Global 1939 Variant questions



  • Hey guys, I’m a new member to the A&A forums but I’ve been using these forums for quite a while for all my Axis and Allies questions and I happen to have a couple of clarification questions for HBG’s 1939 variant map and rule set.

    • It mentions that when/if Holland is attacked by Germany then all Dutch territories become Pro-Allies, I get that, but it doesn’t specify if Japan can attack unactivated Dutch territories (territories that haven’t been occupied by the Allies) without going to war with UK/Commonwealth/etc. I would assume that since it doesn’t mention it then its okay to attack them, but I know in the 1940 version if Japan attacks the DEI then that counts as a declation of war with UK/Anzac/US so I just wanted to clarify that.

    • I studied the updated tech chart, which I think is a better way to do technology by the way, but when I looked at the rules it didn’t specify if its 1d12 or 1d6 that is rolled when you purchase a tech role. I would assume that its 1d12 since the combat mechanics have been modified to a d12 system, however I know it says you roll a d6 to repair capital ships so I know the d12 isn’t true for everything.

    I can’t think of any other questions at this point but I’m sure they’ll come up and I appreciate any feed back I get. Thanks guys


  • '14

    It mentions that when/if Holland is attacked by Germany then all Dutch territories become Pro-Allies, I get that, but it doesn’t specify if Japan can attack unactivated Dutch territories (territories that haven’t been occupied by the Allies) without going to war with UK/Commonwealth/etc. I would assume that since it doesn’t mention it then its okay to attack them, but I know in the 1940 version if Japan attacks the DEI then that counts as a declation of war with UK/Anzac/US so I just wanted to clarify that.

    If Japan attacks the DEI while they are strict neutral then there is no decleration of war. If Japan attacks thhe DEI while pro allied or with Allied units in the zones it will be a decleration of war against the UK/commonwealth.

    I studied the updated tech chart, which I think is a better way to do technology by the way, but when I looked at the rules it didn’t specify if its 1d12 or 1d6 that is rolled when you purchase a tech role. I would assume that its 1d12 since the combat mechanics have been modified to a d12 system, however I know it says you roll a d6 to repair capital ships so I know the d12 isn’t true for everything

    D12 for Techs.  Glad you like the tech system. we played with it the last game and it made for some interesting scenarios.


  • 2018 2016 2015 '11 '10

    Hi Tigerman,

    We’re at it again….

    What is the situation with the South American nations such as Columbia, Chile, Peru and Venezuela? Maybe we’re missing something, as we don’t know if they have armies or not. Germany and the US are about to get into it in South America (Germany has activated Argentina and the US has a bunch of transports loaded which are sure to intervene down there).

    Thanks in advance.



  • Thank you for your help Tigerman, I appreciate it. I’ll probably be back with more questions once I get my copy in the mail.


  • '14

    koba,

    As long as Germany does not attack the US or any US activated countries then Germany and the US are not at war. Remember that when Germany attacks any neutral in south America or activates argentina the US gets an extra 30 IpCs added to their income. If this puts the US at 80 or over then the US can declare war on the axis power on their next turn!
    If Germany attacks pro allied BraZil and the US has not activated, then it is just like Germany attacked a pro allied neutral in Europe!

    Hope this helps you out! Sorry for the wait but it’s been busy on the home front!

    Tigerman77


  • 2018 2016 2015 '11 '10

    Thanks again,

    That’s how we’re playing it. Germany activated Argentina and that gave the U.S. what they needed to declare war.


  • '10

    @koba:

    Thanks again,

    That’s how we’re playing it. Germany activated Argentina and that gave the U.S. what they needed to declare war.

    I would be interested to know how the Germans got to Argentina to activate them. Did the Germs not attack Poland to bring U.K. into the war?



  • What’s the turn order like?


  • 2018 2016 2015 '11 '10

    @Fishmoto37:

    @koba:

    Thanks again,

    That’s how we’re playing it. Germany activated Argentina and that gave the U.S. what they needed to declare war.

      I would be interested to know how the Germans got to Argentina to activate them. Did the Germs not attack Poland to bring U.K. into the war?

    Fish,

    Germany landed in Argentina on turn four. She had already attacked Poland and such on her first turn. The U.S. had been rolling the dice, getting low numbers, and getting the bonuses from axis moves. Landing in Argentina took the cake and she went to war. The germans left Gibraltar for Argentina. The transport was escorted by a destroyer and 2 uboats.


  • '14

    @Clyde85:

    What’s the turn order like?

    Clyde….Go to BGG and download the rules. It will break down the turn sequence for you.



  • Some questions:

    1. SBR. Did the strategic bombers attack with d12 or d6? We think we added +2 like in the alpha+3.9 rules of global?!
    2. Strait of Danemark: Can you pass it, while Danemark is still neutral? Or must you capture it with the Germans, to pass it in the next turn?
    3. The tech development from a great nation works only for them or also for the minor states? Example: German tech dont work for Romania, Ungary etc.?! British tech works for Canada, South Africa and FEC? Can the minors spend IPC for the tech development?
    4. Whats the ideas of the two poland rules? The first one (poland is still poland) is much different than the other, where poland units change to british. Because now the income gets to London and british units may can attack!
    5. Can the communist chinese attack japanese Units and territories? And can they (Communist and Nationalist China) attack the yellow japanese territories in Asia mainland?
    6. Whats the rules for AA Guns? One dice for every plane or only a maximum of 3 dice per every AA Gun (Alpha+3.9)?
    7. Whats the definition of “Great Britain”? The lands: London, Liverpool and Scotland?
    8. Did you revised the map? On my map there are in cairo and Oslo Navalbases. But in your last version (4.1) there arent some in the setup in this states.
    9. Can the chinese fighter (american flying tigers) attack the japanese, also the burma road is captured?
    10. Did the tech works in addition to the specifics of the nations? Example: The US transports and Destroyer cost at war -1 IPC. If the US developed improved shipyards, does Trn and DD cost now -2 IPC, while US is at war?

    We find our game was a little bit unbalanced, because the Axis gets 9 VC in their third turn. They capture 10 in the fourth turn and will capture the last two in their next turns. The Axis win the war trough surrender of the allies. We like the map, the units specifics and special the tech chart. We painted about 150 units by ourself and it looks great.


  • '10

    @koba:

    @Fishmoto37:

    @koba:

    Thanks again,

    That’s how we’re playing it. Germany activated Argentina and that gave the U.S. what they needed to declare war.

    �  I would be interested to know how the Germans got to Argentina to activate them. Did the Germs not attack Poland to bring U.K. into the war?

    Fish,

    Germany landed in Argentina on turn four. She had already attacked Poland and such on her first turn. The U.S. had been rolling the dice, getting low numbers, and getting the bonuses from axis moves. Landing in Argentina took the cake and she went to war. The germans left Gibraltar for Argentina. The transport was escorted by a destroyer and 2 uboats.

    Where was the British navy while this was going on?


  • 2018 2016 2015 '11 '10

    Pretty much sunk. Germany did well on the Vichy roll and had enough navy to slap the British around in the Atlantic. The British player was not very aggressive and decided to lick his wounds instead of bouncing back. When the U.S. joined up things started getting nasty for the Axis though.


  • Sponsor 2017 TripleA '11 '10

    @Skippi:

    Some questions:

    1. SBR. Did the strategic bombers attack with d12 or d6? We think we added +2 like in the alpha+3.9 rules of global?!
    Strats are 2D6, Tacs are 1D6.
    2. Strait of Danemark: Can you pass it, while Danemark is still neutral? Or must you capture it with the Germans, to pass it in the next turn?
    The rules do not restrict movement there. I will say you can pass it, but will check with Tigerman to be sure.
    3. The tech development from a great nation works only for them or also for the minor states? Example: German tech dont work for Romania, Ungary etc.?! British tech works for Canada, South Africa and FEC? Can the minors spend IPC for the tech development?
    Only Major Powers are allowed to research and benefit from technology.
    4. Whats the ideas of the two poland rules? The first one (poland is still poland) is much different than the other, where poland units change to british. Because now the income gets to London and british units may can attack!
    The preferred way to play is with Poland having it’s own units and income. Think of the other as an optional rule to simplify the game if needed or wanted.
    5. Can the communist chinese attack japanese Units and territories? And can they (Communist and Nationalist China) attack the yellow japanese territories in Asia mainland?
    Communist Chinese may attack Japanese with the Russians if Russia is at war with Japan. All Chinese may liberate or capture any Japanese held territory themselves since they start at war with Japan. They may not move units into any territory originally owned by Far East Command except for Hong Kong, but may move units into French Indochina or Saigon. Chinese can not attack each other, but the Communists can capture empty territories from the Nationalists.
    6. Whats the rules for AA Guns? One dice for every plane or only a maximum of 3 dice per every AA Gun (Alpha+3.9)?
    1D12 per aircraft.
    7. Whats the definition of “Great Britain”? The lands: London, Liverpool and Scotland?
    Yes, and Belfast. The British Isles.
    8. Did you revised the map? On my map there are in cairo and Oslo Navalbases. But in your last version (4.1) there arent some in the setup in this states.
    Good catch. I will defer to Tigerman on this. Not sure if he intended to delete those bases. I think they are supposed to be there and the setup chart was just for reference. There are no bases included on the new revised map.
    9. Can the chinese fighter (american flying tigers) attack the japanese, also the burma road is captured?
    Yes, as long as the US is at war with Japan. Burma road has no effect on this.
    10. Did the tech works in addition to the specifics of the nations? Example: The US transports and Destroyer cost at war -1 IPC. If the US developed improved shipyards, does Trn and DD cost now -2 IPC, while US is at war?
    That’s correct. Remember, tech is an option and may lead to balance issues. But it is fun and interesting!

    We find our game was a little bit unbalanced, because the Axis gets 9 VC in their third turn. They capture 10 in the fourth turn and will capture the last two in their next turns. The Axis win the war trough surrender of the allies. We like the map, the units specifics and special the tech chart. We painted about 150 units by ourself and it looks great.


  • '14

    @Variable:

    @Skippi:

    Some questions:

    1. SBR. Did the strategic bombers attack with d12 or d6? We think we added +2 like in the alpha+3.9 rules of global?!
    Strats are 2D6, Tacs are 1D6.
    2. Strait of Danemark: Can you pass it, while Danemark is still neutral? Or must you capture it with the Germans, to pass it in the next turn?
    The rules do not restrict movement there. I will say you can pass it, but will check with Tigerman to be sure.
    3. The tech development from a great nation works only for them or also for the minor states? Example: German tech dont work for Romania, Ungary etc.?! British tech works for Canada, South Africa and FEC? Can the minors spend IPC for the tech development?
    Only Major Powers are allowed to research and benefit from technology.
    4. Whats the ideas of the two poland rules? The first one (poland is still poland) is much different than the other, where poland units change to british. Because now the income gets to London and british units may can attack!
    The preferred way to play is with Poland having it’s own units and income. Think of the other as an optional rule to simplify the game if needed or wanted.
    5. Can the communist chinese attack japanese Units and territories? And can they (Communist and Nationalist China) attack the yellow japanese territories in Asia mainland?
    Communist Chinese may attack Japanese with the Russians if Russia is at war with Japan. All Chinese may liberate or capture any Japanese held territory themselves since they start at war with Japan. They may not move units into any territory originally owned by Far East Command except for Hong Kong, but may move units into French Indochina or Saigon. Chinese can not attack each other, but the Communists can capture empty territories from the Nationalists.
    6. Whats the rules for AA Guns? One dice for every plane or only a maximum of 3 dice per every AA Gun (Alpha+3.9)?
    1D12 per aircraft.
    7. Whats the definition of “Great Britain”? The lands: London, Liverpool and Scotland?
    Yes, and Belfast. The British Isles.
    8. Did you revised the map? On my map there are in cairo and Oslo Navalbases. But in your last version (4.1) there arent some in the setup in this states.
    Good catch. I will defer to Tigerman on this. Not sure if he intended to delete those bases. I think they are supposed to be there and the setup chart was just for reference. There are no bases included on the new revised map.
    9. Can the chinese fighter (american flying tigers) attack the japanese, also the burma road is captured?
    Yes, as long as the US is at war with Japan. Burma road has no effect on this.
    10. Did the tech works in addition to the specifics of the nations? Example: The US transports and Destroyer cost at war -1 IPC. If the US developed improved shipyards, does Trn and DD cost now -2 IPC, while US is at war?
    That’s correct. Remember, tech is an option and may lead to balance issues. But it is fun and interesting!

    We find our game was a little bit unbalanced, because the Axis gets 9 VC in their third turn. They capture 10 in the fourth turn and will capture the last two in their next turns. The Axis win the war trough surrender of the allies. We like the map, the units specifics and special the tech chart. We painted about 150 units by ourself and it looks great.

    Thanks Variable for answering these questions.

    Yes: the Straits of Denmark are passable by all nations as long as Denmark is neutral.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 465
  • 6
  • 3
  • 5
  • 11
  • 5
  • 12
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

38
Online

13.6k
Users

33.9k
Topics

1.3m
Posts