HBG's Global War 1939 FAQ

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16

    @Tigerman77:

    Give me 24 hours and ill clarify for you.

    I’m pretty sure it’s been more than 24 hours…

    We have come up with an additional question as well: If a bomber carries a paratrooper into combat does the bomber get to engage in combat as we’ll as the paratrooper.

    Marsh

  • '14

    No. If the bomber is loaded with an airborne unit it is considered a transport for that turn.

  • '18 '17 '16 '15 Customizer

    I just started trying to learn Global 1939 for the first time on the revised map, and to be completely honest I am confused.

    On the 6.1 set up chart, it has Germany starting at 52 IPC’s, but I don’t know what this 24 production is.

    Is this the maximum amount of units that can be produced by Germany in a turn?

    It says in political situation that Minor Axis powers have a fixed income that they begin collecting on the turn they are activated by Germany.

    Example: � Romania collects a fixed income of 6 production per turn. Germany only receives 4 production per turn for owning Romania.

    Shouldn’t this say 6 IPC’s, instead of production?

    It also says in the political situation that Minor Axis powers are limited to producing a maximum of 3 units per turn in their original territories. All production generated from territories captured by Minor Axis forces go to Germany.

    Again, there is that word again, “production.”

    Again, does this mean IPC’s or what does it mean?

    I assuming that Romania can’t conquer territories for themselves, because essentially, their conquering territories for Germany.

    Is this correct?

    If so, they only get 6 IPC’s per turn.

    How can they produce 3 units, their maximum?

    The only way I see that being possible, is that they don’t spend for a turn or two and save their IPC’s.

    Is this correct?

    I’m assuming they can’t build industrial complexes in their own country because they are fighting for Germany, and this is why Germany can build IC in Romania because what would be the point for Romania to build one?

    They can’t expand past Romania.

    I’m just confused.

    Can someone help me here?

    I would appreciate it!

    John

  • '14

    1. Production means: IPC’s produced per turn. So germany starts turn 1 with 52 ipcs but is only producing 24 per turn….+/- whatever they have gained or lost.

    2. Romania is only worth 4 ipcs per turn when an axis country activates them. But, Romania will collect a separate income, or production, of 6 ipcs per turn. They may choose to save or spend ipcs like a regular counrty but may not build more than 3 units per turn. All minor axis countries conqour under the umbrella of the country who activated them.

    Hope this has cleared thing up.

  • '18 '17 '16 '15 Customizer

    @Tigerman77:

    1. Production means: IPC’s produced per turn. So germany starts turn 1 with 52 ipcs but is only producing 24 per turn….+/- whatever they have gained or lost.

    2. Romania is only worth 4 ipcs per turn when an axis country activates them. But, Romania will collect a separate income, or production, of 6 ipcs per turn. They may choose to save or spend ipcs like a regular counrty but may not build more than 3 units per turn. All minor axis countries conqour under the umbrella of the country who activated them.

    Hope this has cleared thing up.

    Ok, that clears it up. Thanks Tigerman77.

    I forgot that 24 is the territory amount and 52 is the money amount. I looked on the Global map, and I believe I accounted for Germanys 24 territorial amount.

    In the OOB games, they have the starting IPC’s the same as the territorial amount, and I think that was where my confusion was.

    I still relatively new to this game.

    Thanks again for answering my questions. 🙂

    John

  • '14

    No problem.  Im trying to keep up with the clarifications and explanations mas much as possible. If I dont respond to a comment or question please dont get upset. Working 80+ hours a week at my day job and have a newborn on the way!

  • '18 '17 '16 '15 Customizer

    @Tigerman77:

    No problem.  Im trying to keep up with the clarifications and explanations mas much as possible. If I dont respond to a comment or question please dont get upset. Working 80+ hours a week at my day job and have a newborn on the way!

    No worries. I know how hard you guys work. I own my own business too. I know how hard it is in business and now you have another mouth to feed. I hope I didn’t sound upset. If I did, I’m sorry. I was just confused on the 2 numbers and wanted to make sure I understood it.

    Thanks again! 🙂

    John

  • '14

    My last comment wasn’t directed towards anyone in particular but to everyone who has asked a question that I havent answered yet.  Keep asking and ill finally respond.

  • '18 '17 '16 '15 Customizer

    @Tigerman77:

    My last comment wasn’t directed towards anyone in particular but to everyone who has asked a question that I havent answered yet.  Keep asking and ill finally respond.Â

    Oh ok, I just wanted to make sure. 🙂

    Thanks,

    Tigerman77


  • A few questions

    1. Can bombers land in any territory when used as a transport or do they need an airbase?

    2. what territory controls french naval base in sz 53 ?

    3. If french units are not in french territories when vichey roles happen are they free french, and what about naval units? (if paris doesn’t fall until round 2)

    4. is aa built into factories or do you need an aa gun for sbr attacks?

    thank you

  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    1. Any territory you have owned since the start of your turn. UNLESS you are playing with optional airbase rules.

    2. Will answer later. But I believe this is in reference to Rio De Oro?

    3. Land units are not clarified. I would play that if they are not in French territories, they stay free French.  Makes the most sense.  As for ships. You roll for them no matter where they hide.

    4.AA is built in.


  • Japan dow UK before USA is at full production. (lets say to make this clear its turn 1)
    USA in turn dow on Japan…
    Does USA now get full production ? Or must it still roll dice and whatnot for income ?


  • As soon as Japan declares war against the US, the US is at full production.


  • @Moose11:

    As soon as Japan declares war against the US, the US is at full production.

    You did not even read my question 😛

    Anyways i found it i think…In this scenario USA does not go to full production but gets +25 to income along with dice rolls on their next turn.
    So USA dow on japan but is still rolling dice for income ?


  • Convoy zones/raiding isn’t 100% clear either…
    The way im reading into it: You move your ships into a convoy zone during noncombat move (or combat if there are enemy ships). Then that power must either destroy your ships during his turn or lose the extra income. A convoy is like any other seazone for movement purposes.

    Correct ?
    It also needs a bolded larger worded easier to find spot in the rule book imo, this is a major difference from any other A&A game and its just a normal paragraph buried on page 8 or whatever.


  • Convoy zones/raiding isn’t 100% clear either…
    The way im reading into it: You move your ships into a convoy zone during noncombat move (or combat if there are enemy ships).  Moving into a convoy zone is a combat move as you are interdicting supplies.

    Then that power must either destroy your ships during his turn or lose the extra income. A convoy is like any other seazone for movement purposes.  Correct.

    Anyways i found it i think…In this scenario USA does not go to full production but gets +25 to income along with dice rolls on their next turn.  Correct.
    So USA dow on japan but is still rolling dice for income ?  Sorry, I read this wrong.  USA cannot declare war until it is at full production.  Once the die roll plus bonuses from Axis war actions bring the income to 80, USA can declare war.  Not before.


  • Thanks i got it now 😉

  • '14

    Pm me your email and ill send you the proposed 7.2


  • When Japan use sneak attack, can he choose strategic bombing raids for one of its battle?


  • I think so.


  • Hi,

    got a question to the Rocket Tech for the AA Guns. Its the same rule from the Global 1940 2nd except with the firing range ?

    thx

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Customizer

    John Brown, have HBGing come out with the new 39 rules and setup up for 2nd edition map ?

  • '18 '17 '16 '15 Customizer

    @SS:

    John Brown, have HBGing come out with the new 39 rules and setup up for 2nd edition map ?

    SS, unfortunately, it has been delayed. They say it is coming, but they are still working on it. Other than that, that is all I know.


  • how many armies are in the global 1939 game cause I’m wondering if I need the supplement set or if I don’t cause I own the games axis and allies 1940 global, 1941, 1942, and 1914 do I need the set or just the map to be able to play thanks,

    Ian Rogers
    :? 😞 😄 😄

  • '18 '17 '16 '15 Customizer

    @118karate:

    how many armies are in the global 1939 game cause I’m wondering if I need the supplement set or if I don’t cause I own the games axis and allies 1940 global, 1941, 1942, and 1914 do I need the set or just the map to be able to play thanks,

    Ian Rogers
    :? 😞 😄 😄

    Hi 118karate, you will need to make a supplement set, because HBG are out of them. It will take some money to gather everything you will need. Contact Historical Board Gaming, and they can tell you what you will need, because it is a lot.

    Consider it an investment, but if you like in depth game, these games can be a lot of fun. You can also see everything you will need on boardgamegeek.com. Go to the search bar and type Global 1939, and close to the bottom middle of the page, there is a link for the 7.2 rules and set up. I believe it is 39 pages of rules and several pages for the setup.

    I would provide you links, but I don’t know how to do that.

    I hope this helps. 🙂

    john

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 2
  • 9
  • 6
  • 4
  • 5
  • 5
  • 4
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

52
Online

15.4k
Users

36.7k
Topics

1.5m
Posts