Scramble Question



  • If you want to amphibious assault a territory that meets Scramble requirements and who’s sea zone is undefended, but you only have Transports and no warships to escort them, can you send planes to “escort” your transports? In other words, can you send planes to “attack” an undefended sea zone which MIGHT be defended by scrambled planes?



  • Don’t think so, but I don’t know for certain.  I think combat moves have to be actual combat.


  • '10

    You can do it Rammstein.
    You can move everything you want in a zone during Combat movement.



  • @Axisplaya:

    You can do it Rammstein.
    You can move everything you want in a zone during Combat movement.

    Only if you mean you can move everything you want in a zone during Combat movement if there is a possibility for combat (scrambled planes) or the ships will participate in the amphibious assault (bombardment).

    If the seazone is “friendly” (no enemy surface warships) and cannot be scrambled to (no adjacent airbase or fighters at an airbase) and you’re performing an amphibious assault, then no, you are not (per letter of the rules) supposed to move ships that will not participate in combat (subs, destroyers, carriers, transports dropping units in friendly territories, etc).  That’s the noncombat move phase (though most if not all players allow at least some noncombat moves during the combat move phase as a house rule stretch).



  • Hmm… Thanks for your thoughts.

    What does Krieghund have to say?



  • Krieg usually only chimes in if there is an error in the advice you already got.  Since he hasn’t chimed in, I guess that means its right.  KCDZIM also added some useful information, if the sz cannot become a battlezone due to scrambling you do not have to move the units in combat movement….so if it can be a battlezone…



  • Can planes scramble on Japan against lets say… American subs as long as they have subs or destroyers themselves?



  • @goalievogel:

    Can planes scramble on Japan against lets say… American subs as long as they have subs or destroyers themselves?

    I believe that per the wording of the rules, aircraft can scramble in response to ANY combat move that ends in the adjacent seazone.  So they can scramble against subs.  But they cannot hit them.  So there’s no reason to scramble.

    Also, if japan has subs, they wouldn’t help Japanese aircraft hit american subs.  Only a friendly (in this example a Japanese, German, or Italian) destroyer would allow the defending scrambled planes hit attacking subs (as friendly destroyers assist in combat - this is obviously not the case on attack).


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

64
Online

14.9k
Users

35.7k
Topics

1.5m
Posts