• I’m new at Axis and Allies Europe but a sesond veteran in the orginal. I’ve decided to play USSR and I could use a basic strategy/opening. Thanks

• FALL BACK!!

And KEEP FALLING BACK!

Seriously, make the German pay dearly to chew through all your infantry by keeping it fighting at the full 2-or-less dice strength. Counterattack only where you can savage his tanks or have a huge numerical advantage. Be very stingy with using your own armor – you’ll need it for the final counterattacks around Moscow.

Above all, get your Allies to send in air power that you can convert to Red ftrs & bmrs. Even if they retain ownership, the Brits can help by parking their ftrs where they can bolster your defense.

SOMETIMES – maybe – a German player will leave a big hole in his front line. You can cause trouble & distract him by rushing in some units. But keep it simple, keep it infantry, and MAKE HIM PAY!!

Also: keep your AA mobile, as you can wear down his air force here and there.

If all else fails, spike his sauerkraut with rancid cabbage!!

• So do I let him just take Leningrad, and Stalingrad or do I fall back to those places?

• The point is to make the German PAY to take these places. Leningrad is the more critical point – as it allows FTRs from UK to land, which you can bring into the Red air force. If Germany takes Leningrad on turn one, you can easily re-take. Then station plenty INF there, and remember: even a UK FTR sitting there will help defend, hitting Germans at 4-or-less rolls. Leningrad can be the site of see-saw battles, because the German knows you need it (or Vyborg) to land Allied FTRs coming to your aid. But he generally doesn’t devote sufficient troops to HOLD it, at least in the first few turns.

KEY: Keep Germans 2-territories-away from Moscow as long as possible.

Let’s say he takes Stalingrad, and can blitz through Turkestan to hit Moscow, avoiding your main force in Belorussia. You must: place 1 or 2 INF in Turkestan as “speed bumps” to gain TIME.