Some friends and I played A and A Europe last night under the Alpha +3 rules. I fear that I misinterpreted the rules for AA guns. I read the passage “each AA gun in the territory may fire up to 3 times but only once per attacking air unit”. London’s 5 AA guns should be able to role once against each of three attacking German fighters in an amphibious assault then for a maximum of 15 die rolls. 5 AA guns each firing 3 times against each of 3 attacking air units.
However, the next sentence of the rules places the maximum number of rolls at the actual number of attacking planes - as it alpha +2. In fact, it is a more binding constraint in that the total dice rolled is the lesser of 3x the AA guns or the number of attacking planes. In the amphibious assault described above, the 5 London AA guns could generate no more than 3 die rolls against the 3 German airplanes.
So … which is the correct interpretation?