Da Rules say: If moved in the combat movement part of your turn, transports are usually involved in an amphibious assault….In this type of attack, the transport’s mission is to drop off land units to the embattles territory. If the territory’s adjacent sea zone is patrolled by enemy ships, the transport cannot move there to drop off troops and tanks. Friendly naval and air units must attack this sea zone first and clear the way before the transport can enter it to drop off cargo.
I find this passage confusing. It seems like it’s saying that Combat Movement may take place after Combat has been staged. Does this rule really mean that the transport must wait until the next round to complete the amphibious assault, or does it proceed immediately after the sea zone is cleared?
try not to get too confused. Basically say you are Germany and you want to land troops in Algeria to combat the evil British but “alas there is a Brit warship camped out by the Azores (west of Algeria)”. Basically you have to declare your combat, clear the warships out of the way with your subs/battleships/planes, and immediately after your troops pile out of the transport onto the battlefield. Your transport may absorb hits in the naval battle, sinking it killing your infantry. tough luck.
On a related note, can Russia place its initial transport in the Baltic Sea zone, since that would technically put it in combat with Germany’s ships? Can the sub go to the Baltic if Russia is restricted?
First - well, technically no - it goes into the sea north of Karelia, however according to 3rd edition rules it may drop units into the Baltic to war with German warships. The sub may NOT go into a situation where it may encounter an enemy vessel if Russia is restricted.
What about these scenarios - Japan wishes to retake Manchuria from some Ally.
- Japan moves its empty transport from the Phillipine Islands sea zone into the Japan sea zone, then bounces a tank off it into Manchuria. The Allies complain the transport wasn’t making a combat move, and insist both pieces be restored. Is this legal?
If the land to which the transport is dropping off troops is within range of the transport and there are no enemy vessels in the sea adjacent to the disputed territory then the allies are being silly. The transport movement is part of the combat move as it is sending troops into hostile territory. (even if this move was performed in a non-conflict situation early/during combat - who cares as long as these pieces are not used in a different combat situation? I do this sometimes so i dont’ forget later . . . )
- Japan moves its transport with infantry the same way. Then Japan bounces the tank off Japan into Manchuria with the same transport. Japan claims that, since ships are not considered to be in motion inside a sea zone, he can transport whatever he wants from Japan to Manchuria, and it’s not even one move for the transport. Legal?
I’d appreciate any help. I only got the game Wednesday. It’s copyright 1984, if that’s any help.
Sincerely, don Jaime.
You may only disembark 1 unit (i.e. 1 tank or 2 infantry) per transport per turn. Any amount of infantry and an armour exceeds the balance regardless of the little semantics games your friends play. Otherwise Japan would only purchase 1 transport and boot dozens of infantry a turn to the mainland. Nice idea, but not a working one. Imagine the German trn in the Baltic booting infanite troops into Karelia . . . .