TripleA map for Global 1940 Alpha Final

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Panther’s post reminds me:

    SBR’s for tacs and bombers going after different targets and stuff

  • Moderator Official Q&A 2023 '22 '21 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 '12 TripleA

    On
    http://www.harrisgamedesign.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?p=63087#p63087
    Krieghund points out a rule change from Alpha3 to 2nd Ed. that I did not notice before:

    @Krieghund:

    In the Alpha 3 rules, the application of Soviet neutrality was absolute, based on the two maps. For instance, if the USSR were only at war with Japan, Japan could not move into Soviet territories on the Europe map, and Germany and Italy (not at war with the USSR) could move into captured Soviet territories on the Pacific map.

    In the 2nd edition rules, this has been changed so that powers at war with the USSR can move into Soviet territories on either map, and powers not at war with the USSR cannot move into captured Soviet territories on the other map. Using the same example, Japan could attack Soviet territories on the Europe map, and Germany and Italy could not move into captured Soviet territories on the Pacific map.

    I don’t know how this is handled in TripleA, actually.
    But i wanted to mention it to be sure that it does not get lost.

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Oh my goodness.

    No wonder there’s so much confusion about the rules of G40.  That’s crazy.


  • @P@nther:

    On
    http://www.harrisgamedesign.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?p=63087#p63087
    Krieghund points out a rule change from Alpha3 to 2nd Ed. that I did not notice before:

    @Krieghund:

    In the Alpha 3 rules, the application of Soviet neutrality was absolute, based on the two maps. For instance, if the USSR were only at war with Japan, Japan could not move into Soviet territories on the Europe map, and Germany and Italy (not at war with the USSR) could move into captured Soviet territories on the Pacific map.

    In the 2nd edition rules, this has been changed so that powers at war with the USSR can move into Soviet territories on either map, and powers not at war with the USSR cannot move into captured Soviet territories on the other map. Using the same example, Japan could attack Soviet territories on the Europe map, and Germany and Italy could not move into captured Soviet territories on the Pacific map.

    I don’t know how this is handled in TripleA, actually.
    But i wanted to mention it to be sure that it does not get lost.

    Well, this doesn’t come up often while the USSR is not at war.  In fact, I don’t know if I’ve seen Japan attack the USSR while they were still neutral with Germany.

    If Germany is attacking in Siberia then the game is probably over.

  • Customizer

    @ seazone thing
    Fixed already in triplea 1.7, is engine related.

    @ sub thing (this is the “casualty choosing” thing also)
    This is on my list, but won’t be done anytime soon. It is engine related.

    @ sbrs for tacs and bombers going for diff targets
    This is on my list, but won’t be done anytime soon. It is engine related.

    @ soviet politics thing
    TripleA handles the new 2nd edition rules version of this correctly


  • I wanted to mention just for completeness so to be sure that it does not get lost.

    @ghr2:

    Can you choose to not place your purchased units just for the sake of it?  I know if u are unable, it is reimbursed money, but can you just choose not to place?

    The answer is that you MUST place all units that you bought as long as you have capacity.

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28562.465

    TripleA handled it differently, I think it is an engine related.

    And i mean Bloodfresh mention a situation that Dutch New Guinea is occupied from US, but Anzac and UK Pacific not receive the PU´s for the NO. Maybe we have to wait for an answer from him if he made an official bug report.

    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28562.510

  • Customizer

    TripleA has a different take on it than Larry.

    If you are dumb enough to purchase units that you do not actually want to place, then TripleA forces you to go to the bathroom and give yourself a swirly.


  • Thxs Veqryn are you always so polite and diplomatic!  8-)

    The Situation was the following. Germany buys 8 Transports for a sealion but he forget the russian subs that could sink all the transports, because there was no dd present. If he noticed that he did not place his transports and so they were save, but the rules are clearly in this case, his answer was: i always can do this in tripleA so it is allowed but it isen´t.

    I guess it is a lot of work for you to fix it and i mention it only because TripleA handel this different, thats all.
    Maybe you can mention it in the notes, that is allow in tripleA but not in Larry´s Game rules!

  • Customizer

    @Babubaer:

    but he forget the russian subs that could sink all the transports, because there was no dd present.

    Swirly time!

    :mrgreen:

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Veqryn, there is a nuance of the game that you’re missing.

    I am attacking a destroyer with 2 fighters with ANZAC in a game right now.  I am buying a transport.  If my fighters fail, I would not want to place my transport because he will just sink it with the destroyer.

    It is significant that the rules prohibit me from holding it back.  Triple A allows people to hold it back, and then you might have to prove to them that the rules prohibit that (and it’s not terribly clear in the rulebook, so you might have to go and get Krieghund to say it again).

    So it would be nice if you either fixed it, or put a note in that says it doesn’t do it properly, just as Babubaer suggested.


  • Wait, I thought if you didn’t or couldn’t place all your units in triplea then you lose them?

    Also- you ‘can’ place your transport and it would not die until Japan’s turn and he left the DD in the SZ.  Perhaps there is a French DD in range or fighters that can scramble in the SZ?


  • @BJCard:

    Wait, I thought if you didn’t or couldn’t place all your units in triplea then you lose them?

    No, you don´t loose them.


  • @Babubaer:

    @BJCard:

    Wait, I thought if you didn’t or couldn’t place all your units in triplea then you lose them?

    No, you don´t loose them.

    Guess I never tried it.  So you can place them the next turn?  wild.


  • Yes, you can place them the next turn, like you want.  8-)

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    @BJCard:

    Also- you ‘can’ place your transport and it would not die until Japan’s turn and he left the DD in the SZ.  Perhaps there is a French DD in range or fighters that can scramble in the SZ?

    Uh - no.

    New South Wales doesn’t have an airbase.  There were no allied ships in range.  That’s beside the point anyway.

    My fighters succeeded, although I lost half of them  :x

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    TripleA lets you carry them over

    The rule book says you never carry units over.  If you bought more than you can legally place, you get your money back for the excess units.  Then you could buy something different the next turn.

    Point is, the rule does make a difference, and Triple A doesn’t follow it.
    There are times when carrying units over to the next turn is an unfair, illegal advantage whether Veqryn recognizes it or not.  Doesn’t matter too much, as Veqryn always says, follow the rulebook and not Triple A.  I will not allow my opponents to carry units over to the next turn because it’s illegal.  You must place all units if you have the capacity, and no, they don’t always deserve a swirly because adverse combat dice rolls might have caused the problem.

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Here’s another example.

    Russia has 39 IPC’s and buys 13 infantry.  The only complexes Russia controls are Moscow and Stalingrad.  The Russian player intends to attack some German infantry in Rostov and leave an infantry blocker to keep the German tank and mech stack in the Ukraine from storming Stalingrad next turn.

    The dice fail him, and the Russian player loses all his infantry in the attack on Rostov, and is unable to block.  Now he doesn’t want to place 3 infantry in Stalingrad because they will get annihilated and probably only score 1 hit on a mech.  He would much rather have the 3 extra infantry in Moscow the next turn, now that he knows the attack in Rostov failed.

    Triple A would let him hold it back, and a lot of players would probably assume it’s legal.  But like Veqryn says in his disclaimer, it’s the players’ responsibility to know the rules.  Might as well make a note of it if you’re not going to fix it, though.  I mean, there are a lot of rules and most players don’t bother to learn every single one accurately.  They’re going to depend on the engine sometimes.


  • @Gamerman01:

    @BJCard:

    Also- you ‘can’ place your transport and it would not die until Japan’s turn and he left the DD in the SZ.  Perhaps there is a French DD in range or fighters that can scramble in the SZ?

    Uh - no.

    New South Wales doesn’t have an airbase.  There were no allied ships in range.  That’s beside the point anyway.

    My fighters succeeded, although I lost half of them  :x

    Was only offering suggestions.  Maybe you bought an airbase?  Anyway, unlikely that 1 DD would take out 2 planes.


  • @Gamerman01:

    Here’s another example.

    Russia has 39 IPC’s and buys 13 infantry.  The only complexes Russia controls are Moscow and Stalingrad.  The Russian player intends to attack some German infantry in Rostov and leave an infantry blocker to keep the German tank and mech stack in the Ukraine from storming Stalingrad next turn.

    The dice fail him, and the Russian player loses all his infantry in the attack on Rostov, and is unable to block.  Now he doesn’t want to place 3 infantry in Stalingrad because they will get annihilated and probably only score 1 hit on a mech.  He would much rather have the 3 extra infantry in Moscow the next turn, now that he knows the attack in Rostov failed.

    Triple A would let him hold it back, and a lot of players would probably assume it’s legal.  But like Veqryn says in his disclaimer, it’s the players’ responsibility to know the rules.  Might as well make a note of it if you’re not going to fix it, though.  I mean, there are a lot of rules and most players don’t bother to learn every single one accurately.  They’re going to depend on the engine sometimes.

    Um?  Well if Russia held 3 Infantry back than they may not be able to place them next turn if they plan to build in Moscow?  Having 3 units placed in Ukr is worth more than 3 units you may be able to place nest turn.

    Anyway, moot point as its not legal anyway.


  • @Gamerman01:

    Triple A would let him hold it back, and a lot of players would probably assume it’s legal.  But like Veqryn says in his disclaimer, it’s the players’ responsibility to know the rules.  Might as well make a note of it if you’re not going to fix it, though.  I mean, there are a lot of rules and most players don’t bother to learn every single one accurately.  They’re going to depend on the engine sometimes.

    Very nice russian example Gamerman01!

    Absolutely, one more reason to fix that problem or take it in the notes, because it’s like gamerman says many players probably assume it´s legal but it isen´t.

  • Customizer

    Ahem,

    According to Revised and older rules, you lose any and all units that you do not place.  TripleA handles this correctly.

    According to AA50 and Spring 1942 rules, you do not lose units you don’t place, you get to try to place them next round.  TripleA handles this correctly.

    According to Global 1942 rules, you must place all units if you can, and ones you can’t get refunded.  TripleA handles it according to AA50 rules instead.

    Since gamerman was able to come up with an example that doesn’t deserve a swirly, I’ll add it to the list of stuff to do.

    Also, FYI, there are 2 types of “bugs” in triplea: real bugs (bugs that are forced on you), and incompleteness bugs (bugs not forced on you)

    Examples:
    A real bug would be TripleA disallowing a valid move.
    An incompleteness bug would be TripleA allowing an invalid move.

    While I do aim to fix everything possible, my time and energy is limited.
    Real bugs take priority.
    Incompleteness bugs are a very low priority because “you know the rules and be playing by the rules”.

    Just like in a real face to face game, there is nothing really stopping me from moving my bomber 9 spaces.  But you don’t because you want to play by the rules.
    So, disclaimer again: know the rules and play by them.

  • 2023 '22 '15 '11 '10 Official Q&A Moderator

    Cool, thanks

  • '16 '15 '10

    @Veqryn:

    anything else i need to change (that is specific to this map) ?

    Perhaps you’ve already dealt with it, but last time I played the VC victory conditions don’t quite work right.  Not a playability bug, but it causes confusion sometimes.

    Another minor thing is add/remove units in edit mode for China.  This can cause problems because if you remove the fighter it can’t be added back (without going back and redoing everything).

  • Customizer

    The proper VC victory condition is in the game notes.

    I changed how the Engine determines what units you can add with edit mode.
    Previously, you could only add whatever units you could produce (which for China would normally be just infantry).  This was done because the engine does not know what units you have “artwork” for.
    Later I changed it to see what units you currently already have, and add those as possibilities.
    Now I’ve updated it again so that it will actually check what unit images are in your image folder, and allow any of those as well.

  • Customizer

    Global 1940 2nd Edition, version 3.7 is released

    download it now!

    changes from 3.6 to 3.7:

    1. fixed japanese national objective so that if germany/italy takes india and/or the other power centers in asia, that japan gets her money

    2. allowed rockets to gang up on infrastructure

    3. Added some things to the game notes about what is NOT covered by the engine (and therefore, what you need to manually keep in mind):

    Rules the engine does not do, but you must follow:

    • Do not allow blitzing or movement through Friendly Neutrals.
    • Air units may not land in or move through Friendly Neutrals, including the same turn they are captured.
    • Friendly Neutrals can not be ‘captured’ with an AA Gun, only by land units with an attack power.
    • Air units may not move through Unfriendly Neutrals unless they are attacking them.
    • Air units may not move through a Neutral territory IF that neutral territory had been attacked on some previous turn by some power (because technically that neutral stops being neutral at that point, and joins the other side).
    • If UK Pacific captures Japan, the money goes to UK Pacific, even if UK Pacific’s capital is occupied.
    • Do not allow USA movement to end in any Sea Zone that touches a Japanese owned territory (Sea Zones 6, 17, 19, 20, 22, 32, 33, 34, 36, and 37).
    • You must place all units you purchased if you are able to, or as many as you can. Any units not placed get refunded to you (triplea instead carries them over to the next turn).
    • The victory conditions must be held for a full continuous round after they are achieved (so for example if Italy takes Egypt as the 8th European VC, then the Axis must hold 8 VCs continuously until Italy’s next turn).

    Lastly, I wish to introduce 2 things that everyone may not know already exist within the TripleA engine:

    1. Edit Move Units
    To “Edit Move”, you must first be in some movement phase.  
    Then turn on Edit Mode.
    On the right side you see some tabs: “Action” tab, and “Edit” tab, and other tabs.
    When you turn on edit mode, you switch automatically to the ‘edit tab’.  However you can still perform ‘actions’ during edit mode, and edit mode changes those actions to reflect that you are in edit mode.
    So now click on the “Action” tab, and then move the units just like you would normally.
    Because you are in edit mode, the movement validation is turned off, so this allows you to basically move units where-ever you want, including moving enemy units, or even making an enemy attack, or loading transports, etc.

    2. Game Comments (aka: a way to tell what fighter is on what carrier, among other things)
    Click “View” menu, then select “Show Comment Log”
    From there, you can type out and add comments to the game.  The comments will go into the History Panel, and be permanently added to the game save.
    Things you could possibly use this for: telling your opponent which fighter is on which carrier, when you have a mixed-nation fleet.

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 4
  • 4
  • 7
  • 7
  • 3
  • 27
  • 3
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

45
Online

16.4k
Users

38.2k
Topics

1.6m
Posts