Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Need quick kamikazi ruling in global



  • can kamikazi attacks target transports if its supported by other navy?



  • Kamikaze attacks cannot target Transports or submarines (pg 14 Pacific Rule book)



  • the pacific rulebook says that. but in the errata it is unclear. it says how and when kamikazes can attack, but it also shows the conditions for when transports can be taken as casualties. It states in a battle the transport is consider in combat, but can only be taken as a casualty last because the other sips are their to protect it, and also so it cannot be used as cannonfodder.

    it says kamikazis can attack any ship that is in combat can be chosen, so I am wondering since its a kamikazi attack instead of a sea battle if the tranny can be picked. Since really your suiciding into a chosen target, so its irrelavant that the other naval ship are their to defend it.

    So I’m not sure whether to take the OOB ruling on that, or since its part of combat in the zone, it can be chosen.

    “Transports are a part of a sea combat, just like other sea units.They are participants in combat, not bystanders.A combat involving transports plays out like any other combat, with three exceptions. The first exception is that transports don’t roll combat dice.As a result, they will never hit anything. They must rely on combat units for protection. The second exception is that transports may only be taken as casualties when there is no other
    choice.In other words, they can’t be used as “cannon fodder”.Combat units protect transports, not
    the other way around.”

    “alt 7: Correct. However, if this were a combat move, kamikaze attacks would be allowed against any US ship in the sea zone, not just the ones that moved in.”

    any US ship in the sea zone, only oob says they can’t attack TT’s. So its weird.



  • Yeah the rules can be pretty confusing,

    If you’re using Alpha.+2 rules…

    taken from
    http://www.harrisgamedesign.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=4167

    13. Kamikaze Strike: The capture of certain islands (Iwo Jima, etc.) is no longer required to activate kamikaze - they can be used at any time. If an Allied power attacks Japanese units in or conducts an amphibious assault from a sea zone containing the Kamikaze symbol, the Japanese player can announce at the beginning of the Conduct Combat phase, of that round, that he or she intends to launch a kamikaze strike. (Note: Kamikaze strikes are now triggered by combat, not combat movement.) See page 14 (Pacific 1940) for specific details as to how Kamikaze strikes are conducted.

    So my guess would be they can’t attack transports.
    though you could always make it a house rule 😃



  • I think you can attack unescorted transports, because they would not have any larger combat ships to hide behind.  This would be the only occurrence though because the kamikaze pilots are trained to go for the big combat vessels and not the weak, cheap transport vessels.



  • @JimmyHat:

    I think you can attack unescorted transports, because they would not have any larger combat ships to hide behind.  This would be the only occurrence though because the kamikaze pilots are trained to go for the big combat vessels and not the weak, cheap transport vessels.

    No, you can’t.  The errata has not overridden the pac40 rulebook, and the errata applies to Alpha 2.  Alpha 2 only changed the triggers to kamis but it didn’t change how they work.
    Kamis can only target surface warships, and it’s not an attack (so deceptive to call it that).  it’s ONLY a defensive action declared at the end of a combat move (not during a combat move) in exactly the same way scrambling is declared.

    This also has never changed, it’s ALWAYS been if combat move ENDS in a kami symbol SZ, which ALWAYS means either combat in the seazone or an amphibious assault.  You can’t combat move if you aren’t going to conduct combat.


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 3
  • 3
  • 33
  • 24
  • 4
  • 11
  • 448
I Will Never Grow Up Games

30
Online

13.3k
Users

33.6k
Topics

1.3m
Posts