How do bombers and planes work in combat?



  • Im a new player and i have read through the rule book numerous times but i am still confused about how air combat works.
    For example: If i have 1 infantry, 1 tank and 1 fighter and 1 bomber in my territory and i attack someone defending with 2 infantry and 2 tanks how would i roll for that? can the defender damage my fighter and bomber without a fighter?
    Also how do you do bombing runs against units in this game? If i want to bomb britain from germany, and they have no fighters, how do i set up and roll for that?
    Basically the rule book didnt help me at all when describing air combat and so when i set the game up I have no idea what to do with my fighters and bombers.



  • @DrwHem:

    Im a new player and i have read through the rule book numerous times but i am still confused about how air combat works.
    For example: If i have 1 infantry, 1 tank and 1 fighter and 1 bomber in my territory and i attack someone defending with 2 infantry and 2 tanks how would i roll for that? can the defender damage my fighter and bomber without a fighter?

    Yes to the last question. The attacker would roll for the 2 inf and 2 arm, then the defender would roll 1 die for the bomber (hit at 1), inf (hit at 2), arm (hit at 3) and fighter (hit at 4).
    You can also use just air units to kill isolated ground units

    Also how do you do bombing runs against units in this game? If i want to bomb britain from germany, and they have no fighters, how do i set up and roll for that?
    Basically the rule book didnt help me at all when describing air combat and so when i set the game up I have no idea what to do with my fighters and bombers.

    There’s no specific ‘air combat’ - there is the combat phase, which can occur either on territories or sea zones. The combat phase has its sequence, meaning that first you play the strategic bombings, then amphibious landing, then the remaining combats.
    Units can only be used in one of those steps, so your fighters/bombers can’t participate in bombings and be used on the combat afterwards. To perform a  bombing you’ll send your bomber(s) during combat move on the territory containing an enemy ICs - if you are using the optional fighter interceptor/escort rules then you may also send fighters to escort then. At the beginning of the combat round you announce which ICs will be bombed (and the defender may deploy his interceptors, if you’re using the optional rule). The defender rolls the AA shot (separately for each type of planes), optional combat between the attackers and defenders is resolved, and attacker rolls for damage to the IC.

    Then amphibious landings are resolved and then the general combat in territories and sea zones. And for those you roll for fighters and bombers as indicated on the unit stats.



  • @Hobbes:

    @DrwHem:

    Im a new player and i have read through the rule book numerous times but i am still confused about how air combat works.
    For example: If i have 1 infantry, 1 tank and 1 fighter and 1 bomber in my territory and i attack someone defending with 2 infantry and 2 tanks how would i roll for that? can the defender damage my fighter and bomber without a fighter?

    Yes to the last question. The attacker would roll for the 2 inf and 2 arm, then the defender would roll 1 die for the bomber (hit at 1), inf (hit at 2), arm (hit at 3) and fighter (hit at 4).

    Maybe I’m misunderstanding, but I think you have DrwHem’s attackers and defenders reversed.

    Shouldn’t it be:  The attacker would roll 1 die for the bomber (hits on 1-4), then two dice–one each for the tank and fighter (hits on 1-3), and one for the infantry (hits on 1).  The defender would roll 2 dice for the firing of his/her tanks (hits on 1-3), and 2 dice for the infantry (hits on 1-2.)  The defender would take off pieces for the number of hits the attacker scored and vice versa.

    Yes the infantry and tanks can kill fighters and bombers.  There are some times you might want to take a hit against a fighter or bomber rather against a lower cost piece.  For example, if you really need to win the territory and you scored four hits against the defender and the defender scored two or three against you in the example above.  You would likely keep your tank and sacrifice air units to take command of the territory.  Air units can’t take the territory by themselves.



  • @Red:

    @Hobbes:

    @DrwHem:

    Im a new player and i have read through the rule book numerous times but i am still confused about how air combat works.
    For example: If i have 1 infantry, 1 tank and 1 fighter and 1 bomber in my territory and i attack someone defending with 2 infantry and 2 tanks how would i roll for that? can the defender damage my fighter and bomber without a fighter?

    Yes to the last question. The attacker would roll for the 2 inf and 2 arm, then the defender would roll 1 die for the bomber (hit at 1), inf (hit at 2), arm (hit at 3) and fighter (hit at 4).

    Maybe I’m misunderstanding, but I think you have DrwHem’s attackers and defenders reversed.

    I think you’re right 😉


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

49
Online

14.9k
Users

35.7k
Topics

1.5m
Posts