• I’m by no means a beginner to Axis & Allies, I played the '99 Europe version extensively and played AA50 to death. I played a mean Japan in '50, but in global 1940 I feel like Japan has absolutely no chance to do well. Having to fight the Chinese, ANZAC, the UK, and the US simultaneously is just not feasible on Japan’s income.

I’ve tried a few different strategies as well. It seems like Japan can really only focus on one theatre at a time, so I’ve played games focusing on the south pacific, I’ve tried taking the fight to the Americans, and I’ve tried keeping the US out and focusing entirely on China until round 4 before branching off elsewhere. Yet no matter what i do, Japan gets trounced in the end. It certainly doesn’t help that Russia can send 18 infantry down your throat from the get go.

So how do the pros do it? I’d love to hear opinions, preferably from those with experience with a US player that goes all Pacific (this is what normally happens in my games).

• I don’t know if Japan can win if US goes all pacific. But I think that the game balance is setup so that US can’t afford to go all out pacific because Germany/Italy should be able to win in Europe without some US help. You can get trounced and even lose your Japanese capital but still come out on top when Germany takes moscow and then races down for Egypt. I don’t know what you do as the axis, but maybe you should look more towards your German/Italian strats if you’re struggling to win in Europe without US riding in like the cavalry.

If US is going full out pacific, I play extremely defensive and try not to lose pieces when I don’t need to. I wave goodbye to trying to take India, New S. Wales, and/or Hawaii. Instead my main focus is conserving the Japanese strength, looking for holes in the allied D, and generally resist making any major attacks at all unless I can inflict serious casualties. The only really offensive moves I make tend to be attacks to keep China dead/weak.