 3 and onwards.

    • All mainland japanesse territory apart from Korea are territories that originally belong to China.

    • Let’s say I have a german force moving into Moscow. Major IC gets demoted to minor. Right after, Russians move in and recapture Moscow. Since they took a minor IC, this one is destroyed? What if it’s another power liberating a territory from a country who’s capital has fallen.

    • IF Major ICs can only be built on native 3 value territory, why does karelia start with a major on a 2 value one??

    • Carriers can now scramble their fighters/tac to adjacent sea zone AND territories but air bases can still only do it to sea zone.

    • can I blitz through not yet activated pro- countries during the non-combat move?

    • The only real purpose of identifying territories with vichy france and free france markers is for where the french boats and french foreign legiona re going to go. Once those rolls are done, I can switch them back to UK and german/japan makers since they get the inco anyway.
      -Naval bases are now sea zone dependant. Which means the naval base in scotland only touches sz 15 and not sz 14 and 13.
      If so, does Madras get two for sz 67 and 66 or is it the same in the middle. Same for the one in south africa with sz 63 and 77.
      Following that logic, the naval base in Gibraltar only touches sz 35 abnd not 36. If so that is very silly.

    • Commie China never gets more than 1 infantry per turn, or any other unit even if they own all of China.

    Finally the supply rule. Which is pretty good. Real clear. Love the idea.
    But start of the game. Formosa. It’s got 2 veteran fighters. The island is not connected with a naval base but it has an air base.
    So at the start of the game, these 2 fighters start with penalties to combat and movement. Seems a bit silly.
    Rules say plane movement is halved. What happens if the plane movement is an odd number because of air base or technology? Round up/down?

    that’s it.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    @Undertaker:

    Don’t know if anyone here still alive to answer me but here goes.

    Trying to understand the 7.2 rules but they seem to have been written by someone with a poor grasp of what a rulebook is suppose to be. A lot of is left implied. which is maddening because there’s a bunch of good ideas in there.

    • If Italy is still neutral on turn 1, can they still move units? buy stuff? get income? Not war obviously.
      Yes and can attack UK

    • Minor axis are confusing me. They get their own income. Fine simple. They have to buy infantry with their seperate money they get. Okay. Not sure how they’ll ever manage to build more than 1 infantry every so often except Romania who makes 2, but hey! whatever. Germany also gets the printed value of the territory for himself. All good. Simple. Minor can build a max of 3 units in their own territory. k? Do they need an industrial complex? If no, then whats the point of the rule afterwards that says Germany can build a minor in their territory but not use it? But hey, Germany can build a major and use it. [insert 10 minutes of me typing incoherent rage towards the author and erasing here]
      The minors yes have minor IC. If you save money for 2 turns than u can buy a tank for them. The IC on axis minors are like make believe. You could put the minors country token under them and when Germany buys a IC put a country token under that IC. But once you play more no need for it. You will know you can build a axis minor unit a turn anyway.
      -Pro neutrals that have more than one territory like Finland or Brazil. Does the pro side need to go into each territory or can they simply take one to get them all.

    If you go in to the territory with the capital of a pro neutral then that activates all territories to your side. Other  wise it�s one territory at a time.

    • I’m guessing this is the same as global 1940 but the rules say nothing. UK moving into china is a declaration of war towards Japan. Meaning they can only do it from turn 3 and onwards.
      Correct

    • All mainland japanesse territory apart from Korea are territories that originally belong to China.

    • Let’s say I have a german force moving into Moscow. Major IC gets demoted to minor. Right after, Russians move in and recapture Moscow. Since they took a minor IC, this one is destroyed? YESWhat if it’s another power liberating a territory from a country who’s capital has fallen.Still Destroyed ic.

    • IF Major ICs can only be built on native 3 value territory, why does karelia start with a major on a 2 value one?? Just a starting setup

    • Carriers can now scramble their fighters/tac to adjacent sea zone AND territories but air bases can still only do it to sea zone.Correct

    • can I blitz through not yet activated pro- countries during the non-combat move? Yes Germany can activate the 3 minors on turn 1 plus Finland

    • The only real purpose of identifying territories with vichy france and free france markers is for where the french boats and french foreign legiona re going to go. Once those rolls are done, I can switch them back to UK and german/japan makers since they get the inco anyway.No but get income
      -Naval bases are now sea zone dependant. Which means the naval base in scotland only touches sz 15 and not sz 14 and 13.
      If so, does Madras get two for sz 67 and 66 or is it the same in the middle. Same for the one in south africa with sz 63 and 77.
      Following that logic, the naval base in Gibraltar only touches sz 35 abnd not 36. If so that is very silly.

    • Commie China never gets more than 1 infantry per turn, or any other unit even if they own all of China. Correct

    Finally the supply rule. Which is pretty good. Real clear. Love the idea.
    But start of the game. Formosa. It’s got 2 veteran fighters. The island is not connected with a naval base but it has an air base.
    So at the start of the game, these 2 fighters start with penalties to combat and movement. Seems a bit silly.
    Rules say plane movement is halved. What happens if the plane movement is an odd number because of air base or technology? Round up/down? This rule I have not used in game. I would need to go back and check.
    Best not to use.

    that’s it.



  • Thanks for the quick reply.

    -While I have you attention, is there any picture of the revised map anywhere on the web that’s not made for ants? I’m trying to see the difference in borders but the picture for ants on boardgame geeks is the only one I could find.

    -Naval bases are sea zone dependant? So I have to build one in a territory specially for a particular sea zone? Which means the naval base in scotland only touches sz 15 and not sz 14 and 13.
    If so, does Madras get two for sz 67 and 66 or is it the same in the middle. Same for the one in south africa with sz 63 and 77.
    Following that logic, the naval base in Gibraltar only touches sz 35 abnd not 36.

    • For south Africa and India, it says I have to produce a required amount of infantry on the factory. Is the amount required every turn or simply when the factory is being used.

    • And finally, can players that play on the same turn, like the commonwealth use the same transports as if they were the same power or do I have to fall back on the transports rules of axis and allies? For example 2 canadian transports carrying and dropping 1 anzac, 2 british and one FEC unit.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    @Undertaker:

    Thanks for the quick reply.

    -While I have you attention, is there any picture of the revised map anywhere on the web that’s not made for ants? I’m trying to see the difference in borders but the picture for ants on boardgame geeks is the only one I could find.

    -Naval bases are sea zone dependant? So I have to build one in a territory specially for a particular sea zone? Which means the naval base in scotland only touches sz 15 and not sz 14 and 13. Its in sz 14
    If so, does Madras get two for sz 67 and 66 or is it the same in the middle. Same for the one in south africa with sz 63 and 77.
    Following that logic, the naval base in Gibraltar only touches sz 35 abnd not 36. Correct. Also 2 naval bases go into Hong Kong.

    • For south Africa and India, it says I have to produce a required amount of infantry on the factory. Is the amount required every turn or simply when the factory is being used. Only if you buy and place there for those factories.

    • And finally, can players that play on the same turn, like the commonwealth use the same transports as if they were the same power or do I have to fall back on the transports rules of axis and allies? For example 2 canadian transports carrying and dropping 1 anzac, 2 british and one FEC unit. UK, Fec and Anzac all play on same turn. But you have to wait a turn to unload from another countries transports.

    Heres a map pic. You need to download the setup sheets for 7.2. That will tell you where everything goes.

    image1(27).png



  • Thanks. Any pic of the entire map?
    All the pics on the net are made for ants.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    Heres a pic of map on my 5’ x 12’ custom table at “The Generals Fortress”. Only way to show whole map.

    Thats Stalins Great grandson playing Russia !!!

    image1(12).png



  • Rules say you can’t build a factory in a territory that wasn’t originally yours at the start of the game.
    The only exception is siam where you can build both a minor or major starting turn 3.
    Hungary, Romania and Bulgaria can all get a minor built by Germany in them which is not tied to their seperate magical invinsible IC.
    The rules state that Germany can’t use the minor built in these territories. So if I understand, the only reason you’d want to do such a useless action would be to eventually upgrade that minor IC in Hungary or Romania into a major. At which point you could get the complete 10 production for germany in that territory which isnt affected by the magical spawning minor axis power unit.

    Let’s say I build a naval base in Romania or bulgaria, can I accumulate my money with those power for a few turns and build a battleship in sea zone 43?

    Otherwise, the only way to get a working IC in enemy territory is to capture major one from an enemy which will then get demoted to a minor.

    As for China I just realised I was implying rules from 1940 and the rules for this game never talked about certain things. Both Communist and nationalist china have capitals. Does Nationalist China lose it’s money ton invaders if Szechwan falls? Does the capture of Pingliang stop the spawning of commie chinamen?

    Again sorry to be bothering you this much. Me and a dude playalot of these games and we want to be sure we understand everything before we play. When you play a game that’s 12+ hours and one small unclear rule can change the entire thing.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    @Undertaker:

    Rules say you can’t build a factory in a territory that wasn’t originally yours at the start of the game.
    The only exception is siam where you can build both a minor or major starting turn 3. Nope no major. Japan can only build minor ics.
    Hungary, Romania and Bulgaria can all get a minor built by Germany in them which is not tied to their seperate magical invinsible IC.
    The rules state that Germany can’t use the minor built in these territories. So if I understand, the only reason you’d want to do such a useless action would be to eventually upgrade that minor IC in Hungary or Romania into a major. At which point you could get the complete 10 production for germany in that territory which isnt affected by the magical spawning minor axis power unit. Heres what we do to understand it better in game. You make all strict neutrals white. Pro -axis rust. Pro-allies dark green. Hungry dark grey. Romania yellow. Bulgeria light grey. Finland off blue.
    Now when you build for each minor for Germany turn after activation you know what you built for them. So just say normal buy on Ger T2
    Finland = 1 off blue inf  collect 3
    Hungry = 1 D. grey inf  collect 3
    Romania = 1 Yellow tank  collect 6
    Bulgeria = 1 L. grey mech.  collect 4
    Ger = Black  collect What ever it is
    So now you have 5 builds for all.
    Germany cannot upgrade a Axis Minor IC.
    Germany can buy a Minor or Major IC for Hungry, Romania and Bulgeria. Most choices is Minor in Romania then upgrade to Major or buy a Major.
    If you capture a Major IC yes it goes down to a Minor IC but if the territory is worth 3 icps then thats the only place you can build and upgrade to a Major IC. Like Paris you capture it goes to a Minor IC then you can upgrade it to a major IC. But if allies capture Paris then it down grades to a Minor IC and the allies can build it back up to a Major IC

    Let’s say I build a naval base in Romania or bulgaria, can I accumulate my money with those power for a few turns and build a battleship in sea zone 43? Yes but would sit there and move inside strait unless you as axis control Turkey.

    Otherwise, the only way to get a working IC in enemy territory is to capture major one from an enemy which will then get demoted to a minor.

    As for China I just realised I was implying rules from 1940 and the rules for this game never talked about certain things. Both Communist and nationalist china have capitals. Does Nationalist China lose it’s money ton invaders if Szechwan falls? NO Does the capture of Pingliang stop the spawning of commie chinamen? YES

    Again sorry to be bothering you this much. Me and a dude playalot of these games and we want to be sure we understand everything before we play. When you play a game that’s 12+ hours and one small unclear rule can change the entire thing.



  • Nope no major. Japan can only build minor ics in siam

    Page 25 of the global 1939 rules v7.2 say: Siam receives 1 infantry per turn, every turn, starting from the round after activation by Japan. Japan can build a Minor or Major IC in Siam.

    Then on page 30: Japan can build a Minor IC only in Siam starting on turn 3.


  • '14

    @Undertaker:

    Nope no major. Japan can only build minor ics in siam

    Page 25 of the global 1939 rules v7.2 say: Siam receives 1 infantry per turn, every turn, starting from the round after activation by Japan. Japan can build a Minor or Major IC in Siam.
    I think it should say Minor IC only. I’ll look back on the rules this weekend and make sure.
    Then on page 30: Japan can build a Minor IC only in Siam starting on turn 3.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    @Undertaker:

    Nope no major. Japan can only build minor ics in siam

    Page 25 of the global 1939 rules v7.2 say: Siam receives 1 infantry per turn, every turn, starting from the round after activation by Japan. Japan can build a Minor or Major IC in Siam.

    Then on page 30: Japan can build a Minor IC only in Siam starting on turn 3.

    We always played get 1 inf after activation and couldn’t build a minor until turn 3. If Japan could build a major game over.



  • Can bombers drop paratroopers in enemy territories without friendly units attacking from the ground/amphibious assault?

    Some units like the US paratrooper and the Japanese infantry can get a +1 from various things.

    Do these bonus stack? Ex. A US marine gets +1 in an amphibious assault and there’s an artillery with it so another +1= attacking at 5.
    Or is their combat value capped. Ex. The US marines get +1 in an amphibious assault OR an artillery because his combat value is 3(4) in the unit list and not 3(4-5)


  • Sponsor

    Commie China never gets more than 1 infantry per turn, or any other unit even if they own all of China. Correct

    This is not correct. CCP can build as many units as they can afford, but only place 3/territory. There is also a special recruitment roll based on territories possessed.


  • Sponsor

    Can bombers drop paratroopers in enemy territories without friendly units attacking from the ground/amphibious assault?

    Yes

    Do these bonus stack? Ex. A US marine gets +1 in an amphibious assault and there’s an artillery with it so another +1= attacking at 5.
    Or is their combat value capped. Ex. The US marines get +1 in an amphibious assault OR an artillery because his combat value is 3(4) in the unit list and not 3(4-5)

    Marines do not get +1, they just attack at 3 and have no double casualties. The artillery cannot land until round 2, and then the marines have +1.

    But combat value is not capped and bonus do stack–there is no prohibition against this in the rules but it would be rare.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    Here’s your pic Marc

    image0.png



  • @SS-GEN said in HBG's Global War 1939 FAQ:

    Here’s your pic Marc

    image0.png

    Thanks 🙂 . But I don’t see in this picture name of units.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    image0(1).png


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 15
  • 23
  • 4
  • 7
  • 6
  • 15
  • 11
  • 9
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

31
Online

13.6k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts